We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funny for all the wrong reasons!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Ranked #53 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Funny for all the wrong reasons!”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at Sugar Palm resort a while ago when it was almost brand new, however judging by a lot of the recent reviews, not a lot has changed.

To put it simply - this place is probably the most laughable resort I have ever had the misfortune of staying at. Looking back on it, it was just an absolute joke.

Firstly, we booked on their website and got a confirmation - then when we got there, tired at the end of a long day, the man behind reception said - and I quote (I remember this as if it were yesterday!):

"You book with agent? Agent BAAAD!"
"No, I didn't book with an agent, I booked directly on your website"
"No, you book with agent, Agent Baaadd!! You lie! You book with agent!!"

This continued for about 45 minutes, and he then got on the phone to someone, passed the phone back to me, and the person on the end asked me if I wanted a room. Well, given that I was standing in the front lobby of a hotel trying to check in, I think it's fair to say that yes, I probably did want a room.

Anyway cut forward about another hour, we finally got the keys to our rooms, and the idiot behind the front desk then passed us to a security guard to show us the way. By this point I wouldn't have minded some of whatever it was he was on, as he got us completely lost, then tried to get us into rooms that weren't ours.

When we did make it to our rooms, they were quite nice - it was amusing to see a price list of things in the room that you could pay to take with you - items such as the TV, curtains, wash basin, tv remote... brilliant! But the best bit was the freshly embroidered towels placed everywhere, with "SUGAR PLAM RESORT" written all over them. Proof-reading might have been a good option before getting these made!

There is no way I would ever go back here but looking back it was rather hilarious - and I'm glad I did stay there for the night as it made the cardboard box I spent the following night in seem much nicer!

If you want a memorable stay, stay here, you certainly won't forget it! :-)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cde3879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    333
    97
    31
    31
See reviews for
114
233
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2011

On our first day, the bus driver sent us to the wrong property Sugar Palm Kata and the concierge was really unhelpful and asked my boyfriend to wait outside of the hotel. It was late at night and we were hungry and upset with the service given by Sugar Palm Kata. At last, I asked for the receptionist to provide a car and send us to Sugar Palm Karon and the concierge never offered to help us with our luggage. Worst concierge ever!!

Finally we arrived Sugar Palm Karon. It was totally different from Sugar Palm Kata. The receptionist was really friendly and they gave us an upgraded room to Pool Excess Room. Thank god I choose Sugar Palm Karon instead of the bad service of Sugar Palm Kata. Overall, Sugar Palm Karon has a great location (5 minutes to beach, F&B outlets and souvenier shop). Room was clean, mini mac in the room, Good service from housekeeping staff, pool excess room was really great. No complaint on this hotel except Laundry Bag is chargeable.

Room Tip: Get the Pool Excess Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet_0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Firstly we were really impressed with the Apple Mini Mac in our room, you can use itunes and search the internet on the TV.
The rooms were clean and fairly modern for the price. However, the tiling looks like it was done by a 10 year old.
We had a pool access room, which was really awesome but our room was missing the privacy curtains. We had to have the night curtains pulled all day for privacy from the swimmers and sunbathers.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but at the Karon Cafe around the corner, which was a third of the price and the food just as good.
Location was really good, only a short walk to the beach and shops.
Overall I recommend this hotel to the budget conscious, it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bexl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

first time visit phuket , need some place private and easy to go to the beach for rest , real rest no any activities , this place support me . nice room and nice location.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yui_napat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The hotel is much better than I expected. Not to mention its proximity to Karon beach and the restaurants along the road, the hotel room is bigger than I expected.

The room is cozy and clean, with stable free wifi network, the swimming pool is large and comfortable for swimming. The staff is nice and helpful.

Strongly recommended if you are looking for a cheap and comfortable stay in Karon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabbyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
2.8 km away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#19 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
4.2 km away
Sugar Marina Resort - Nautical - Kata Beach
0.4 km away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#97 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 km away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#63 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
3.8 km away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#29 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - ART? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - ART

Property: Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Address: 542/1 Patak Road, | Karon Beach, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Karon Beach)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#43 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,004 - ₹ 6,593
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Marina Resort - ART 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exciting new resort concept brings art into every aspect of your stay. Check out the cool eye catching sculptures and displays made from everyday hotel items that will tempt you to take a photo. But more than this, each creative piece of installation art is produced by our own team of staff whose talent goes beyond their gracious hospitality. The installation art has a stunning visual effect that will make you smile from the mighty stack of chairs on the lawn to the paintbrush towel hangers in your deluxe room. Check out the oversized staff photo gallery, huge mobile made from pencils, the upside down umbrellas display and the facilities wall full of TVs to name just a few. There are so many artistic delights to discover at Sugar Marina Resort-ART-Karon Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - ART reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Karon Hotel Karon
Sugar Palm Hotel Karon
Sugar Marina Resort - ART Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing