We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUNGLE HEAVEN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Villas Phuket
Ranked #31 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“JUNGLE HEAVEN”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Agree with most of the good reviews on here re: this hotel. If you are looking for a touch of thai, some peace and quiet, stunning views and away from the concrete jungle of high rise hotels , this would be perfect for you. If you are looking to walk out your hotel front door to be right in the middle of the action and arent keen on walking up and down steps a lot i would consider elsewhere! We found the short walk to the beach approx (10 mins) lovely and rather enjoyed the steep steps to work off all the gorgeous thai food. But as other people have commented, there are steps all over the hotel and for the unfit or unable this may be a challenge. The only thing we would gripe about a little was that after 6pm you cant really walk into the main street as the path walkway closes and it is dangerous to walk down the busy road. You cannot really walk back either (belive me we tried it and found it scary as the cars and mopeds race past and it is dangerous) You have to get a tuk tuk back, ok price as 200bhat(around £4) but if you were on a budget this may add up over time. In saying that, we loved that we were near to the action yet in a schecluded paradise as the villas are spacious, spotless, modern but thai style and excellent value for money for what we paid. Really quiet at night so you can sit on your balcony with a few drinks,read or watch a movie (there is a few english channels and were movies on every night which was great). If you are looking for more activities at night you wont find them at this hotel as its very quiet so wouldnt suit singletons or teenagers etc who want to party party. Staff are amazing, so friendly and professional. Pools are lovely but a little small and real lack of sunbeds there and at the grass area for the amount of guests. great selection of breakfast too. Loved phuket, shopping heaven and food lovely and everywhere cheap. Will be back!!

Room Tip: Do the elephant trek-great experience! We booked thru the hotel, quick, easy and just as cheap as bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    359
    121
    52
    27
See reviews for
111
715
33
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

After a business trip in Bangkok, my family and I went to Centara Villas for a few days and it exceeded ALL our expectations. We rented 2 bungelows and they were next door to each other.The property is on the top of a hill overlooking the Adaman Sea. The rooms are not fancy and they have a bungelow/cottage feel to them. They are on an inclining hill and you can either walk on the main road or take the interconnecting paved pathways that go up and down the hill to get to the restaurant and hotel lobby. I would describe the rooms as very nice, extremely comfortable and you have the feeling of exoticism due to the decor and the amazing views. There is a huge front porch directly outside of your front door, with lush trees and, again, amazing views. The rooms have airconditioning, ceiling fan, mosquito nets (which are not needed if you are running the air at night), tea/coffee pot, TV, large bathroom with a walk in shower and a comfortable bed. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and you can walk down to the beach. The walk to the beach is cumbersome because it is not paved, so be careful. The most amazing thing about this hotel is the SPA. We went every day we were there and got everything from a Thai massage to a deep tissue to a Sweedish massage. The prices are very reasonable ($100 for 2 people!) and you can see and hear the ocean waves crashing up against the rocks and hill from your message room. The whole experience is just amazing and nothing like I have ever experienced prior. We arranged for transportation through the hotel for all our travel needs and it was reasonable and reliable. The restaurant at the hotel is also good; however, I would recommend taking a taxi or tut tut into Phuket and experiencing the restaurants there. You can inform your taxi driver what time you would like to return to the hotel and they will come back and get you. REally great service! I had a taxi driver take me to go pet the baby elephants at this place down the road from the hotel. He waited on me to finish petting and feeding them; again, great service. The hotel is approx 7-10 minutes from downtown Phuket by taxi or tut tut. Karon beach (the beach directly below the hotel) is much nicer than the beach in Phuket, so I would not recommend going into Phuket just for the beach. Phuket is good for eating Thai and Seafood and that is it. The shopping is nothing to brag about! (not very good deals). I recommend Centara Villas and will definitely stay there again. Advice: if you have difficulty walking up and down steep inclines this may not be the place for you. However, they do have a golf cart type vehicle that can transport you to and from the hotel lobby and adjacent restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRoschelleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have just returned from a stay at Centara Cliff Villa Resort in Karon which was a fabulous experience. The location is perfect, away from the hustle bustle of Karon. The staff, the spa and the restaurant breakfast and dinner gets 10 out of 10, it really was a beautiful experience. The hotel is for people that is looking for peace and quiet and good service.

Room Tip: The higher the cottages are the better the view over Karon beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We've just returned from our second stay at the Centara Villas Karon, and I'm just as impressed as the first time. This time we holidayed with another couple (in laws) who had also previously stayed here at our recommendation

For us the Centara offers the perfect combination of privacy, seclusion & resort ammenties. For sure it doesn't have a gym, tennis court rah rah rah. But it does have an atmosphere you can't get staying in a normal high rise hotel.

Although the price of the food at the resturant for evening meals is more expensive than (some) places in town, the quality is outstandingly consistant, both Western & Thai. They have happy hour at the pool bar from 4-5pm & main bar at the resturant from 6-7pm.

The grounds are all rainforest and immaculately kept, anything else wouldn't be in keeping with the style of villas. Don't get me wrong, there are steps - and a lot of them, but what else would you do if not walk around and enjoy where you are staying. For us, this was an added element of pleasure. The pools are beautiful, with a waterfall following the natural contour of the hill to connect the 2 both over looking the ocean.

The rooms are fantastically roomy - each with their own private balcony. We have enjoyed this on both occasions - having an outdoor space. The bathrooms are amazing. Rain head shower head and a huge shower recess under natural light skylights. The beds are on the hard side, but the pillows are great. We found we slept better on our resent stay compared to our first, I'm not sure if the beds had changed or we just knew what to expect.

One new thing they have, which they needed was internet access. Wifi in the resturants & pool area and broadband via LAN in the rooms. It cost us 500bt for 7 days - unlimited, this worked out well for us.

We loved the walk track down to the beach, and would walk that in the evenings and tuk tuk home after a meal/shopping. We also ultilised the free shuttle into Patong into Patong, although its best to ring half an hour before and just confirm so there's room, it fills up pretty quick. Tuk Tuk from Karon to Villas - 200bht, Patong to Villas 300bht. If you miss the shuttle to town,walk up to the road and either get them to flag you a tuk tuk/taxi or flag one yourself, they'll stop for you. Hiring a taxi through reception will cost you an average extra 100bht

The staff, oh the staff! They are wonderful! Absolutely all of them. Most of them were the same ones we had in 2009. They are beautiful & friendly- true Thai's. They have a pretty good understanding of English and what they don't get, they truely try to.

We can't wait to come back to Phuket, and we'll definately stay again at the Centara Villas. I would recommend for couples, single and friends. We travelled with another couple found the layout perfect. We only really appriciated this hotel the on the second visit and after seeing the other hotels in the area and what they offered compared to the villas.

Room Tip: * Try and ask for a room in the middle, these have steps up to the resturant & down to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cntrybmpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My husband & I went to Thailand for our honeymoon and this was the place we stayed in at Phuket.Away from the highly commercialized Patong beach,this resort is located at Karon from where you can conviniently cover most of Phuket.The food at Centara is delicious,the villas are beautiful allowing you great privacy and beautiful view of the sea.But I want to make a special mention about the staff, each one of whom is highly efficient,most of them speak decent enough English and those few who don't don't let it come in the way of getting you whatever it is that you are looking for.We were very impressed and touched by the level of service provided by some of them.We never went to the resort beach so can't comment on it though it has one.I had read about mosquito problems in TripAdvisor reviews but don't know if it was the weather(March 7 to 10) or what but we didn't face it much,had carried repellent along anyway.Highly reccommend renting a scooter the first day you get there,taxis can work out slightly expensive and it's more fun on the bike...also you will discover places which are not on the tourist map but will take your breath away.

Room Tip: Each room is an independent unit,full privacy.We stayed in a sea view room.I think all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomoreborders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.4 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.9 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
1.0 km away
Pacific Club Resort
Pacific Club Resort
#1 of 5 in Karon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
3.5 km away
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Phuket

Property: Centara Villas Phuket
Address: 701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#21 Spa Hotel in Karon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#28 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#32 Family Hotel in Karon
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,359 - ₹ 9,430
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in lush tropical greenery and overlooking Karon Beach and the Andaman Sea, the four-star Centara Villas Phuket is a romantic hideaway located steps away from the sweeping expanse of Phuket’s Karon Beach. Each romantic, private villa, nestled within its own screen of green, directly faces the sea from a dramatic inclined perch, ensuring that views are endless and the quiet all-pervading. The minimum villa size is a generous 46 square metres and some come with the option of a plunge pool or a Jacuzzi. The large two-tiered swimming pool, with its fabulous ocean views and shady spots, is the epicentre of relaxation. For another form of relaxation, Spa Cenvaree is a refuge for the senses offering a choice of therapeutic treatments including traditional Ayurvedic methods and Thai foot and body massages. The resort also offers hands-on Thai cooking classes, and two restaurants and a bar that boast sublime ocean views. For those who wish to venture out of its oasis of serenity and tranquillity, the tour information desk will be delighted to arrange activities such as island-hopping, bungee jumping, and family treks. For a change of pace, a complimentary scheduled shuttle service connects the resort with the fabled nightspots of Patong and Karon. Centara Villas Phuket is just one hour's drive away from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Hotel Phuket
Centara Resort Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing