We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort
Ranked #38 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Expensive but good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We have been traveling for the past five months and we have been paying $25-$60 a night for accommodation. So approximately $110 a night was not normal practice for us. However, we enjoyed the hotel for the following reasons: 3 pools, great buffet breakfast(included in the price of the room), stunning view from our balcony, well appointed room, and excellent service from the staff. Across the street from the hotel there is a lovely walking area perfect for that early morning run or walk. We were a short walk from the beach and restaurants. The only disappointment was that the WiFi was free in a public area but not free in the rooms. This is the only place that we have stayed in SE Asia that did not have free WiFI in your room. We would suggest that management look into this matter as many travelers want to call their families from their room not in a public place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank isaacdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    338
    123
    24
    18
See reviews for
159
362
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This was our first hotel in Thailand and it was pretty excellent. We stayed in the bungalow rooms which were very comfortable. The hotel is well located in Phuket, an easy walk from lots of interesting things.

The only comment is that we booked this hotel from Australia so it was quite "expensive" compared to booking something locally (Though I'm not sure how much the same place booked from Thailand would be)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ganesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed here a week ago and the rooms are some what clean. We stayed on the 3rd "floor". The hotel is built on a hill so there is no elevators and you have to climb stairs to get to your room (there is a LOT of stairs) which does not help if you have heavy luggage.
Finally arriving in the room, the decor is quite old. The bathroom was not included in the air conditioning and had cut out blocks that directly led to the hallway outside. We had little ants crawling into our bathroom through an eroded powerpoint. After informing the staff (who supposedly later sprayed the area), we continued to have an ant problem, which the staff didn't care about. Internet in the rooms is not free however, the lobby has free wifi but it does cut out quite often.
Pros of the hotel is that the restaurant is quite good. If you choose to stay here, the thai food is delicious but stay away from the western food.
Overall, the staff weren't that friendly, the room definitely wasn't worth the price. We moved into a cheaper hotel in Patong which was vastly better than this. I wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chipmonk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here from January 1 - 6, 2012. While the rooms are clean and decent for a hotel in this class, we found that the staff could really have been more courteous and helpful. It could perhaps be the result of visiting during peak season, but we travelled to other venues in Thailand during this visit and found the staff far more helpful and polite there.

Overall - ok, but the staff (especially front office) really needs to understand the service industry is about guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Will definitely be back. The rooms were very clean, could not be faulted. The staff in the restaurant were lovely. The room staff, were not quite so nice. Breakfast was great to begin with, but then quite boring after a few days. Although the quality of the food could not be faulted. The bar at the pool side was dis organised. The staff could not make cocktails, had to wait for another staff member to come and make them. Food was also quite slow if ordering from there. Great for location for getting out and about. Shops / markets and beach within 5 mins walking. Taxi stand straight across the road. Well the stairs were a pain, but didn't mind so much as treated that as our daily exercise and and excuse to eat and drink more !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HardyCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.4 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0.2 km away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#18 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.9 km away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#67 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.5 km away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort
Address: 562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Karon
#38 Family Hotel in Karon
#43 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,586 - ₹ 7,240
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort is one of the best-valued vacation resorts in Phuket. The resort is situated at Karon beach on the hillside among the coconut groves overlooking Karon beach and Karon lagoon. We offer luxurious accommodations amid a lavish setting. You will truly enjoy seeing the sunset beyond Karon lagoon and walking along the beautiful fine sand beach of Karon beach. Resign yourself to the comfort of an exclusively appointed hillside resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phuket Ocean Hotel Karon
Best Western Karon
Karon Best Western
Phuket Best Western
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing