We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
2 reviews
“Stay here.”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I loved this hotel. I loved the staff (Diana, Catalina and Brahmian especially). I loved the location. I loved the housekeeping. I loved the sloth in the tree. I loved the food. I loved the beach. I've been to lots of places (Virgin Islands, Cayman, Turks and Caicos, Mexico, Florida, France, England, etc.) and I can say the charm of the hotel and sincerity of the staff is rare. Unlike some other places I've been, people in Puerto Viejo seem to not mind tourists stomping around in their town, if anything they seem glad you're there. They only thing I didn't like were the poor stray dogs but that has nothing to do with Le Cameleon. A piece of advice; if you're a city person like me, do yourself a huge favor and remember you're not in a mad rush. Does it matter if your beer comes in 1 minute or 5? Nope. So stay here, relax, take a load off, breathe, smile and enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    143
    60
    33
    26
See reviews for
138
309
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2012

- delicious food
- comfortable rooms
- breathtaking surrounding
- staff helpful and kind (and equipped with a good sense of humor) ;-)
= I highly recommend this place if you`re looking for an extraordinary & cosy place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamboo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

If you think you're going to get a 'five star' hotel like in the states, you're going to be dissapointed. That said, if that's your reason for going to Puerto Viejo, you probably need to check why you're coming here in the first place.
The hotel is expensive but miles better than anything else on the coast -- this is where affluent Ticos go to when they come out here. The service, especially in the restaurant, was levels above anything else we ate at during our stay. Their wi-fi actually works well, their beach is actually somewhat private and the rooms are perfect for the surroundings.
If you want to come out to PV and get some pampering, this is the place. One tip - their prices are drastically higher during peak times, you'll save a ton if you're flexible.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelsaremyjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel would like to believe it is a five star hotel--but is in fact a two and a half star at most, at a five star price. We have stayed at hotels of this caliber for a third the price. (And you can rent bicycles for $10/day to add insult to the price of the lodging). It does have two very fine amenities, and only two: the relatively secluded and quiet beachfront (across the street from the hotel) and Diana, who does pretty much everything that gets done at the hotel by herself, and with a smile. She makes the experience worthwhile against all odds. If she isn't there, don't go. The owners who live abroad at least know who to hire and keep their clients from screaming about the price. Thank you Diana!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eflorian, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Receive a warm welcome from Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel In Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica.
I wanted to thank you for sharing your valuable comments with us from your experience in your hotel. We appreciate your good comments regarding our proffesional and courteous staff and our beautiful Beach Club. Our commitment and efforts are to exceed our guests expectations with our hospitality. The hotel offers many activities including: local tours, special events like full moon party, live concerts, Ecoshops, romantic dinners at the beach, Beach BBQs, yoga, movie nights and others that complement with the natural beauty of Caribe Sur. In case of a future vsit, I would be honor to arrange your trip and coordinate your stay from start to finish making sure you are treated properly and have an unforgettable experience in our Hotel.
Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had two nights here to recover from jetlag and get our bearings in the country. A beautiful hotel, arranged around a pool, with grounds full of tropical plants. Large room with balcony, great bathroom, comfy bed. Fairy lights guide you to the restaurant in the evenings. Across the road there is a beach club running down to the Caribbean sea, with day beds and hammocks, and its own resident sloth settled high in a palm tree. Friendly and helpful staff, who couldn't do enough for you.

Room Tip: We had a corner room upstairs which avoided passing hotel residents, and gave us an outlook on two s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaEdinburghUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
5.2 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.4 km away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
20.8 km away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel

Property: Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Address: Across the Street From Beach, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,205 - ₹ 24,672
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel offers upscale beach accommodations within the tropical forest of Puerto Viejo, Limon. The 23 Rooms sit around the pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens, across the street from its Beach Club. The all-white minimalist rooms are decorated with a touch of bright colours and have all the comfort expected in order to have a restful night after your day at the beach or for your afternoon nap after touring the region. All the rooms feature A/C, Satellite TV, WiFi, Rain Shower, Mini Bar, phone, Ipod/Iphone docking station and Yves Rocher amenities. You have a choice of King size, Queen size or two Full size beds. With its laid back attitude and Caribbean lifestyle, Puerto Viejo has it all: long walks on the pristine beaches, exotic flora and fauna in a wildlife refuge. Ask our tour desk about our tour options ranging from snorkeling or diving among the many reefs, world-class surfing ,kayaking horseback ridding, deep sea fishing, zip lining, cultural visits to indigenous communities and more. Should you prefer to hang around the hotel, we offer private yoga classes, Spa treatments in our 'tree-house' Spa, Nunu gastronomic restaurant, lap pool and cool water Jacuzzi, reading/lounging areas surrounded by wildlife and of course La Sula Sea Lounge with its day-beds, hammocks, lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service right on Cocles Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing