We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay at the Horizon Karon Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Horizon for 10 days, it was a lot less busy than Patong and as we found out it was adjacent to Kata for shops and restaurants. Overall it was a very enjoyable experience. We found the hill challenging to climb every day but used it to improve our fitness. As mentioned by others there is a tuk tuk available to take you to the beach and back, we used it a couple of times during the heat of the day. The staff were great, very helpful and friendly. The food I would say was very good for our tastes.

Room Tip: We were booked into a pool facing room but were fortunate to be upgraded to a sea facing room, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 906 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

It has taken me a few months to actually sit down & write a review on this hotel however wanted to do so because my gf & loved it.

We were glad when we picked this hotel in Karon rather than the Horizon in Patong, it is a nice peaceful area - Patong is so full on & we preferred being able to walk around Karon area without the constant hassle of street sellers.

Plus if you want to go into Patong they have a daily shuttle that is free & easy to book all you need to do is let the friendly drivers who wait in reception know, it's easier if you give them at least 20 mins notice & they are more than happy to drive u up & down the hill to the hotel also.

This hotel puts on a dinner / show night which is good to check out also.

We payed extra to stay in the Privlidge Clib suites which were spacious & had a balcony room with a pool view. Our rooms were cleaned daily, beautiful linen and because the floors were tiled they kept the room cool.

One more thing there were swim up bars in both pool areas so really you don't need to pay the extra for Privlidge's Club but if u do your allowed access to a special room that serves free drinks all day n snacks most of the day.

Wld definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed for a week ending 16 April. Overall, very impressed; rooms good, breakfast very good, staff helpful. The location is good; not on the beach, but about 100 meters away down a steepish slope. There is a free tuk tuk service to the beach, but stops at 9pm, which is a bit early, but the climb is not too bad. The good thing about being up a slope is that it is tsunami safe! Evening buffet is excellent, but quite pricey - c£11 per person per night; make sure you get these included within price (we had 'free' vouchers for 4 of our 7 nights when we booked). However, there are very good restaurants at better prices very close. Loungers were available - you are not allowed to 'reserve', which was good. Pools were large, warm and clean. No tummy troubles. Pool bar and snacks were reasonably priced - not cheap, but ok for a hotel - poolside cocktail about £4. Some staff had no englich at all, but overall, staff were good.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms and made sure they connected, otherwise, all rooms seemed to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiwiinEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed 7 nights in Privilege Wing Deluxe room. Pace of life slower there and more relaxing mainly as no kids allowed. Its air conditioned breakfast room also pleasant to cool down in and doubles as a reading room. Room's view nothing special, not sea view but I was on lower floor. Sea view higher up I think. Staff great, all friendly. Saying 'Sawasdeekap' for hello went a long way and improved relations even more. Only the balding concierge in his 30's got on my nerves when he hung around for a tip after carrying my one light bag to my room. It's your job, don't hang around please, I'll tip if I want to. Breakfast acceptable, but eat in main wing as Privilege Wing no cooked breakfast which I found odd. Bed comfortable, room large, and clean. Swimming pools could be cleaned a bit more often round the sides and bottom but were acceptable. Eat dinner at 'Marina' or 'Two Chefs' (turn left at bottom of hill, 150yds) or at 3rd restaurant along in a group of 5/6 similar looking restaurants if you turn right, which is where the Thais eat too and which serves a nice Phad Thai stir fry. Hill up to hotel no problem for anyone in reasonable shape under 55 and 100% tsunami proof. Tuk tuk runs all day free of charge if you struggle. When you turn left at bottom of hill you will be accosted on the street by loads of indian tailors with fake smiles and chit chat trying to get you inside their shops. Do not buy from them. My niece bought a belt which broke and no refund was given despite the guy remembering us from the day before. Disgrace. Gym is pretty good at the hotel. Beach very close. All in all very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MigsEarWigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at the horizon for 9 nights. It was absolutely amazing and we wish we could have spent longer there. The resort was at the top of the hill which is not a big issue in fact i think most people staying there would probably be thanking their lucky stars when the tsunami alert came through last week as it is located in a tsunami safe zone. The hill is only an issue if you have mobility issues and if you're feeling lazy the tuk tuk service is available and quite reliable. We stayed in the privilege club wing - defiantly a must do if you do not have any children under 18. The room was spacious, well serviced by the resort staff, clean, cool and had everything we could possibly need. Throughout our stay we got upgraded to a pool access room and when we go back we wouldn't stay anywhere else - having direct access to the pool from your room is defiantly a bonus. The breakfast buffet was amazing and the themed dinners satisfied our needs. The lunches at the privilege club area were satisfying because if you have a big breakfast and a big dinner you don't really need a massive 5 star dining experience for lunch. It was convenient to go from the pool to have lunch at the resort before heading out again. The staff were more than accommodating! They were friendly and very helpful. Their English was sometimes limited but I can't understand why people write bad reviews about this because it is ignorant to expect them to have great English when it isn't their first language. Their English is more than adequate to meet your needs. The report grounds are beautiful and we loved the location. It was nice to be out and amongst it during the day at the beach and the shops but then return to a quite, peaceful resort in beautiful tropical surroundings - we had the best of both worlds here! The tour desk was very helpful and the concierge attempted to answer our questions. The free bus service into patong was definatly an added bonus as it can be expensive heading back and forth in a tuk tuk all the time. The day spa was amazing and gives you a peaceful experience that the massage shops can not offer. Although I would recommend the day spa for at least one treatment, the massage shops along the main street are fantastic - there is a great little one called Rena right of the resort down by the pharmacy. The restaurant at the end of the street overlooking the beach is also a fantastic option. Although there are many resorts to choose from in Karon we would defiantly go back to the Horizon because we had an amazing experience here!

Room Tip: Defiantly go with the privilege area if you do not have chn under 18yrs. If you can afford the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ErinDock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
2.7 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
2.9 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,083 reviews
1.8 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.5 km away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
1.8 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 3 Soi Karon, Soi 2 | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#12 Spa Hotel in Karon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#19 Family Hotel in Karon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: ₹ 2,878 - ₹ 16,811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to enjoy a luxurious, fabulous yet affordable vacation in Phuket by the beach? Indulge yourself in this beautiful, upscale resort with spa facilities at affordable prices. The resort is surrounded by nature and is spread over 16,000 sqm. of land and is like your own private paradise. Shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance, and its more relaxed and quiet setting is the preferred choice of families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Karon Beach Hotel Karon
Horizon Karon Beach Resort And Spa
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing