We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rother Valley Country Park
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Walking and gazing

This place is really great if you want a good walk or you want to observe the bird life. Well laid... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Graham C
,
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Lovely country park

I've not been to this park for many years and went this weekend for the running festival. It's a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
cazbatt
,
Barnsley, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 520 reviews
  
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
228
177
57
31
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
228
177
57
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water sports bike ride blue badge holders country park dog poo craft shop mini train nature reserve walk round the lake dog walking great walk water skiing feed the ducks adventure playground plenty of space small cafe play ground
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Had a good walk around the lake. It's all wheelchair friendly and about a one and a quarter miles all round. When your done there's a coffee shop or a ice cream as a reward for yourself. Plenty off water bowls for your four legged friend.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Antony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Took the grandchildren here in the summer school break, £5.00 parking/entrance fee allows the kids to play in the park all day. Huge lakes area with a variety of activities to do however not cheap and not so suitable for their particular age group, would need to be accompanied on the obstacle course and paddle boards etc. Mini train (fee payable) takes you on a short ride up to the animals where you can purchase a bag of feed for them - these places know how to up the revenue and have the public pay to feed their animals (be careful of the llama it spits much to my husbands disgust) The area is huge with lots of places to picnic (highly recommend) and play ball games with the kids lots of people on cycles too which is a good way of getting around. I would recommend this place to families but take food and drink and activity stuff.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank annkW3246OE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

It's a lovely park but can be costly i.e. Parking and hiring cycles and it's a shame that you do have to pay £5.00 just to park a walk

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Welshwizard60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

I visited Rother Valley Country Park with my 7 year old step son to play footgolf. It was raining really hard but we had a fantastic time. The attendant was helpful, informative, and gave clear instructions as to what is expected of us. We played for about an hour and had great fun. I wouldn't recommend the sport to anyone with children younger than this age, but we had great fun. It was great value for money, and the parking was free.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

First impressions stick, for us this was being charged £5 to park by a grumpy attendant, then finding nowhere near the centre to park. There was plenty of space, but as there were no actual marked spaces cars were just abandoned everywhere taking up a lot of room.

The cafe served anythinf you wanted, as long as you wanted chips. To be fair, they were nice chips! But a bit more variety would be appreciated.

The paths are quite narrow in places considering how busy it is, so expect to get up close to bikes and wind up stepping in muddy/boggy grass to pass people. Also in other places the pathway is in fact a public road with little to slpo the traffic so I would be very wary of brining young kids.

There was a pair of events on the day we went: dog trials and a boat racing event. The dog trials were fun to watch, but they took up pretty much all the good green land. So much for anyone hoping to have a run around with the kids.

The boats were noisy and didn't seem to be doing the wildlife much good. It's certainly not something I would choose to watch, and in a place like this ruins any sense of peace or nature!

Whilst it's not awful, it just doesn't compare well to other similar places nearby. I would sooner visit these than revisit here.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank SummerJobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews