We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #15 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2017

My husband and I stayed here for our 1year anniversary/honeymoon and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!! They even gave us a big size heart shaped macroon and chocolates to enjoy as our honeymoon gift with a letter from management :)

We got a premium spa deluxe ocean facing room and it was absolutely amazing!!!

The resort had a nice range and variety for breakfast, the staff were all so welcoming and nice.
They have sooooo many facilities and activities for things to do you can't get bored!
We did the cooking class activity and that was enjoyable, the chef english wasn't the best but i am very much into cooking so I definitely enjoyed it and they give you a apron, a recipe book and a certificate as well which was quite cute :)
They have thai boxing classes which i warn you, it done outside, not inside the gym where the air con is haha i ended up doing it in 32degrees heat and it was killing me hahaha

Our room was nice, spacious, they had 2 double beds which they put together so you could literally fit 4 people comfortably in there, it was huge space!
The food overall at this hotel was very nice! I can't say we ate anything that we didn't like and the bartender "Ann" makes the BEST magarita's during happy hour, THE BEST!!! they weren't tooo over powering on the alcohol so you could enjoy it, though I was enjoy as many as I could for the 2 for 1 happy hour deal they have.

Overall hotel, the staff were all really nice and friendly to talk to and make friends with, they were very prompt with the room service deliveries, they food was nice and the alcoholic drinks were yummy!
The only down fall I found was our hotel may need a little bit of a revamp or as the paint looked like it was pealing, our spa had one of the panels on the outside that was loose and had fallen off, our sliding door to the bathroom by the toilet wouldn't stay closed and kept reopening.
Otherwise a very enjoyable holiday and property :)

Room Tip: A spa deluxe room or pool plunge pool is amazing to use
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yashwaniarohaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Yashwaniarohaw,

Thank You for your delightful description of your anniversary at Centara Grand Beach Resort, Phuket! We are honoured that you chose to celebrate such a momentous occasion with us.

We are thrilled that you have had an amazing vacation and thank you for sharing your detailed review with future travellers. I have personally shared your compliment to Khun Ann and we are proud to share your feedback with everyone at the hotel.

It is great to read all your comments and we are certain future travelers will appreciate all your comments and insight you have given.

Thank you for making Centara Grand Beach Resort, Phuket as your hotel of choice. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Steffie Honadi
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 2,728 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

We spent 14 nights here as a family of 3 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had originally booked a Deluxe Pool room but when we arrived they offered us a good deal to upgrade to a pool villa. The villa was stunning with more than enough space for the 3 of us.
The hotel itself is well cared for and there are plenty of staff about to cater for all of the guests. It's a step from the pool on to the beach which offers some great views.
There are plenty of restaurants at the hotel but they are obviously more expensive than those off site. However, the food in them is really good. We stayed on a bed & breakfast deal and the buffet breakfast was huge! All of the bread was baked on site and was lovely!
It's only a 10 minute stroll along the beach to get into Karon town and it was only 300 baht for a tuk tuk. You can get a tuk tuk for about 500 baht if you want to venture into Phuket itself.
What really made our visit was the staff. They were really friendly and would stop and have a chat with you each day. Our son spent lots of time in the pool and at the cliff and the guys there were great with all of the kids.
We had a few issues whilst we were there but the management team took responsibility and they were resolved straight away.
We left on the morning of the 28th August during a severe downpour and in our haste to load our luggage our son left two of his teddy bears that he'd had since he was born. Unfortunately we didn't realise this until we were on the plane to Dubai. Once we had landed I contacted the hotel to see if they had found the items and luckily they had. After many emails to Siriporn Poonsin, the duty manager, I am happy to say that they arrived here today much to the joy of our son!
I can't thank her enough as our son thought that he had lost them and was heartbroken.
I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank DeanoW70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear DeanoW70,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at the Centara Grand Beach Resort, Phuket with us and other travelers. It has been a pleasure having you and family as our guests.

We are thrilled to receive your amazing feedback and delighted to know that our team members, especially Khun Siriporn played a special role to make your stay memorable. I will be sure to let them how much of an impact they made on your experience.

Thank you again for your feedback. If your future holiday travel plans should bring you back to Thailand, we all would be delighted to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Centara Grand Beach Resort, Phuket.

Kind regards and wishes,

Steffie Honadi
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Nice and spacious resort, suitable for family especially with kids. We stayed here for 4 days with our 5 years old daughter. The resort is well maintained with excellent pool facilities, and staff are generally well trained and provide good service.

But when it comes to food, the choices are limited, over-priced and generally of sub-par standard. We ate at the Italian restaurant during lunch and the ordered pizza and pasta, both of which are very plain in taste. We also tried ordering burger and fries by the pool another afternoon and the meat from the burger was hard and dry. The buffet breakfast is more consistent in standard and offers a wide variety of options as of any 5 stars resort.

Location-wide, we have to walk about 20 minutes to reach the nearest shop/restaurant in Karon town. Booking of taxis services and day trips at the resort reception is also over-priced.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank TeckBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear TeckBoo,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Centara Grand Beach Resort, Phuket and for having taken your valuable time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry to hear the foods were not up to the standard you have come to expect from us. I have personally addressed this with our Executive Chef for improvements.

It is great to learn that the buffet breakfast, pool facilities & our staff found your appreciation.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope that you choose to stay with us again at Centara Grand Beach Resort, Phuket on your next trip to Thailand.

Warm Regards,

Steffie Honadi
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Family of 4. 2 adults and 2 children aged 12 and 14... 6 nights, 7 days, off-peak between 31st August and 7th September 2017. Arrived at 10 pm due to late flight arrival and 1;30 transfer time in heavy traffic from Phuket International Airport.

Considering the hotel is a 5* 'Grand' Resort, our first impressions were decidedly average. The hotel is HUGE, but had only 2 check-in staff on duty for the flood of guests arriving and checking out. The Lobby, while very spacious, was not Air-Conditioned and guests were left sweltering in the humid environment waiting for attention. Despite the booking confirmation, when we were finally attended to, the staff seemed to be surprised by our arrival and took long time to raise a host of complicated paperwork which all needed to be re-done the following morning since the rather impatient staff member who checked us in failed to explain any of the important details, but simply slapped the forms on the counter and instructed me to sign here, here, here, here, here, here and here. And on this one here, and here. It later transpired that signatures were required for each member of the party, including the children. Having advised me she needed a 'copy' of my credit card for unexpected 'extras', she then went on to block 20,000 Baht from my credit card without advising me or asking my approval. This only came to my attention because I have a direct SMS message link to my bank via my mobile phone which advises me of any transactions. The phone chirped while we were still stood at the counter and when immediately challenged about it, the staff member said it was common practice and it would be 'refunded within 2 weeks'. When I asked for a copy of the transaction slip, she was unable to provide one and claimed that the machine was 'not working' which was clearly nonsense, since my bank located 5,000 miles away had just recorded a transaction of 20,000 Thai Baht from it.
After a high-pressure sales pitch to 'upgrade' (swap) the two Pool Suite rooms we had specifically chosen and paid for, to a single, 2-bedroom suite at almost DOUBLE the cost (ie: it was not a complimentary upgrade), and a great deal of tutting and sighing from the check in staff when we declined, we were eventually taken to our rooms which were about as far away from the reception area as was possible to be in the resort. The rooms were clean, well laid out, well stocked and (we suspected) recently made up with the AC running and all lights on. The safes in both rooms didn't work and an engineer was called to replace internal batteries which were done immediately. One of the safes continued to fail and be 'now repaired' every day for the next 5 days causing significant irritation and inconvenience to us and the hotel staff, until they eventually replaced it the day before we departed. The new one worked normally. The location of the hotel is ideal. The following morning brought us beautiful weather but sadly, did not bring us a beautiful view of the ocean, which is exactly what we had been lead to believe we were paying for based on the pictures shown on the room selection stage of the Centara online booking website.
The other main reason for our choice of rooms, was the private plunge pools. Unfortunately, again in spite of the enticing sales pitch of the online website justifying the extra room cost, the pools in both rooms were completely unusable for the duration of our stay due to the excessively cold temperature of the water. While my children were able to spend in excess of 6 hours per day in both the communal swimming pools and the Sea, they spent less than 20 seconds in one of the plunge pools, and vowed never to get into it again. With hindsight, the (much) cheaper rooms which were the same size and therefore with much more useable floor space would have been a much better and significantly better value option.
The beach and communal pool and pool-bar area which was no more than a five minute walk from anywhere in the resort was kept beautifully clean, as was the sea water. The waves on the day of our arrival may be a little intimidating to younger children, and the current was especially very strong and dangerous on the days when the sea was rough. There is a rather officious life-guard station immediately in front of the hotel, but this is controlled by the Thai government, not the hotel staff, and they were often rather rude to hotel guests and seemed to have little actual understanding of exactly where the strong currents were and often put 'do not swim' flags in areas that were very calm and safe, and 'swim with caution' flags in extreme rip current ares that were very dangerous. Red flags were almost always posted around the time they wanted to finish work for the day. In the 6 days we were in the resort, we never saw a life guard get his feet wet.
The Buffet Breakfast in the resort was outstanding, catering to all nationalities and all tastes, and especially child-friendly. We ate in both the other two restaurants in the resort and I could not fault the excellent quality of the food nor the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. However, the value for money was not good. The cost of a 2-course meal in the on-sight Italian restaurant for 4 people, consisting mainly of pasta or pizza dishes with ice-cream based deserts and including a couple of drinks each, came to around 5,000 Baht. An almost identical meal of very similar quality including drinks in a local restaurant nearby came to less than 1,500 Baht.
The resort has a 'Lazy-River' feature which was very well done, very clean and much enjoyed by adults and children alike, and, combined with the excellent children's entertainment club makes the resort VERY suitable for younger children though strict supervision should be employed near the Sea.
The 'Happy Hour' at the swim up pool bar was much utilised, as it almost brought the prices down to local bar equivalent, but for serious socialisers, getting out of the hotel in the evening would be an absolute must to avoid hugely overspending.
The Guest information desk in the lobby should be avoided at all costs. When asked for help/advise about a telephone number of a local dive center, the attendant lady was extremely rude and unhelpful and only interested in selling tour packages with companies the hotel has a contract with which she would earn commission on.
Further investigation of this fact revealed that we were able to book exactly the same dive package directly with the PADI centre for 60% of the Hotel offered cost.
All in all... we had a very nice holiday, in a generally nice but oversold, overvalued, overpriced and underutilised room. The food was beautiful but over-priced. The restaurant, pool and bar staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and made our stay very all the more enjoyable. This was marred by the aloof attitude and deception of the Lobby and Reception staff.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View... Don't book Pool Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 64karlosfandango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear 64karlosfandango,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and has already been shared with our front office team to improve our service.

The tour desk is managed by an external company; nonetheless we apologize if you were not satisfied with their service. All the dive companies used by the tour desk are PADI certified. The only reason why they could not fulfill your requests was because your requested to dive from a private long-tail boat.

Regarding your comments about the beach life guards posted. They are indeed employed by the local government as the beach is public. For the swimmers’ safety, they raise the red flag at 6 pm - the end of their working day.

We are glad to hear that the service and food served during breakfast and in our Italian restaurant was to your liking. It is also motivating to read your positive comments about the lazy river, direct beach access and the friendliness of our staff.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to the Land of Smiles during a future holiday.

Kind Regards,

Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We stayed 4 nights at the Luxury Pool suite, expecting a luxury suite room with sea view as advertised, but there is no sea view. The lounge and dining room are outdoor, next to the private plunge pool. Looks wow but upon sitting only for a couple of minutes, we were bitten by mosquitoes. The outdoor furniture have bad smell, I guess they never wash the furniture's covers. Not worth the suite price.

The resort itself is amazing. Beautiful and big swimming pools with water slides, jump pool, and lazy river. It is right on beatiful Karon beach, feels like a private beach. We walked to Karon town around 20 minutes along beach but we need to cross a small stream (if you walk on the road it takes longer and uphill, around 30 minutes and mind you, it is very very hot during the day). Karon town has plenty of restaurants and shops. The hotel provides a shuttle twice a day, for a fee of 50 baht to the Karon roundabout, and 100 baht to Patong per person.

Breakfast is great with many choices, but it is lots Chinese food and no traditional Thai food. It offers delicious bread and pastries, fruits, cold food, Chinese hot food including dim sum and buns, and noodle station. We also enjoyed the seafood buffet dinner which offered sashimi, fish, prawns, oysters, etc. Love the Thai dipping sauce. Restaurant staff is very friendly.

However, we were very disappointed with front desk customer service. We arranged our luggages to be collected from our room upon check-out at 6 am. At 5.50 am, staff called us and said someone will come to collect luggages in 5 minutes. My husband said, not 5 minutes but 10 minutes. The staff insisted it is 5 minutes even though he clearly mentioned that the time now is 10 minutes to 6. My husband had to argue couple of time with him about the 5 minutes difference, until my husband lose patience and told him it is 10 minutes and hang up. Why would you argue with your guest about 5 minutes? Why is so hard for you to give extra 5 minutes??? During our stay, we noticed most staff (except the restaurant staff) lacks of smile.

The hotel charges rip-off fares for taxi service. Going to Patong which is only about 7 minutes they charged 400 baht. Going to airport we were charged 1,800 baht, while the normal fare should be only around 800 baht!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Deborah77s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Deborah77s,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Centara Grand Beach Resort and for having taken your valuable time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We were disheartened to note your feedback on the outdoor furnitures, which are currently being looked into with our housekeeping teams.Please rest assured that your points will be addressed and we will look into measures to improve the overall guestroom experience. We have also investigated the staff who called you regarding the luggages and remedial action was taken. Rest assured this is not the standard of service that we are providing for.

Taxi counter is a separate entity and we have passed your comments to the concerned manager for consideration.On a positive note, I am pleased that our hotel's facilities, beach, & foods found your appreciation.

We hope that you will give us another chance to provide a more positive experience should your future holiday travel plans bring you back to Phuket.

Kind Regards,

Steffie Honadi
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.8 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,048 reviews
33.2 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.3 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 329 in Patong
6,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
1.2 km away
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
1.5 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: ₹ 7,231 - ₹ 37,261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, the five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is right on the sands at Karon Beach. The resort is backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own landscaped water park which features a meandering lazy river, waterslides, a kids’ pool with a waterslide, a cliff jumping platform, and an adults-only pool with its own pool bar. You will love the other exhilarating leisure activities on offer, including water sports (kayaking, windsurfing and sailing), snorkelling, tennis, and Muay Thai (Thai boxing). Diving can also be arranged, and there’s a fully-equipped fitness centre. Relaxation seekers will head to the award-winning Spa Cenvaree, a refuge for the senses which combines ancient healing practices that reflects Thailand’s wellbeing heritage with modern rejuvenation techniques to nurture and rebalance the body. The resort also has age-specific kids clubs, free Wi-Fi, and seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Each of the spacious rooms, suites and pool villas (49 to 209 square metres of total living space) is designed in a Sino-Portuguese décor and features a balcony or terrace with soothing views of the pools, the gardens or the sea. A number of rooms come equipped with an outdoor Jacuzzi while the suites comprise a plunge pool. Phuket International Airport is less than one hour by road from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing