We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great staff”
Review of The Slate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Slate
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nai Yang
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
521 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Lovely place, great staff”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We just completed a business conference at Indigo. My room was excellent, well fitted out and comfortable. The resort itself is spread out across large attractive gardens. Architecture outside fits the location well. Rooms are a mix of industrial chic (which works OK) and Thai which works better.

They could do with a couple of more restaurant/bars with aircon as it was pretty hot and humid when we were there.

Apart from that the service was very good, although room service had a hard time working out what Laphroaig was - probably my lousy accent.

Being part of a conference most of our meals were buffet style but the choice was wide and interesting and well presented/cooked. Dinner on the beach was pretty spectacular.

Nai Yang beach is right next to the resort which has it's own section well catered for with sun lounges, umbrellas, bar etc.

The beach is pretty, typically Thai - about 5 km's long of clean sand, relatively shallow and with the prerequisite fishing boats.

The beach restaurants and bars were pretty typical but friendly people and not overly commercial like Patong.

Great spot for a holiday.

Room Tip: I stayed in building O which was both close to the beach and the horizon pool which was great for la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn&MarkfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,478
    737
    222
    81
    46
See reviews for
762
2,018
91
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. From the moment you walk through the main entrance, you get the wow factor. It is unique in the way that it is set out, every area of the hotel is a little adventure. About 10 minutes from the airport which is very handy, and although you see the planes, you cant hear them.
The standard room is not big by any standard, but it is furnished in a very rustic way. Very comfortable beds, standard size bathroom with all sorts of fancy touches. Only thing I think that was disappointing was lack of wardrobe space. Apart from that, the room was a big a feature as any other part of the hotel. The pavillion pool rooms were exceptionally well furnished.
The Tin Mine restaurant is where breakfast is served, and they have a variety of things to eat, as you would expect in any quality hotel, they will make things to order if you fancy something not on offer.
Black Ginger restaurant was where our group started a black tie event, very subtle class about this place, food was exceptional.
There are a few nice bars around the hotel, but I think the best bar is the swim-up bar in the main pool, as 4-6 is happy hour, and the cocktails are very generous. The main pool is reasonably sized and part of it is like an infinity pool, which just adds to the class of this place.
Hotel is right next to the beach, about a 10 second walk from the back end of the hotel, although it will probably take 10 minutes to get from one end of the hotel to the other, that's if you don't get lost. My advice would be to go to the lobby and get a golf buggy! Staff are always happy to give you a lift around the hotel.
All in all, very impressive, I will definitely stay here again. If you want to be wowed, then send stay here, if they are looking for party town, send them somewhere else as it is about 40mins in a tuk-tuk to Patong.
If you have any questions, call me at DialAFlight or message me.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to the next grade up, the balcony rooms are definitely worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron_DAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Byron_DAF,

Thank you for your review and eye-for detail. Indeed "every area of the hotel is a little adventure" as you have mentioned. We do hope to welcome you again. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Don´t know how many nights I spent in hotels in Asia - both on business and holiday. Must say that Indigo Pearl have the most comfortable beds in Thailand (probably top in the world as well). I bought their madrass and brought it back home - it is like sleeping on whiped cream......
Indigo is not only about sleeping like a Princess. I just adore the design - everytime I go there there is a new detail to take in. The mix of rust and silk, raw surfaces and flowerarrangements to die for.
I can honestly recomend this resort to almost anyone. It is perfect for couples - all ages, but also for families. Having such large areas within the resort it is never crowded anywhere. Two pools only for adults (makes the couples happy that want a more quite and relaxed atmosphere), One big poolarea with sep kidspool for all families that does not need to feel that they dirstub anyone. Beautiful beachclub and lots of local Thai outlets just on your doorstep.
And yeah only five minutes from the airport (no disturbing noices I promise) it makes a perfect place to start or end your holiday.

A fair warning - if you expect the "normal" Thai five star all gold n glitter and staff in Thaisilkdresses - think again. Indigo Pearl is nothing like that!

Enjoy
Lin

PS Don´t forget to prebook Sunday brunch - it is a must

Room Tip: ask for a Pearl bed suite with the bath tub on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Lin,

Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated on your acknowledgment. Indeed we are different and try to provide a great experience to all our guests with different needs. We do hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had booked a Premium Pearl Bed Suite mid last year for our stay between 19-24 February. Our airport pick up went smoothly and were greeted with some iced tea while we completed the check in formalities, unfortunately we were then told that we had been downgraded as the hotel was fully booked and our room type was not available and apparently could not be refunded as we had booked through Agoda.

We were offered meals each night as compensation which we accepted but in hindsight wished we had been more assertive, we were just too tired after our flight and wanted to get to our room. However the meals were limited to Black Ginger or Tin Mine only.

We were later able to exchange one of the meals for a spa treatment which was fantastic.

The room we were provided was well appointed and of a decent size but we were still dispointed that it was not as nice as what we had booked. There was no outdoor bath and the room was smaller but it was on the end of the building and had a comfotable sized balcony with a view over the main pool.

The room was well designed and had numerous small touches that would have made it a fantastic room had we not been expecting more. The only issue we had was not being able to work out ho to have the light in the bathroom on while all the other lights in the room were off. It seemed it could not be on in the bathroom without the light above the bed being on.

Once we had gotten past the initial hiccup the rest of the stay was fantastic.

The staff were all extremely friendly and the Spa was an amazing experience. Things like the turn down service and extremely efficient houskeeping more than made up for the initial issues we had. Sao and Tien in the spa should commended for their fantastic service.

The breakfast buffet had more than enough options to keep us satisfied for 5 days and dinner each night was always enjoyable but we would have preferred to try some more of the local beach options.

Overall I would be more than happy to stay again but am still not sure why we were downgraded if we had booked so far in advance. The food, drinks and spa were all of a high quality but are priced significanly higher than what is available outside the hotel. Black Ginger is worth it for one night at least but I wouldn't eat in the hotel every night if we were paying for the meals.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My first impression of the reception was utter shock am I really in a 5*star resort or a backpackers lodge its one big mess and stuffy, then u sit and wait for attendance they take our passports and get all the information wrong on the form. The staff just look tired and worn out nothing chic about this resort. She takes us to our pavillion room in the K block the grounds are worn out and tired I think they should get a landscape consultant to zen the garden it just looks dry and lacks the thai feeling. We put a dnd sign on the door and at 8 the maid service decide to clean the room. I've stayed in so many 5* and diamond hotels and boutiques indigo pearl is just a middle class resort isolated. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone who is well travelled and likes the finer things in life.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rawahi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice, Management at The Slate, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Rawahi83,

Sad to hear your experience at our resort, rather surprised. Indigo Pearl is certainly 5 star with bold luxury provided the guests have an acknowledgement and appreciation of fine art. Highly recommend while choosing boutique hotels to do a thorough research on the resorts features before booking. Kind Regards, Indigo Pearl team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Yang
7.7 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
33.2 km away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
17.6 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
12.3 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
22.3 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slate

Property: The Slate
Address: Nai Yang Beach & National Park | 116 Moo 1 Sakhu, Thalang, Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Indigo Pearl)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Sakhu > Nai Yang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nai Yang
#1 Spa Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nai Yang
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nai Yang
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,412 - ₹ 36,525
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slate 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in its own private paradise adjacent to unspoiled Nai Yang Beach and Phuket Airport. A Bill Bensley design masterpiece and a member of Design Hotels, The Slate manifests an avant-garde expression of Phuket heritage, its rich culture and traditions with bold design and fearless imagination. A place where family legacy meets raw design, industrial beauty interrupts with unexpected elements. The all-suite property offers 177 accommodation choices, 7 luxuriously designed Pool Villas, 8 restaurants and bars, 3 outdoor pools, beach club, art gallery, fitness studio, tennis courts, 'Tin Box' kids club, award-winning Coqoon Spa, conference facilities and Thai cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Slate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Pearl Nai Yang
Indigo Pearl Phuket
The Slate Phuket/Nai Yang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing