We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pools & central location away from the craziness of Patong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Access Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Access Resort & Villas
Ranked #49 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice pools & central location away from the craziness of Patong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights over Feb/Mar. For starters be aware that the location is not beach front (which we where when we booked this resort) and I do agree that beach access is not easy. It is a good 20 minute walk to karon beach which should not be attempted in the heat of the day unless you want a good sweaty detox! The hotel provides a bus service to Karon beach twice a day at 10am & 1pm (I don't think this is a return service). While the location is not beach front it's pretty much in the middle of karon and kata beach areas. For restaurants and night life we really enjoyed both areas. They are quiter and less crazy than the likes of patong while still having lots of things to do at night like shopping and bars. It's also a central location for the whole island making touring around a lot easier as it cuts down travel time.

The hotel taxi prices are displayed on a board at the front of the hotel. I'm sure if you pre-arrange a driver for your holiday it would be a lot cheaper. We found we probably spent more money on taxi's & tuk-tuk's than food and drink!

A tip for taxis: taxi & tuk-tuk drivers know this resort as "Access Pools" if you say you are staying at access resort you tend to get confused looks.

The guests in the resort are generally couples, which makes this a very quite and relaxing resort. We had dinner at the hilton down the road which is a huge resort but very crowded with conferences being held there.

We stayed in a private suite with our own pool. We were 3 friends travelling so one of us slept on a roll-away. In hind-sight the room was pretty small for 3 people & it would have been better having 2 bathrooms and we probably should have opted for a 2 bedroom apartment or at least adjoining rooms - but it proved near on impossible trying to book this without it being extremely costly. The roll-away bed was comfortable but due to the king bed being a 4 poster you couldn't watch tv from the roll-away bed easily. The king bed was very hard but we asked for matress toppers which seemed to solve this problem. The cleaners always did a good job & we didn't have a problem with items going missing & complimentary water bottles were topped up each day.

There is a 7/11 store right out the front of the hotel, convenient for buying water, snacks and alcoholic drinks. There is also a great massage parlour out the front of the hotel called "On-Lee". It's bright pink - you can't miss it. We were here every second day or night (it's open til 2am) getting foot scrubs, massages and nails painted.

The girls on the front desk of the hotel were very helpful and check-in and check-out was quite straight-forward.

Breakfast is not a huge spread (which is why i think they get so many comments about it being same-same) but there's enough hot & cold selection to keep you well fed. They have an omelette station and the hot food changes daily based on a weekly menu - so stay longer than a week and you'll see the monday menu back from last week.

We ordered room service (ours wasn't delivered by boat as we had a private pool suite) only becuase we had to as one of us wasn't well and we stayed in for the day. The room service menu was probably my only complaint. There is hardly anything on the menu and most of the items are not that appealing. We ordered a ham and cheese sandwich and BLT's both were ok BUT we were told to leave the tray outside our room for them to collect later and that's were it stayed for the next 2 days! even after our room had been cleaned twice?

We used the pool bars a couple of times and the cocktails were lovely. A little tip if you are using the bar at happy hours - you get 30% off of drinks but then you need to add back service taxes of 17% and you can only pay with cash (can't charge to the room) - which is a bit inconvenient when you don't have pockets or a bag because - you're in the pool.

It's a good hotel - feels secluded in the midst of crazy phuket. Definately reccomend for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for "Access Pools" when you jump in the taxi or tuk-tuks
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    167
    55
    29
    19
See reviews for
83
258
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at Access for 10 nights from the 10th February. We travelled with our 5 month old baby and we found the staff very helpful and accomodating.
Breakfast was lovely with hubby having an omelette each morning and the Chef seeing him come in had it ready for him in minutes of arriving.
Having the baby and a pool at your door was wonderful. In the heat of the day whilst she was having a sleep we could stay in the pool and have full view of her. It was also very convenient not to have to 'pack her up' to go to the pool, which is the case in many other hotels.
The Hotel is a fair distance from the beach but we enjoyed the walk each evening to go for dinner then the walk back helped settle dinner before bed. A tuk tuk each way cost 200 TBH which was about $6AUS.

Mostly, when travelling we used 'Mr Ducky' the taxi driver at the front of the hotel. He is a lovely gentleman, very helpful, has great english and was wonderful helping with the baby getting in and out of his cab. Mr Ducky you rock, you made our trip extra pleasant :D
There is a 711 next door which is really convenient for drinks, beer, snacks etc. Don't have your washing done by the hotel its expensive but walk out the front and there is a lady to the right that does a wonderful job. I think she even ironed my underwear.

Hubby did a couple of dive courses but be careful who you choose to dive with. There are a few dodgy ones around. Also, if they are run by Thai people the language can be a barrier when you are learnig to dive. Hubby went through ScubaCat Dive in Patong and they were awesome. He was taught by Ozzy and irishman with a wonderful sense of humour and a passion for diving and the aquatic environment.

Late one evening we came back from dinner and our air conditioning wasn't working. there was a person at our room fixing it within 5 minutes and they didn't go until it was fixed.

Lessons learnt from our first trip were not to bother with 'Airport Transfers' we paid approximately $80AUS each person from Australia, next time we have Mr Ducky's number we'll be calling him and booking him for our airport transfers for 1000 TBH each way equals $30 each way. Take less clothes and stuff. Travelling with a baby I took everything, next time I'll be taking the basics and buying t-shirts, dresses etc as they are as cheap as chips. Late check out is a must when travelling with a little one. Access were very accomodating to us for this. It is HOT, very HOT so we tended to do our activities either first thing in the morning or in the late afternoon, the middle of the day was spent around the pool and napping.

The only negative was that the beds are sooooo hard. We had pillow toppers added but they didn't make much difference for us.

We are heading back in October, so hubby can do some more dive courses. We'll be staying at Access because for us it worked really well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liesa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesigno4
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed 7 days blue wing room. We booked through Agoda got a great price asked for a transfer to be arranged, but unfortunately arrived at Phuket Airport at night and no one there to pick us up! Rang and with the language barrier being an instant problem eventually got told it would take 1 hour for someone to get there and 1000 baht. Ended up on a bus that was dirt cheap. Got there, no apology even though I showed them the paper they were given which specifically asked them to organise. Make sure you confirm the transfers have been organised! No welcome drink was offered, we were clearly flustered and upset, no cool towel, nothing. Our room was lovely, the 4 poster bed was beautiful (be warned, the mattress is very hard) and the room was a decent size. The bathroom was basic, the bathtub a bit old, but clean. The air conditioner is very noisy especially at night, but you have to have it on the heat is stifling. TV good, varied channels. They supply 2 free bottles of water a day. Balcony area leads straight into the pool, very nice, although the deck chairs are so uncomfortable, really need something soft on top. I couldnt lie there. It is funny to have room service delivered in the gondola, that is something you dont see every day! There is a 7 eleven right next door which is handy, also a great massage place right next door as well, all pink, so cheap and amazing massages. Although if you are expecting a gentle one, make sure you ask. She jumped on me and used her elbows!!!! The grounds are lovely, pools are unique, lounge chairs much more comfy. Hardly anyone ever uses the main area, the really need more entertainment. The pool area closes at 6:30pm, it would be nice to be able to hop in a bit later, have a drink around the bar and socialise. Free Wi-fi was fantastic to have. Breakfast included in the price, I would have liked more cereals and less heavy foods that I consider to be lunch or dinner, and a lot of flies around. My worst experience was the fact that people can smoke inside the restaurant, disgusting, should be allowed only outside. Dinner was okay, nothing to brag about and entertainment good for over dinner, but gets boring. They need to rethink a bit. English a big problem, most of the staff in the restaurants/bars have no idea what you are talking about, but always have a smile. A couple of the reception staff come across arrogant and not very helpful and then there were a couple that spoke better english and were always willing to help. I dont expect them to know English, I suggest you make sure you have handy phrases ready. We asked for a late checkout from 12:00pm to 5:00pm and they wanted to charge us 2000 baht. I thought that was robbery and then all of a sudden they said we could only stay till 3:00pm so the room could be cleaned for $1000 baht. When we paid our final amount, they asked us what we did with the ashtray, firstly we dont smoke and secondly there wasnt even one in our room!! Then the 2 girls turned to each other started chatting, didnt bother to say goodbye, hope you had a pleasant trip, come back, anything!!! That was as disappointing as when we arrived. Things we did: BIG BUDDHA a must do free to get in, but cost us 1200 baht from Access return, FANTASEA - we booked through a tourist company, a long drive from Access, ate at the buffett which seats 4000 people, very ordinary buffett, but there is a seafood one you can have instead, the place itself is like a theme park, no big rides though, mainly shops etc, then the main show starts at 9:00pm, some bits boring, I liked the elephants and the acrobatics. ELEPHANT TREK - we went to Amazing Bukit safari, booked directly through them, very scary bumpy track!! not flat ground that I expected, they hit you up for photos, food for elephants etc so be prepared, the baby elephant was amazing, so smart, so cute, loved it. I wouldnt do the trek thru them again though, owners friendly, just didnt like track. SIMON CABARET - loved it!! very entertaining and colourful, not sleezy, kids were there too. We got there 1/2 hour before, paid for VIP seats and got the best view. More expensive to book through organisers. SHOPPING: Loved Jung Ceylon, bit like all the markets, but in comfortable air conditioning. Bartering is tiring, but remember to be friendly and smile and you can usually get a great price. You get really good at it as time goes on. Central festival Phuket - a bit like a main shopping centre here, one big shop just like Myers or DJ's, no room for bartering, more upmarket, some stalls, I probably wouldnt have bothered to go if I knew. Weekend Markets, the night we went got rained out, I was disappointed cause I thought it would be different stuff to what I had seen in the roads, but not really. On the way back, make sure you stop in at the temple, beautiful to see. I though Patong, main street and side streets great to shop at. Heaps to choose from and good bargaining. TOURS - Phi Phi Islands - we went to about 5 islands, fantastic, would do again and highly recommend. Dont be disappointed if Monkey Island doesnt have a lot of monkeys!! I saw more at the Big Buddha!! KARON BEACH - Takes about 10 minutes by car, definently much longer to walk, but a beautiful beach. You pay a couple of dollars for the hire of the beach chairs and umbrellas and we relaxed all day. Water beautiful, apparently can be a bit rippy, there are activities such as parasailing etc available. People selling things to you all day long, pretty funny what they sell, flutes, clothing, you name it they sell it!!! I hope all this has helped, hard to squeeze everything in. It is a bit far from where I think the main action is which is Patong, it cost us 500 baht each time with a taxi to get in there, depends what you want I suppose. There are not really buses and tuk tuks cost more than taxis. It all adds up, I would stay closer to Patong next time, but I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thesigno4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sax, Spain
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My wife an I spent a month at this wonderfull hotel between the middle of January 2012 and February 2012. In this fabulous hotel all rooms have access to the pool. The rooms ( blue wing ) are large and luxurious and very well appointed. Tropical plants enhance the peaceful and beautiful surroundings. The staff are friendly and generally very efficient. Breakfast is brilliant with everything you could wish for, perhaps a slightly larger selection of cereals and the availabilty of tomato juice and Lea & Perrins sauce would make it a perfect breakfast. Food and service in the very reasonably priced restaurant is very good. Try the rock lobster, fabulous. This hotel does not have the best location, it is a good 20 minutes walk to the beach or take a taxi at £3.50 each way. If you stay at this hotel you should rent a car or motorbike for the duration of your stay, this gives you easy access to the beach but also lets you explore the wonders and beauty of Phuket. A word of warning the matresses are the firmest I have ever experienced but I slept like a log for the whole holiday. A minor negative, a cold towel and a welcome drink on arrival would have been nice. If you order room service your food is delivered to your terrace by boat, a nice unique touch. If you want luxury, peace and a room with pool access at a very reasonable price, give this hotel a try, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The blue wing rooms are larger and restricted to adults only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Loved the resort, having the pool at the back door was amazing!
Food was average but ok.
Accommodation very comfortable.
Staff really friendly, would definately stay again some time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleyvalentine_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccessResort, Front Office Manager at Access Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking real pool access to our service and facilities.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ratchapol (Paul)
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.0 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#27 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
The Village Resort and Spa
1.9 km away
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Access Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Access Resort & Villas

Property: Access Resort & Villas
Address: 459 / 2 - 3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#27 Spa Hotel in Karon
#33 Family Hotel in Karon
#41 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#45 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,948 - ₹ 13,429
Hotel Class:4 star — Access Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel offering direct pool access from all rooms, where room services serve by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Access Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Access Resort And Villas
Access Resort & Villas Hotel Karon
Access Hotel Karon
The Access Hotel
Access Resort & Villas Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing