We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointed this time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little disappointed this time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We were returning to Le Meridien after a 10 years absence, remembering the incredible stay we had there before. I want to be careful writing this review as much of it is purely personal opinion. A number of comments have mentioned the hotel is "tired". In some parts "yes" but we couldn't fault our de luxe sea view room. Spacious, great view and maintained to a very high standard of cleanliness. The room has all facilities you could ask for. Breakfast is plentiful to suit all tastes although timing for turning up for breakfast is a consideration as it can get crowded.

During our stay there was also a convention running and the additional crowding at breakfast was unacceptable, especially for the families with children having to stand outside and wait, whilst delelgates of the conference did their "networking " over breakfast. They could have opened up another Dining Area, specifically for the delegates, so as not to inconvenience those on holiday who were actually self-paying guests. The weather during our stay was appalling and this limited what to do in the hotel. Gym was excellent, but the lounge/quiet rooms lacked things to do and in our case, were often full with delegates having their tea and coffee and "networking". I appreciate these events may be infrequent, but there seems to be a lot of space in other areas of the hotel that were unused but looked like Conference facilities. I think Le meridien should use the areas in the hotel and not inconvenience those on vacation.

Prices in the hotel were very high for drink and food and the small bar just up the road was selling its drink at half the price and bar food at a more competitive rate. Because of the time of the season, most of the hotel restaurants were closed. But if you try to attract holidaymakers via travel brochures and on the internet and you name these restaurants as a main selling feature you should either ensure they are open all the time or mention there may times when they are closed. It was sad to see so many of your restaurants in darkness. We only made on trip to Patong Beach and cannot believe how much it has changed in 10 years. Once was enough for us and we opted not to go there unless we could help it. It used to be lively, great places to eat without being husstled by touts and massage girls -the whole place was just horrible.
We ate in the hotel for evening meals a few times and apart from the prices which were high, my wife had a bad experience finding a large piece of glass in the bowl of curry she was about to eat.
All of the staff were very apologetic and acted promptly, the Catering Manager was fetched who explained the curry was not made on premises but that the hotel would register an incident with the Local Health Dept and that we w ould be contacted to be told what action had been taken and outcome. To date the hotel has never been in touch. This was our last night at Le Meridien but not a really happy one for the obvious reason. This is our personal opinion remember, others keep coming back year after year. We love the location and love the rooms but I think, sadly, we will be saying goodbye and will not be returning. A great shame after our very first experience those years ago which was fantastic

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for Sea Views-it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear "Mike S"

While I am happy to learn that you chose to stay with us again after 10 years, I regret that this recent stay did not live up to your expectations. We do acknowledge that our two breakfast venues can get busy particularly when we have conference groups in-house. We do advise guests to attend breakfast before 9:30 AM in our in-room 7 Days Discovery brochure. However, your suggestion of assigning private breakfast venues for delegates does make sense and we would be more than happy to consider it. In fact our sales executives were told to proactively suggest this to conference organizers for large groups as part of their program. Thank you for this. Whenever a dining venue is unavailable we ensure that this is published in the in-room collateral. I apologize if this information was not highlighted to you. I did inquire with our F&B Director with regards to the foreign object you found in your curry. I was told that it was not glass but a piece of plastic from the lid of a single-use food container that was used to portion the curry. This single-use food container should not have been utilized for this purpose and as such is contrary to our food handling procedures. After you spoke to one of our senior F&B associates on this matter, we have rectified this and have reminded our kitchen associates of adhering to procedures. I also apologize if this was not communicated to you at the time of your stay. Rest assured that the resort adheres to strict guidelines on food handling. We have also just successfully completed an annual food safety audit conducted by a third-party. We hope you'll consider staying with us again. We would certainly do our utmost to provide you with a more enjoyable experience and would appreciate the opportunity to regain your confidence in us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,747
    860
    238
    103
    71
See reviews for
965
1,224
102
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Recently stayed there for 2 nights. Terrible experience, not recommend to stay there. First, after I checked in, they took me to a room and someone already in the room, they asked if I am going to share with someone, I told them, I am not going to share especailly someone I do not know. Second room, I checked in, with lighting flash in the room, sure, need to change it again. After one hour, I checked in the third room, and internet password did not work. On second day, I found out that there are so many woman long hair was hanging the wall in the shower room. OMG, I could not believe it and I asked the house keeper to clear to make sure and clear the shower room completely. What was a surprise, after I came back to the hotel and the hair is still hanging there, but less hair than before. The room and facilities at the hotel bit over used and need to upgrade. Foods at the restaurant is expensive and teast awful. If you think the location is great, may be. To be honest, any where you go in Phuket, they will charge you a lot, as no mater taxi in Phuket. If you are a SPG for using or awarding points, you can certainly choose to stay at Westin, it is nice a brand new hotel, it is bit out of twon, but at least worth for the money and they offer free shutle bus to Phuket town. If you need to book any tour to go most place, they normally pick up at your hotel anyway.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeIsInATravelBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear "LifeIsInaTravelBag"

We sincerely apologize for this terrible lapse on our part. A guest was transferred to the room you were shown but unfortunately the status wasn't changed on our system. Thus, when you arrived the room still showed vacant-clean and you were mistakenly assigned to the already occupied room. I understand your disappointment of the bathroom not being thoroughly cleaned even after you have given instructions to our housekeeping attendant. We sincerely regret that you left with a negative impression of the resort. I know we are better than this and could have done more to provide you with a more enjoyable experience. We hope you'll consider staying with us again. We would definitely make the most of the opportunity to regain your confidence.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Hi travellers. My family and I have not even arrived at Le Meridian Phuket and we are already deflated and not really looking forward to it. I booked 2 interconnecting rooms 4 months in advance. I confirmed the interconnecting rooms availability and was given a guarantee in writing from Le Meridien Phuket that we would be allocated interconnecting rooms. Having had surgery on my leg recently I called the resort to confirm that they had elevators and could our interconnecting rooms be close to those elevators given any walking is currently difficult for me. I was advised that I had not been allocated interconnecting rooms because other people with younger children than mine had been given them instead. I tried to remind them of the written guarantee. The fact that I booked many months and had confirmed their availability at the time, that I am mobility impaired, etc. It seems that none of this matters. You can book the day before arrival and still be granted the room you want, as long as your child is younger than mine.

The reservations staff are no help, other than to offer a weak "sorry". I respect all cultures, but when it comes to a business transaction I expect a guarantee to be honoured.

Room Tip: Say you have a newborn. Lie if you have to. The resort does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear "Carolyn P"

Warm greetings from Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort.

I'm delighted to know that this issue has been resolved prior to your arrival. I would like to thank you for your prompt communication with us before you made any booking because we were able to handle your concerns accordingly. As we always do our utmost to make every guest's stay as smooth as possible, I believe your concerns were all responded to your satisfaction, evident in your email to Reservations team on 22nd of June. Thank you once again and I sure know you and your family had a wonderful time at the resort. I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Amazing property, awesome view of the ocean at the cove....delicious food even for a pure vegetarian!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear "j15"

Warm greetings from Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to know that you had a great stay with us. Many thanks for your kind endorsement and we all look forward to having you back at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed 3 days 2 nites over there the last weekend, found it to be an average hotel. Bed and mattress were the highlight- very comfortable and clean. Others i.e food, restaurants, breakffast, meeting room was pretty average. Beach was nice and clean. Those who wants to sit by the beach over a long weekend will find this place excellent. not advisable to swim unless calm session.

Room Tip: rooms facing the beach will be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear "Rin7"

Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to know that our Le Meridien signature bed gave you comfort and that you noticed the cleanliness of our linen. Thanks for highlighting our secluded beach next to the hotel, please note that we have Australian-gold standard certified lifeguards manning our oversized swimming pools and the secluded beach. There are also flags on the beach to mark areas that are safe for swimming and areas where we discourage swimmers due to possible strong currents. I do regret that you did not have an entirely positive impression of your stay. We hope you'll consider staying with us again on your next visit to Phuket so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a more enjoyable experience.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
1.2 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
32.3 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.9 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,180 reviews
6.8 km away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
33.5 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karon
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#5 Spa Hotel in Karon
#6 Family Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,715 - ₹ 27,796
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site LM Family Kids Club (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. All non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free for guests. Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines. Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 90-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing