We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Relaxing Holiday I've Ever Had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Most Relaxing Holiday I've Ever Had”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Like:
* newly renovated standard rooms
* rain shower in the bathroom
* the private beach, although they could do with some more chairs
* the thai restaurant, pizza place on the beach, pad thai on the beach!, room service very good.
* breakfast pretty good, but hotel crowded at this time of year
* Valentine, the resident elephant who visits the beach twice a day

Dislike
* the hotel maid did not shut our door properly after turn down, which mean our room wasn't secure. Lek at the front desk investigated, we found nothing was stolen, but for a couple of days it did put a dampner on our trip. Lek followed up to ensure we were looked after ok after this
* staff at the transport desk rude

Recommend
* a day trip to Phi Phi Island is a must, it's just gorgeous
* Phuket shooting range

Probably wouldn't do again
* James Bond Island

Room Tip: Choose a room that's away from the lagoon pool (where the children go)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear "PM09"

Thanks for your feedback. We're all delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to relax and had a pleasant experience with us. Thanks for highlighting your approval of our new rooms and its redesigned bathrooms. Many thanks for your appraisal of our services. I did note your concern with your door not being closed properly by our attending staff. I am sorry for this lapse. I have also shared your concern with our Director of Rooms to follow through with our housekeeping associates. Many thanks for your review and suggestions regarding our property. We look forward to having you once again at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,744
    859
    237
    103
    71
See reviews for
965
1,221
102
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This is the 7th time we've visited since 2003 (not sure what an earlier reviewer meant when stated hotel only 10 years old, we know people who have been going there for over 20 years)!!!

I agree that some rooms do require updating but the rooms in each of the wings have been done over the last few years and this is a gradual improvement.

The staff are superb and cannot do enough for you, we have loads of fun when there.

The food is great and there is a decent choice of restaurants and variety of cuisine to suit most tastes.

Beach is bliss and it goes without saying that Valentine the baby elephant is the star of the show, particularly in the afternoon when he plays in the sea with the guests!

My only negative and I guess this is a global issue is the rising cost of everything, rooms, food etc both in and outside of the hotel.

Only another 50 weeks to wait...............

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms are in the wings, albeit there is nothing wrong apart from being a little bit date...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMRGlossop_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear "AMRGlossop_UK"

Thank you for choosing to stay with us whenever you're in Phuket. We appreciate your patronage and will do our utmost to provide you with enjoyable stays each time. You are correct in saying that we have renovated rooms in at least one building of both wings. Today 70% of the resort's 470 rooms and suites have been completely renovated while we continue to perform aesthetic touch-ups in the other rooms while we finalize our next rooms and suites upgrade. I am happy to count you as one of Valentine's newest fans and am glad to know that you loved your interactions with our lovable baby elephant. We do hope you'll continue to make us your holiday home in Phuket. We all look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife and I had our first trip to Phuket and heard lots of different stories about different hotel & resort experiences. However, when we arrived to Le Meridien, we were taken back by the grand entrance and welcoming services upon arrival. The room we orginially had was on the first floor, unfortunately it was rather loud with people coming back to there rooms in the evening, however when we asked to be moved we could do so that afternoon. The rooms are fantastic and spacious and I think they are serviced throughout the day. We would come in have a shower then head out only to have the room serviced again with new towels which is not what I expected but certainly appreciated. Our recommendation would be to ask for a room that doesn't have adjacent doors as the couple next door would have their TV up so load early in the morning so I would say take some ear plugs as the crickets can also be quite nosiy. The facitlites, pool and private beach is amazing. We will certainly return back to this fantastic resort hopefully some time soon.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not have adjacent doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuvinTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear "LuvinTravel_12"

Thank you for your feedback. It's great to know that you and your wife enjoyed your recent stay with us. More so that we were able to get it right upon your arrival and followed through with delighting you throughout. Allow me to share your appraisal of our services with our associates who I'm sure will also read your feedback with much appreciation. We look forward to having you at Le Meridien Phuket again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here last June and absolutely loved it.We had a beachfront room with a balcony with a great view over the pool to the sea - choose this room type as they are absolutely gorgeous - loved having the open window from the bathroom.
The hotel had it's own private beach which s great - no hassle geting beach chairs. Those large swimming pools were fantastic - we were the only ones in them most of the time!
We only had breakfast in the hotel so can't comment on the food generally but breakfast was delicious with lots of choice - especially the fruit.
We've just been to a Sandals hotel for our honeymoon which cost us twice as much as our thai holiday - wish we'd gone back to Le Meridien.

Room Tip: Beach front are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mattyboy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear "mattyboy29"

Thank you for your review and appraisal. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Having read your description of your room, I could infer that you stayed in one of our Deluxe Ocean View Rooms. I do agree that these rooms provide scenic views of the pool, its surrounding garden, and the sea. Deluxe Ocean View Rooms are one of our more popular room types because of the views and their location. We're also glad that you enjoyed the secluded beach next to the hotel. It is simply breathtaking especially at sunset. We look forward to your next visit to Le Meridien Phuket.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Hotel seems dated, even though it is less than 10 years old. I know sea air tends to affect buildings, but architecture, elevators, etc. all look like they’re from the 80s. SPG Platinum check-in was absolutely terrible. We waited in line forever, unlike other hotels where they sit you on a couch and have the GM greet you. Front desk staff seemed to be playing around on the computer instead of checking in guests.

In general, staff members are terribly inadequate. We wanted to do an elephant trek but it took front desk staff at least 15-30 minutes to even find a book, and even after they did, they seemed incapable of communicating with us and walked away from the desk while we were looking at the book. Restaurant staff actually REFUSED to pull down rain shades when it was pouring and we were getting soaked. We basically had to beg them to comply with our request.

Restaurant food is overpriced and bland. Breakfast buffet is crowded. Not the hotel’s fault, but guests are obnoxious and lack any sort of class.

The spa was under construction when we went, so we had to get treatments in a regular guest room. Services were 50% off, but weren’t that great and the atmosphere was severely lacking – they could have done it right, but were content with just putting a table in a regular guest room.

Rooms were spacious, and the bathroom was large and had a good layout. We had a pretty decent view from our balcony.

The highlight, by far, was the baby elephant that they brought around the pool area to entertain guests.

This was the first time we had ever stayed at a Le Meridien. We have been lucky to stay at some very, very nice hotels around the world and this is nowhere near 4-5 stars they claim. Expect the service of your local Holiday Inn Express (with worse clientele) with 5 star prices. We stayed at the Le Meridien Angkor right after we left Phuket, and that was fabulous, so we know the problems are not with the Le Meridien brand, but with this hotel in particular. We will be wary when considering booking a Le Meridien again, however, because of our experiences here.

And due to this experience, my fiancée refuses to ever return to Phuket.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tpc220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear "tpc220"

Warm greetings from Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. I do regret that you did not have an enjoyable experience during your stay with us. As we are celebrating our 25th anniversary this year we are aware of the need to continually upgrade our services and facilities. We've actually completed major refurbishments during the past 3 years. Today we have almost 70% of our 470 rooms and suites renovated. Our most recent renovations project was carried out between May and September last year. I note that you and your fiancee stayed with us in August. At the time rooms and suites in the building where the spa is located were undergoing renovations. We decided to relocate the spa's services so as not to disturb guests during their treatments. We took this opportunity to perform aesthetic enhancements in the spa as well. Apart from renovating rooms and suites the resort also implemented several programmes to further enhance guest experience. A dedicated desk with lounge chairs at the lobby where SPG Platinum members can check-in was implemented in mid-September. I do regret that these facilities were unavailable at the time.

I apologize for the lapses in our service delivery. I am sure that we could always improve our associates communication skills as well as enhance on our overall service delivery.

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you'll consider staying with us again. We certainly would be grateful for the opportunity to provide you with a more pleasant stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
1.2 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
32.3 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.9 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
5,155 reviews
6.8 km away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
33.5 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karon
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#5 Spa Hotel in Karon
#6 Family Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,527 - ₹ 28,183
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site LM Family Kids Club (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. All non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free for guests. Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines. Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 90-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing