We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for access to Bus Terminal and Ferry Port”
Review of Sunwest GuestHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunwest GuestHouse
Ranked #98 of 185 Phuket Town B&B and Inns
Ipswich, Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent base for access to Bus Terminal and Ferry Port”
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed here for one night, before catching the ferry to Phi Phi the following morning. We caught a bus from phuket airport (85B) which took an hour to reach the Phuket Bus terminal. From here, it is only a five minute walk to Sunwest Guest House.Yes there are some dancing girl clubs around as another reviewer has mentioned, but the area did not feel unsafe or uneasy. 7-11 very close for ATM and snacks.
On arrival we checked in no problem, paid 200B key deposit. Got a double room on the fourth floor. Room was spacious, and had a fridge and TV. Nice clean bed linen and towels provided, and toiletries in the bathroom. Shower didn't have much power behind it, and looked a bit old, but worked fine. Lovely wallpaper on the walls and secure keyless entry to the room. My only gripe is that there wasn't much lighting in the room - only two bedside lamps for the whole room, which still left the room quite dark. It's the same down by the computers in the lobby - very weak spotlights on the ceiling.
Wifi is available (ask for the logon info from reception) but it's quite slow, in the end I gave up and used the computers that are in the lobby (super fast, and free!). Drinks and a few nibbles available for sale at reception, so you don't have to walk to the shop just for a bottle of water. There's also a guest kitchen where you can cook up your own meals.
The girl at reception was extremely helpful - she called our tour company twice for us when the taxi transfer to the ferry pier was nearly an hour late, and made sure we got off ok. She really couldn't have done more to help, she was fantastic. Also I saw another lady sweeping, watering plants, just generally taking care of the place, and it made it a really lovely stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssleyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Arrived late afternoon without a booking, had no problem inspecting a double room w air-con and paid a good price; cheaper than Kho Phi Phi Don! :D

Wifi was down on 3rd floor but had 4 free computers with net and wifi elsewhere in the building, the lobby gets pretty warm with all the tech. gear cooking away but the rooms have great air-con if you need to escape.

The area has alot of character, be that restaurants, bars and/or girlie bars (there's one prominently displayed on the corner... you can't miss it), we headed about 500m to the local night markets which were pretty cool; decent restaurants and food all over at any time of the night. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a double room away from the hall lights! ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VisserLabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK, Twickenham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

well if you want somewhere close to the bus station then this is fine. but it's not pretty. maybe it was because we'd just come from a lovely place but phuket town wasn't my favourite place and it didn't help that this hotel was a few steps away from some dodgy dancing girls club. the room was actually not that bad, had a fridge, tv, ok shower but only one tiny window that didn't let any light in but did let in the noise from the 'interesting' nightlife. staff were friendly and helpful though and there was internet available. we booked a place in phuket town because we thought it would be closer to the ferry port but you've still got to get a taxi to the ferry so in retrospect i think it would have been better to stay somewhere else in phuket. we found a little restaurant 5 mins walk from the hotel full of mournful looking tourists that looked like they would rather be somewhere else too. i suppose if you're going to stay in phuket town then this hotel was not bad for it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordiebird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phuket Town hotels

Poland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Sunwest Guesthouse is great place to stay in Phuket. Located in the Phuket city, calm and quiet part of the island (which can be disadvangage if you're looking for partying). It's close to the main bus stop, and the bus from the airport stop. Many food stands around. The dorm rooms are big and clean, there are enough bathrooms for everyone, staff is great, polite and helpful - (they can arrange one day trips for very attractive prices). Definitelly recomended one!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DashPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

The building was fine, the rooms were clean and semi comfortable. No aircon, it's dark, and the wifi is very slow. My Macbook could not keep a connection.

The staff spoke almost no English, not even enough to run the place without a lot of confusion. I found myself frustrated to the point of losing my patience, and my friend had to step in and continue the conversation.

The hotel is located in a very dismal part of Phuket. We couldn't even find a pub to watch the football matches in.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitiaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.1 km away
Ekkamon Mansion
Ekkamon Mansion
#147 of 218 in Phuket Town
28 reviews
4.2 km away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
0.9 km away
Phuket Backpacker
Phuket Backpacker
#49 of 218 in Phuket Town
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
3.5 km away
The Pago Design Hotel Phuket
4.3 km away
Sansuko Ville Bungalow Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwest GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwest GuestHouse

Property: Sunwest GuestHouse
Address: Phang-Nga Soi 2, Phuket Town, Phuket, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Phuket Town
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sunwest GuestHouse Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing