We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad points outweigh the good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
Ranked #10 of 90 Hotels in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed four nights at Sino House. Prepaid booking otherwise might have checked out early. It's not a terrible hotel, but there were so many things that weren't quite right that it made the stay unenjoyable.

Well situated for the bus station, but note that this only provides services to the provinces and not to the beaches. Also not ideally situated for exploring the old town (10 minutes walk required.)

Room was large, but badly arranged with the bed in the corner and all the lighting down one wall. Very large window, but also very dirty (on the outside) with unexciting view. Shower okay, but tap lever comes off in your hand. Room service insist on tidying your personal possessions, replacing towels unnecessarily and taking away things that they think are rubbish - whether you want to keep them or not. "Free mini-bar" only contains two small sodas. Air-con was noisy, so you have the choice of being kept awake by the noise or waking up later on from the heat & humidity.

Hotel is generally quiet but noises can echo down the corridors. Decent wifi signal but occasional loss of connectivity. Breakfast has a wide range of foods, but the coffee is variable, milk/juices are warm and sausages/eggs are cold

Overall, not recommended. Better options must exist elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 121 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at Sino House for 4 nights on a semi-business trip to Phuket. The location of the hotel is great to explore the town on foot, the suite was very spacious, the microwave and plateware etc. was useful for midnight snacks when the town closes down, and the 50% discount for all treatments at the adjacent Raintree Spa was a plus. The inclusive breakfast was ok if you just want the basics in the morning.

Only major downfall was the "free WiFi", which was down 3 of the days I tried to work in the room (suspiciously identical from 9am to 6pm on all days -- after that it was ok). The reception staff, however friendly, were useless, trying to sell us internet cards to the coffee shop in front (the latter of which borrows the hotel WiFi, so no thanks) as well as informing us (on all 3 days as well) that the internet guy is only available in the afternoons and offered to send him to OUR SUITE to check the hotel-wide WiFi ?!

But overall, great value for money and lots of space in the rooms, but just take their impressively nice interior images with a pinch of salt as the furnishings are more dated than those shown.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the road (ie. suite 217) are quite noisy from the traffic and the cars blaring t...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangkokBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I love fengshui and the first time I saw a room with the large cranes painting above the bed from Sino House website (Shanghai Deluxe Room - http://www.sinohousephuket.com/shanghai.html) plus after I read lots of positive reviews from Tripadvisor and other websites, I think to myself, this is just the perfect place to stay with my mom, as cranes are symbols of longevity in the fengshui world.

It would be silly to pick a hotel to stay based only on a painting. I have checked, though, that Sino House provides all facilities I do need for my great stay i.e. wifi, free mini bar, and a spa with 50% discount for the hotel guests.

Hotel location is wisely located, perfect for the bookworms as it is close to the oldest bookstore in Thailand, Seng Ho. It is only around 300-400 metres away from the main bus station which is also the airport bus station (I found out later that, from the station, the airport bus will pass the bus stop just opposite the hotel too. However, I think it is better to walk to the station if you would like to get some seats.

The hotel is around 800 metres away from the fountain roundabout which is near the fresh market where you can take the local Song Taew (Po Thong buses) to the beaches and the temples in Phuket (i.e. famous Chalong temple). I asked a friendly hotel staff for the shortest route to walk to the station, and she suggested me to walk along Dibuk road, pass a park and the famous Raya restaurant, then turn left and turn right to Thalang road where you can see Sino-Portuguese architecture (a must for the walking tour in Phuket old town), then turn left again to the roundabout. With interesting houses and shops and art galleries along the way, I don’t think anyone would feel that 800 metres is too far. (On Sunday, however, I just realized that some shops like a branch of KOPI de Phuket I passed on Thalang road were closed)

For food lovers, the hotel is just around 300-400 metres away from the Surin (clock tower) roundabout, where you can find lots of tasty, famous, local food stores. I didn't have the chance to go there though as the hotel breakfast is already great! I especially like the mixed mushroom porridge and the local desserts from the hotel buffet breakfast.

For postcard lovers, the hotel is close to the old post office as well.

What I really want to admire the most about this hotel is the hotel staff, as they are capable of changing quite a grumpy customer just like me to feel really positive at the end of the day from their services, hospitalities and problem-solving skills. I early booked the airport transfer over the phone call and the flight was delayed, called the hotel to change the pick-up time and found out that there was no record of me booking the airport transfer. Grumpy at first, but eventually the hotel staff managed to get a new taxi to pick up me and my mom at the airport, with hassle free and really late at night (22:30), very appreciated. Words of advice however, is to call the hotel for making sure that the airport transfer service will be there and on time, when you are at Suvarnabhumi (Bangkok) airport before departing if you can.

Another downside of this hotel my mom commented is that, although the room is really clean and well-maintained, but it is a bit old. But I argued with my mom that it is the ancient Chinese style of the room. I definitely recommend Sino House hotel anyway.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveCip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We have visited Phuket many times and were looking for a place to stay in Phuket town. Sino House met our expectations.

Location:
It is only some 15 minutes to shops and heritage shops at Yaowarat, Ranong, Dibuk etc. While the external facade looks more like a government building (tall, grey and without any fancy architecture), the interior is cosy with Chinese lacquer, wooden carvings and decorations. Friendly reception.

Room
Large room (we requested for a king sized bed) which can even accommodate a small dining table. Zen-like furniture, relatively large shower and comes with microwave oven complete with plates and spoons.

Breakfast
Breakfast on the roof top, lots of variety from bread, croissant, fried rice, yogurt, cereals, eggs (you do your own half boiled eggs), etc. Do try the local cakes (white and green squares in a pandan leave casing)

Tips
The Raintree Spa is located within the gardens of Sino House. Guests can have 50% discount from the treatment packages. We have the 3 hour session comprising of foot scrub, body scrub, bath, oil massage etc at THB1750 per person. Most excellent value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpringinApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Good hotel...right location to those who wants to experience Phuket town..around 45mins from patong beach...good place to start your journey to phi-phi island

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poly_only
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.1 km away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#1 of 90 in Phuket Town
395 reviews
0.6 km away
The Memory at On On Hotel
The Memory at On On Hotel
#2 of 90 in Phuket Town
467 reviews
0.1 km away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#5 of 90 in Phuket Town
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
4.3 km away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
0.9 km away
Chinotel Phuket
Chinotel Phuket
#12 of 90 in Phuket Town
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment

Address: 1 Montree Rd. | Talad -Yai, Muang, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range: ₹ 1,993 - ₹ 4,243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sino House Phuket Hotel, a warm and comfortable hotel located in downtown Phuket. 57 Beautiful rooms, each individually designed, have the charm and character of Sino-Portugues style. At Sino House Phuket Hotel, you will find everything you need for either a joyful holiday or an important business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sino Hotel Apartment
Sino Hotel Phuket Town
Sino House Phuket Hotel And Apartment Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing