We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Karon Butterfly Residence
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan Karon Resort(Karon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Divers Inn(Karon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
26
9
2
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
9
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillswimming poolcondojacuzzitaxisbalconyfacilitiesbeach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Where do I start? We booked a seaview room but got a pool view with a 'partial vi seaview' as described by the residence manager. See pic below and judge for yourself. He promised he would move us but that didnt happen. Promised he would try get us a partial refund, that didnt happen. Service was below satisfactory. Located on a Hill which is very very steep and will require a shower if you walk up but they do offer a shuttle service on the hour. The guy that drives the shuttle bus is nice. The apartment inside is nice and spacious and well equipt. Internet was good. Note to manager, service plays a huge role, if you say something stick to it or follow through.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chadi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattia g, Direttore at Karon Butterfly Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear kindly Chadi,
I'm the manager of Karon BUtterfly,
yes it's my fault, I promised to change the apartment but in the night time arrived a new booking and we didn't have any other room available.
I thought you like that unit.
I'm so sorry about that.
We was trying to do our best.
Hope the rest of the holiday was good anyway.
Regards
Mattia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

We were looking to rent a villa here for 7 months with quite a reasonable budget but unfortunately they were unable to deliver on promises

We were offered one condo originally for our entire stay which was quite small (we would have rented this but our baby cot couldnt fit in either bedroom), however they said come and stay for 6 werks and we will find a suitable condo for you in that time.

They were in the process of completing their new building and talked about waiting to move some booking around to accomodate us.

We moved in to a beautiful 100sqm 2 bedroom condo with an ocean view 2 bathrooms and a very well equipped kitchen. It was really beautiful.

We were told that things would be sorted when the owner come over from Italy in the following week or two and that we would have a condo of the same quality for the remainder of our stay.

A couple of weeks went by and there we were advised that there was a delay from Italy with the boss coming over but not to worry because we will definitely be able to accomodate you in one of our nicer condos.

So we thought great we still have time....

Another couple of weeks went by amd we were becoming concerned because it had been a month and nothing had happened.

When the boss arrived he said that they would require more money for rent as originally agreed upon with the rental manager and that they were working hard to find us a suitable solution.

Finally they offered us a solution that wasnt ideal considering our earlier discussions

Move from our 100 sqm almost new 2 bedroom condo to an old 2 bedroom condo for a month and then to another old 50 sqm 2 bedroom condo for another month and then to a brand new 2 bedroom condo in the new wing with no view and again its 60 sqm and they all only had 1 bathroom and no laundary facilities

AND.... With a 50% rental increase.

We told them that this would not be suitable and that they needed to come back as promised and provide a viable solution which in the end was not possible.

It was very dissapointing to say the least that there was a lack of communication and promises weren't kept but hopefully they can use this as a learning experience.

We are very very upset

Be also mindful that there is a very very steep driveway leading up to the property. You need to be fit to walk up it and and when it's hot its a tough walk. (Lucky we had a car)

The fake grass around the pool gets too hot to walk on in the sun and there are very limited sun beds too.

They offer a shuttle bus but it wasnt running during low season and the restaurant and pool bar was closed too but they wont tell you this.

The new condos are really nice which is why we wanted to be here but the older condos need some love and refurbishment.

Hopefully they accept my review as final and accept they need to make improvements. They have a nice resort but need to think through things better.

Please ONLY make promises you can keep.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Troy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattia g, Direttore at Karon Butterfly Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear kindly customers,
first thing, you been in our residence on October, and you write a complain on January... ??
anyway,
I need just one thing to reply of all these things.
The real problem that made you upset is that you wanted one unit, but that Unit was available after two weeks of your arrival, and you stayed in those to weeks before in a luxury apartment.
After that you didn't want to change the apartment in the unit where me made the deal two weeks before, and you complain because you didn't want to change that Luxury unit that was already booked.
So please,
keep your words for something true and write something that can help and give a real experience to the people that are looking for some information about our residence. These are unnecessary information.
Thank you
Have a good time
Best regards
Karon Butterfly Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, which was large & spacious. Two bedrooms, one bathroom and an on-suite. Fully equipped kitchen with fridge, stove, oven and microwave. We were on the 3rd floor with a large balcony, and the view from the balcony is similar to those on the webpages of the apartment. Views of sunset from were the balcony was beautiful. The large pool was at least 10m long and was very clean. There were a handful of beach umbrellas set up around the pool. There was also a cocktail bar next to the pool.

The only downside to the apartment was the fact that it is situated on a very steep hill. If you are an elderly, or have very young children with you, walking up the hill will be a challenge.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Jeneriq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We have just returned from 2 weeks with a one bedroom apartment with a sea view which was stunning, we went with friends who also had sea views, and one family managed to obtain a hot tub on their balcony and leather settees, clearly this one was privately owned with little touches different to ours such as the upgraded kitchen and the furniture on the balcony being of a much higher quality.
The food and beverages were very reasonable in price, and lovely and fresh, the pool area is very good, however requires upgrading with the sun beds, they are very uncomfortable, however always managed to obtain a bed whether in the sun or shade.
The only downside to our trip is the very very steep hill, our friends were unable to manage the hill and we did use the shuttle bus frequently, however at times we used a taxi or tuk tuk, some were not able to make it up the steep hill and twice we slid back down to the bottom and had to send for another one with a bigger engine enabling the vehicle to get up the hill.
We talked to the management and was informed they have future plans to have a buzzer system in place at the bottom of the hill, that would enable guests to ring and request a lift up the hill, we felt this would be invaluable for guests.
New apartments have been completed and possibly the hill is the downside to why people think twice about buying at this resort as anybody with a disability would struggle ,,,if some taxi's can't make it up,,you can imagine the steepness of the incline.
Overall we would return with the new system in place of a buzzer would make this condominium perfect,,,the locality is excellent for both karen beach and Kata, many local bars close by and less than 10 minutes walk to the beach.
Very clean, quality fittings, and friendly staff.

Room Tip: sea view, high floor
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank poledancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Wonderful place with wonderful panoramic views. Helpful staff, clean apartment. They kept the apartments clean. I can only recommend everyone. We spent a very wonderful 2 weeks there. The pool also has a clean and super panorama.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keryke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews