We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“safe bet!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rupin River View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sangla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rupin River View
Ranked #4 of 10 Sangla B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“safe bet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

it was a last minute plan to stay at the hotel after thankfully giving sangla the skip ... n was real glad having done so!
While rakcham was itself a relevation ... Rupin river view made the stay even more memorable.
Its the only hotel at rakcham n yes they dont monopolise on this fact.located bang at the entry of the rakcham village with the baspa flowing right below it ... couldn't ask for a better location than this with every room giving a lovely view of the entire valley n the snow-capped mountains.the restaurant is so located that it does offer you some even better all-round views than the rooms!
Food is the strong point of the hotel..considering the remote location of the village n can safely order anything..b it veg or non-veg.let the cook have his time n what you'll get is fresh n homely cooked food.
As a tip..will suggest fellow travellers to consider booking d room on the same level as d restaurant...as the rooms r just large enough to accomodate 2ppl ... you will have to go to the restaurant for your food n tea as well!
With no tv in d rooms ...which is a blessing..restaurant is the only place which has a tv set ..enough to keep some people glued to it.
But the restaurant is a nice n cozy place to b with the corner seat giving you d best all-round views..which made me occupy the same seat throughout my entire stay.
Will definitely recommend d hotel to anyone opting for rakcham...with its positives weighing much more than its negatives,which r hardly any!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    53
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
74
14
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
284 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 718 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

'River view' is a misnomer. The River Baspa here is a mere trickle, or so it was in April. The hotel really ought to be named Rupin Mountain View, and a glorious view of snow capped mountains at that.

The Rupin is located at Rakcham, a small village approximately halfway between Sangla and Chhitkul.

All rooms overlook a splendid range of mountains towering over the Baspa valley. The view is so marvellous that one could spend hours just looking out at the stunningly beautiful panorama.

We had booked on the phone a few hours ahead, though in season it is better to book well in advance as this is the only decent accommodation available in Rakcham. Naresh Jishtu the proprietor , greeted us on arrival and showed us our room which was clean and reasonably large with picture windows and a balcony, though it was too freezing cold to sit out there during our stay! Even the bathroom window afforded an excellent view of the mountains.

We requested and were provided with a heater which was not at all effective being a mere 400W, with a freezing draft seeping in through improperly sealed doors and windows. However the two 4kg quilts in the room ensured a warm and cozy night.

Though there was a proper geyser in the bathroom, the flow from the hot water faucet was low. Another con was frequent power outage in the evening. Though Naresh ji said it was not the norm, the presence of several solar panels in the village opposite seemed to suggest otherwise.

Naresh-ji apologetically said that this year the winter was prolongued, normally it should not be this cold in April.

Meals were delicious, served piping hot and cooked to our preference. Naresh-ji suggested that we cross the river and take a short walk on the opposite bank which also led to glaciers running off the mountains. We took his advice and enjoyed the outing. Later, we explored the old village of Rakcham with its wooden houses and temples just across the road from the Rupin.

The Rupin River View can not be beaten for its magnificent views. It is reasonably priced and a good choice to spend a few days exploring the region. Getting there though is murderous with horrendous roads, if at all they can be deemed 'roads'. When we phoned to book, we had asked Naresh ji about the road condition as we were coming in from Sarahan. He said that the road was good which was a blatant falsehood. When we jokingly confronted him with this, he nonchalantly proclaimed that the roads were much worse earlier than they were now and hence he said they were good!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gita-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed two nights in Rupin RIver View Rakcham; The location of this hotel is just awesome. The view from balcony & dining hall is unforgettable. Mr. Naresh Jishtu takes every possible care to keep his guests happy. I would like to give a special mention about food there. Everything we tasted there was delicious. Frankly speaking, the taste & quality of food was beyond my expectation at that high altitude remote place. Room amenities could be a little better. But definitely you can not expect luxury at this kind of places. Overall it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank subhomoy_anubrota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

I've stayed for three days at this hotel and the experience has been very memorable.

This is the only hotel-like property in Rakchham, with proper dining place. Here are some pros and cons:

Pros:
* Excellent view over the river and valley, especially from the restaurant.
* Restaurant serves some good meals - particularly the Indian options at reasonable prices.
* Staff was humble but hospitable.
* The hotel has two wings - the new one and old one. Old one has charm as the building and walls are made out of wood, as opposed to the new one which looks like concrete. We stayed at the old wing, the corner triple room which didn't get too cold in the morning like outside was.
* Rooms are equipped with geysers where you can get hot water 24hrs (if there is electricity, that is).
* Rooms on the new wing rooms have balcony overlooking the valley.
* There were several English-language books in the restaurant making it a good place to chill out for a while.

Cons:
* Although we didn't stay, rooms on the new wing looked they could get cold but I may be wrong.
* Menus and all instructions were written in English, but staff's English skill is pretty basic (well, not many people in this region speaks English so can't complain).

All in all, I would still want to come back to this place. Rakchham is a very laid-back village with an amazing scenary, and the hotel is very relaxing. It could get very cold in the summer though, as it is located around 3000 meters above sea level.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sushimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

My first visit to this place "Rupin River View" at Rakchham was in June, 2010 with friends. I was so charmed with this place that when I decided to revisit this Sangla-Chhitkul area of Himachal with my parents in October, 2010, I reselected this without hesistation.
Sangla is a very common staying place for tourists and Rakchham comes in the midway between Sangla and Chhitkul and much less accepted one.
The first view of "Rupin River View" at Rakchham will not be very impressive, but the moment one enters the rooms, a magical world unveils. Sufficiently spacious clean rooms, fairly large bathroom with running hot-water and a small balcony hanging over the garden of apples and vegetables, and now, .......raise your eyes - the source of the the sound that had welcome you ever since you entered the room. was right in front of you. The youthful Baspa river. There is still more - the valley with colorful crops, glaciers, snow-capped mountains what else do you need? As with such remote places, the fitness centre will be walking through the valleys not gym, children will run in the valley, climb rocks, collect flowers but there will be no artificially arranged park.
The restaurant serves fresh and tasty food with a still better natural view. It was surprising how efficiently the food is managed in such a remote place. The only problem could be climbing the stairs to the restaurant. This is a general trend in Kinnaur - wherever you go, the gap between two steps is always much more than we are used to. Never mind, if you have problem with climbing, room-service is available. However, if the hotel is very crowded (as in June-July) you will need to place the order sufficiently long before.
The review remains incomplete if I do not mention the names of Mr. Naresh Jistu and Mr. Jitendra - the pillars of this place who were ever helping for us. The service and public relation both are superb. They also arrange interesting trekkings for interested groups.
The best thing about this place is its position associated with a very good service. If you wish to have a very quite time, simply sit in the balcony with a cup of coffee/tea and a book, listen to Baspa's music and read or, watch the life by Baspa's side. or, just cross the river, walk through the valley, through small streams, fields - an ideal place for meditation. If you are adventurous enough, walk through the simply mesmerizing road to Chhitkul. If you have a car you can drive there too but, while returning just get down from the car and walk back to have a memorable journey. Or, talk to Mr. Jistu and Jitendra for a short trekking.
My sister is again going back to this same place this October and I shall select the same place when I will visit this area. In June-July you will have really snow-capped peaks surrounding you and in September-October you will see bright blue sky, red apples. Now what is your preference?

Room Tip: Best to contact them early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saswatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sangla
0.0 km away
Krish Rauni
Krish Rauni
#7 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
9.2 km away
Hotel Madhu
Hotel Madhu
#3 of 10 in Sangla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
5.6 km away
Kinner Camp Sangla
Kinner Camp Sangla
#1 of 9 in Sangla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Kinner Villa
Kinner Villa
#1 of 6 in Kalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rupin River View? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rupin River View

Property: Hotel Rupin River View
Address: Village Rakcham, Sangla 172106, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Sangla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sangla
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,000 - ₹ 1,300
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel Rupin River View Sangla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing