We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,527)
Filter reviews
3,527 results
Traveller rating
2,077
981
267
121
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,077
981
267
121
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaby elephantprivate beachdriving rangepatong beachhuge poolthai restauranttuk tuktennis courtsbeach barclean beachkids clubhotel gueststable tennisjunior suitepool viewbreakfast buffet isshuttle bus
Filter
Updating list...
1,904 - 1,909 of 3,527 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spent a couple of nights here last week and were really disappointed by what is supposed to be a 5 star resort.

1. Original reservation was for 2 single beds, which I called them TWICE to change to a single king bed (same price). Got email confirmations both times that the bed choice was switched. Get to room and it's 2 single beds. Instead of changing our room, they just had the maid push the two beds together -- ackward.

2. Showerhead over the tub is not centered so we got a monsoon in the bathroom every time we took a shower! This is absolutely ridiculous. Even if you tilt the head to try and be away from the edge of the tub, you'll still get water going over the edge and onto the bathroom floor. This alone makes me refuse to ever stay there again. We absolutely dreaded having to use the shower.

3. Maid always left the water option turned to the movable showerhead, which also resulted in sending water straight to the bathroom floor as soon as you turned the tub faucet on.

4. Tub drained *so* slowly. This problem was combined with the maid taking out the drain plug completely while doing her job, but left the drain plug sitting with the pointy part upright at the bottom of the bathtub. That was a tetanus accident waiting to happen.

5. Maid made up room without leaving us any bath towels. Really, even the maids at Motel 6 remember this one! I was standing there covered in dried salt water residue having to wait for them to deliver bath towels so I could shower.

6. Drinks are WAY overpriced. Be careful of this one. They put so much ice into the cocktails that you really only got a fraction of a drink and they make them very weak. Save your money and just go into town for any drinks as it'd be a fraction of the price, made properly, and you'll actually get an entire drink's worth in your glass.

7. Service in the restaurants and bars were severely lacking. The wait staff would bring you your food/drink and then disappear the rest of the time you were there. The only way that you could make them re-appear is to try and leave the place and then they'll magically show up out of thin air with your bill. Where were they the rest of the time when you needed utensils to use with your meal?

8. Elevators do not have object-in-doorway sensors. If the doors start closing while you or your bags are still in the doorway, they'll keep going until they hit you or your bag and then just stay there without automatically retracting. The only way to get them to retract too is to reach inside the elevator and push the "Open Door" button. Someone is going to get injured or worse by these damn things. We avoided them as much as we could.

9. Location just sucks. It's isolated so you're at the mercy of the taxi/ride service that they contract with and the prices are arranged in advance. The drivers insist on staying with you while you're out too so you have to pay them for their time also. Of course they don't actually say that when you ask for a ride somewhere. At least with almost every other hotel in Phuket, you can easily get a regular taxi for a much more competitive price. This resort was obviously designed for you to spend your entire time there and not actually see Phuket.

Don't get me wrong as we also stayed at the WAY better Residence Resort & Spa Retreat which is also isolated, but at least the service there was top notch all around. Le Meridien could learn from the Residence Resort on how to actually provide 5 star service to their guests.

Won't be staying at Le Meridien ever again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear "Kelley P"

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience of not being provided with a king bed at the onset. I understand that this lapse on our part was disappointing especially after calling in twice and after receiving our confirmation. I have shared your concerns with our Director of Rooms and Reservations team. I know we could have done a better job at coordinating requests like this and both teams have committed to do so.

I have also shared your concerns with the showerhead and bathtub with our Hotel Manager and Chief Engineer who are looking into improving the setup.

With respect for your sensibilities, guests are given the choice of how often linen and towels are laundered. By laundering only when requested, we reduce chlorine, detergent and water use. Guests who want to reuse their towels can do so by hanging them on the towel rack. Towels left on the floor are to be washed and new ones will be provided. This information is on a card placed beside the telephone in the guest room. I do apologize if this collateral was not placed in your room or if we failed to communicate this. It is unacceptable if you did not receive new towels due to a service lapse and I do apologize if this was the case. Both our Director of Rooms and Housekeeping Manager have been informed of your concerns and have reinforced this service standard in their daily briefing.

I regret that you did not have an enjoyable dining experience. Our Director of Food & Beverage is aware of your concern and will address this with our restaurant associates to correct.

Thank you for sharing your concern with our current elevators. Your comments were shared and will be an additional point we will consider as we are scheduled to replace these this year.

We appreciate your feedback on our service delivery and thank you for sharing these. We hope you'll re-consider and stay with us again. We certainly would like to regain your confidence and would welcome the opportunity to do so.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

awesome location...awesome property...awesome facilities....awesomeness

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anky2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear "anky2k2"

Thankssss! We're delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you'll stay with us again soon. Thanks for the feedback.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A lot of ( decent ) Russin tourists! Excellent valse for money, staff super friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for room at first floor near THE beach.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear "Hans1304"

Thanks for your feedback. I am happy to know that your choice to stay at Le Meridien Phuket did not disappoint and that you found great value with your experience. We hope you'll stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. Second time for me but first time for my boyfriend. Staffs are very professional moreover they can speak other language except english. Tremendous hotel & swimming pools which are 3 or 4 sizes of pool. Nicely private beach with white sand and clear water, perfect!! Room is a bit old and need to refurbish some furnitures. We stayed in Duluxe ocean view with private balcony, it was beautiful view. Recreation and facilities are great, many fun activities such as archery, petanque, climbling, etc. Lots of nice restaurants to choose, thai, japanese, grilled, bar, club lounge. We prefred to sit and sip at Tonson Bar because there is a open air area that we can feel to fresh air and wave sound. Breakfast is fabulous with huge and various foods mixed together both of western and asian style, big salad bar, lots of mixed bread and juices, good quality and hygiene. We
re always enjoy breakfast every morning. Such a long way from the airport to the hotel, approx 45 mins but it is worthwhile to stay here without any disappointment. This is one of our best and impressive hotel. Don't miss it!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedzman_p007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear "Alisa C"

Thank you for your review. It's great to know that you were pleased with your second stay and that your boyfriend enjoyed his first with us. Certainly delightful that both of you had the opportunity to enjoy the secluded beach and our fun facilities. I am happy that you liked our Deluxe Ocean View Room and thanks for the feedback. No doubt these rooms are on top of the list of our next renovations. They do provide great views of the sea, scenic pools and its surrounding gardens. I do like your photo of the swimming pool from the balcony. Thanks for sharing! Allow me to share your observation on the communication skills of some of our associates with whom you interacted. I know we have a comprehensive English language development programme ongoing. Your comment is much appreciated and duly noted. Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Phuket soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed here on two separate occasions during our travels in Thailand. Generally, we felt the resort reminded us of a big Mexican resort in the 1990s. Here's a breakdown of our stay:

1. Rooms: Spacious and modern. As Starwood Preferred Guest members, we upgraded to a partly ocean view room that overlooked the swimming pool area during our first stay. The bathroom had a rain shower with good water pressure but there was no bath tub. The water temperature kept fluctuating from cold to hot so we were either freezing or nearly burnt to death each time we showered. We complained upon check-out but the front desk attendant either did not understand or did not care so my husband had to specifically ask her to write down our room number and have someone look into it so that the next guest would not have the same problem. For our second stay which happened about a week later, we were not automatically upgraded and was given a room with a view that backed onto the garden. There is a Starwood Preferred Guest Floor so I called front desk to ask if we could change our room to a room on the Starwood Preferred Guest Floor. After waiting for a long time on the phone, the front desk attendant stated that an upgrade to the Starwood Preferred Guest Floor is not automatic and depends on availability but that they would allow us to move our room to the Starwood Preferred Guest Floor. This really irritated me because we've always been given a room the Starwood Preferred Guest Floor without having to ask for it and without having the speech about how it is not an automatic upgrade. It felt like he was doing us a favour by moving us to the Starwood Preferred Guest Floor. But there was absolutely no difference between the room that we were originally assigned and the room on the Starwood Preferred Guest Floor. Both had exactly the same layout and interior, including a shower over the bath tub and a shower curtain. The shower curtain had a moldy smell so we had to air out the room for a few hours. Our major complaint with this room was that the design of the shower and the bath tub was such that if you showered over the bath tub, the water leaked everywhere onto the bathroom floor. There is no way to stop the water from leaking which meant that we had to constantly wipe the floor or throw towels on the floor. Our second complaint with the rooms here is that there is no coffeemaker in the rooms. There is a kettle and you are given instant coffee. What type of luxury resort provides instant coffee???

2. Beach: Private. That's about it. The beach itself is nothing to write home about. Don't bother snorkling because there is absolutely nothing in the water to see. There are beach chairs, some under shades and some not. It seemed like a lot of people woke up early to "reserve" the beach chairs for the entire day. We were lucky enough to grab a couple of chairs but not under a shade in the middle of the afternoon. But we witnessed two families fighting over who "reserved" the chairs first and the argument lasted a long time with lots of yelling. We noticed two hotel staff walking past the families arguing and neither stopped to inquire about what the problem was or bothered to even assist in resolving the issue. Oh, and there is a baby elephant that comes around on the beach so that you can take photos with the elephant.

3. Location: Excellent for those who want to stay on the resort but inconvenient for those who want to venture out and get off the resort. The hotel offers a shuttle to Patong Beach area but you have to pay for the shuttle service (which seems a bit ridiculous considering the ride is only 10 - 15 minutes) and there is no shuttle service in the afternoon so if you want to go out to Patong Beach at 2 pm, you have to arrange for a separate transportation to take you there. There is a transportation desk that will assist you in making transportation arrangements but it was still annoying to have to wait for the shuttle or pay for a separate car. We used the Le Meridien car (black Toyota Camry) to take us from the resort to Phuket Town and the one-way ride cost us 11,000 baht. We arranged for separate airport transportation on our own and we paid a few hundred baht less than the hotel's price.

4. Wi-fi: Free in the lobby area. There is a Business Center but it is located behind the left luggage desk and consists of three computers in a really cramped space and a printer that was not functioning. I've never seen a Business Center as crappy as this in a high-end hotel. Very old, outdated, smelly and claustrophobic. If you needed to print something, you had to send your materials to be printed to the front desk to get it printed. The hotel really needs to renovate this area to make it more appealing to their guests.

5. Restaurants: There are quite a few on the resort but we only tried their main restaurant where you have breakfast on a pirate theme night. We paid about 12,000 baht per person for a seafood buffet that was good but could be much better. There was plenty of seafood selection but not enough hot food selection. The entertainment provided during the dinner which consisted of dancing in pirate costumes and singing was good for children. The resort seems to be a family-friendly hotel so you'll come across a lot of children on the resort.

6. Service: Mediocre and hit and miss depending on the person you're dealing with, which was very disappointing. We had issues with the front desk on multiple occasions either because of language barrier or because they just did not understand what customer service means. Firstly, during our first stay, I accidentally left a shower scrub towel in our room. I called the hotel a few hours later to ask if housekeeping had turned it into lost & found because I wanted the to hold it until our next stay which was going to be about a week later. I had to keep calling and calling to find out that they did not have it. Secondly, we requested a late check-out because our flight out of Phuket was in the late evening. We were flatly denied the first time we asked, which was surprising because even at full capacity, the other Starwood hotels we've stayed at in Thailand at least tried to accommodate as late a check-out as possible (so maybe not 4 pm but 2 or 3 pm). I had to inquire separately at front desk and after a lot of back and forth, we were given a 2 pm check-out. They could have surely saved me some time had they just given us a 2 pm check-out in the first place!

7. Hotel grounds: Spacious and clean but outdated in some parts of the hotel like the elevator. The elevator smells of pine wood and is very small and old. Not a pleasant experience, especially in a high-end resort. There is always a security guard on duty right by the elevators in the evenings, which made us feel somewhat safe. The swimming pools are clean and fairly big with lots of space to do your own thing without having to bump into other people. Again, this is a family-friendly resort so there will be children running around and screaming.

Overall, our experience with this particular hotel was a bit underwhelming. If you want to stay in a more central place within walking distance to restaurants and shops, look at Holiday Inn or the new Novotel. If you do choose to stay at Le Meridien, hire a car and drive along the coast to visit some of the other beaches away from Patong Beach. We got a glimpse of these areas on our drive to the airport and were disappointed that we had not ventured out far enough to see the beautiful beaches and scenery outside of Patong Beach area.

If you're looking for a good massage place outside the hotel, read my review on Sweet Lemongrass.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GreenApple07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear "GreenApple07"

Warm greetings from Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. Thank you for your detailed feedback. We sincerely appreciate your time in writing and posting this review. I apologise if your recent stay did not meet your expectations and that you left with an unfavourable impression. It is a standard procedure for SPG members to be assigned rooms in a SPG floor unless the room type you booked have all been booked and occupied. I have asked our Hotel Manager to look into your concern with regards to the water temperature and the bathtub. We do appreciate you taking the time to inform our associates about this and for your concern for guests who will occupy the room after your departure.

I would like to mention that the price of the Pirates of the Andaman buffet dinner is THB 1,200 and not THB 12,000. The ride to Phuket Town could have been THB 1,100 instead of THB 11,000.

I apologise for the lapses in our service delivery. We are never proud to know that a guest left unsatisfied. I'm sure we could have done a better job - particularly with how some of our associates communicated with you. We hope you'll consider staying with us again. Please, do drop us an email: reservations.phuketbeach@lemeridien.com should you decide return to Phuket. We will be grateful for the opportunity of regaining your confidence in us and will do our utmost to provide you with a more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews