We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ab fab!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #27 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ab fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Loved every minute of our 10-day girls' holiday here, enjoying both the Sino wing with access to the smaller pool & the Serene wing overlooking the central pool. Note: you will be charged for water used from the bar 'fridge if you miss 'complimentary' on the label; the refrigerated ones are not. All the staff are wonderful - so friendly, helpful & ensuring our stay was completely enjoyable.
Everything is within walking distance: market, restaurants, spas, beach & free shuttles are offered to Patong & the old Phuket town weekend market - but book in advance!
Book your excursions with Mr Jeep & you have nothing to worry about - we did elephant trekking, Phi Phi, a Thai cookery class, Fantasea and hired a van & driver for Songkran - the biggest water festival you'll ever enjoy for Thailand's New Year. Even our hillside evacuation for the tsunami warning was calmly organised by the expert staff. I will definitely be returning - I miss you all already!
Google Earth for nearby street views - amazing!

Room Tip: Sino wing overlooks the street and hills - lovely; the Serene wing means you look at everyone else l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    684
    183
    58
    41
See reviews for
316
893
73
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I was one of 6 ladies holidaying at the Old Phuket. We love this hotel, the staff are amazing, we were upgraded twice, once to another brand new hotel 5 mins away, but we begged to come back to the Old Phuket within 1 day!..The front desk staff and porters are really lovely, we had lots of laughs with them. The local restaurants are excellent as are the massages. The markets are really friendly and bartering there was always good fun and done in good spirit. Our favourite pool was the Sino Wing pool - nice and quiet and excellent cocktails. We will all go back there in the future.

Room Tip: Sino Wing rooms are a bit tired, but perfectly fine and have the best pool to relax around. Serene W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Good value for money, the position is great - three minutes from the beach - and the service friendly. Breakfasts were excellent, particularly the freshly prepared eggs to order. We (nine of us) stayed in four of the jacuzzi rooms, airconditioned and very comfortable. We asked for extra pillows and a sheet as the duvet was too warm, and this was quickly provided.

Head inland and turn left on the main road to the Titon restaurant less than 100 meters away. Great, friendly service and food and outstandin value.

Rooms were cleaned nicely, but often later in the day which was not always that convenient. Beds wer hard, but comfortable.

A light beach umbrella of gazebo is a good idea as 200 baht per umbrella and two loungers per day on the beach racks up the costs for a large family.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi rooms provide a nice spot outside for drinks while cooling off after a day at the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewMCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Excellent hotel, excellent staff !!!

We arrived at the Hotel and the General Manager was there to welcome us. The staff has always has all the willingness to help you. The hotel has 2 sections, the "old" and the new ! There are reviews that are saying that they prefer the new block. My wife prefers the old block, because it is more traditional and it has a character. Me, I prefer the new block, which is a new modern hotel with minimal architecture. So we stayed few days in both types !!!

All the rooms are spacious and there are 2 swimming pools. The breakfast is great and it would be a good idea to add more traditional Thai food for those who would like to explore the taste of the local cuisine.

Really close to the Hotel is Karon Beach. Next to the hotel are some tasty restaurants where you have a discount because you are staying at hotel.

This is a great hotel and it has value for money !
Great for Honeymooners !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jim25gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The resort was just what we wanted - close to the beach but not on it. Smallish in size with lovely pool areas. Next day delivery laundry service as we travel light. Walking distance to bars and restaurants. Breakfast included. Overall it was great value for money. The website claims that it has a variety of restaurants on site. This not quite true, but the restaurants are only a few minutes walk away through the resort on towards the beach - and you can charge the bill to your room. The only downside was that the level of service was erratic and inconsistent throughout the resort. Despite this I would definitely recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Serene Wing are lighter and more spacious than in the Sino Wing. Pool access rooms give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lisamacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.2 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#63 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#82 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#20 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.1 km away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#90 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.5 km away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Property: The Old Phuket
Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,882 - ₹ 12,970
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing