We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a couple nights”
Review of Sunwest GuestHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunwest GuestHouse
Ranked #98 of 194 Phuket Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is a great place for when you want to catch the boat to Phi Phi the next day as I did or if you wanna stay for a couple nights. The room was quite big and very clean! Excellent value for money! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and they give you lots of info on how to find your way around town. It's not very close to the beach but if you catch a local bus you'll be in patong beach in about 40 mins for only 25 baht.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room next to the elevator, you'll hear people going in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

Friendly, quit, helpful, nice rooms
Good value for money
Central location
Phuket itself sucks

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsaai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed here for one night, before catching the ferry to Phi Phi the following morning. We caught a bus from phuket airport (85B) which took an hour to reach the Phuket Bus terminal. From here, it is only a five minute walk to Sunwest Guest House.Yes there are some dancing girl clubs around as another reviewer has mentioned, but the area did not feel unsafe or uneasy. 7-11 very close for ATM and snacks.
On arrival we checked in no problem, paid 200B key deposit. Got a double room on the fourth floor. Room was spacious, and had a fridge and TV. Nice clean bed linen and towels provided, and toiletries in the bathroom. Shower didn't have much power behind it, and looked a bit old, but worked fine. Lovely wallpaper on the walls and secure keyless entry to the room. My only gripe is that there wasn't much lighting in the room - only two bedside lamps for the whole room, which still left the room quite dark. It's the same down by the computers in the lobby - very weak spotlights on the ceiling.
Wifi is available (ask for the logon info from reception) but it's quite slow, in the end I gave up and used the computers that are in the lobby (super fast, and free!). Drinks and a few nibbles available for sale at reception, so you don't have to walk to the shop just for a bottle of water. There's also a guest kitchen where you can cook up your own meals.
The girl at reception was extremely helpful - she called our tour company twice for us when the taxi transfer to the ferry pier was nearly an hour late, and made sure we got off ok. She really couldn't have done more to help, she was fantastic. Also I saw another lady sweeping, watering plants, just generally taking care of the place, and it made it a really lovely stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssleyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Arrived late afternoon without a booking, had no problem inspecting a double room w air-con and paid a good price; cheaper than Kho Phi Phi Don! :D

Wifi was down on 3rd floor but had 4 free computers with net and wifi elsewhere in the building, the lobby gets pretty warm with all the tech. gear cooking away but the rooms have great air-con if you need to escape.

The area has alot of character, be that restaurants, bars and/or girlie bars (there's one prominently displayed on the corner... you can't miss it), we headed about 500m to the local night markets which were pretty cool; decent restaurants and food all over at any time of the night. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a double room away from the hall lights! ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VisserLabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

well if you want somewhere close to the bus station then this is fine. but it's not pretty. maybe it was because we'd just come from a lovely place but phuket town wasn't my favourite place and it didn't help that this hotel was a few steps away from some dodgy dancing girls club. the room was actually not that bad, had a fridge, tv, ok shower but only one tiny window that didn't let any light in but did let in the noise from the 'interesting' nightlife. staff were friendly and helpful though and there was internet available. we booked a place in phuket town because we thought it would be closer to the ferry port but you've still got to get a taxi to the ferry so in retrospect i think it would have been better to stay somewhere else in phuket. we found a little restaurant 5 mins walk from the hotel full of mournful looking tourists that looked like they would rather be somewhere else too. i suppose if you're going to stay in phuket town then this hotel was not bad for it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordiebird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
4.2 km away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
3.5 km away
The Pago Design Hotel Phuket
0.2 km away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
7.1 km away
Villa Zolitude Resort and Spa
3.3 km away
Little Nyonya Hotel
Little Nyonya Hotel
#1 of 9 in Wichit
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwest GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwest GuestHouse

Address: Phang-Nga Soi 2, Phuket Town, Phuket, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Phuket Town
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sunwest GuestHouse Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing