We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Return to the Kata Country House” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kata Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kata Country House
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Return to the Kata Country House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Making our fifth trip to Phuket, we decided to choose the KCC again. It´s not a luxurious giant hotel, instead it´s quite small, lush and cozy surroundings. The standard of the rooms is good, not great. The staff is very serviceminded and friendly! In fact, one of the cleaning ladies tood a look at our three-year old son, pointed on a wooden bungalow and said; "didn´t You stay there a while back?" That´s correct, we were there together with my parents-in-law 15 months earlier. This is why we choose smaller hotels like this! A mory familiar athmosphere!

The breakfast is quite good, I lack some beans in tomatosauce and some youghurt, but that´s about it! The food in the restaurant is very good, indeed!

There´s two pools and plenty of sunbeds. Perfect if You need to take a day-off! The smaller pool had a higher degree of chlorinated water. This was probably because of all of the children choose this pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarsHKRuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    123
    55
    11
    24
See reviews for
79
124
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This was our first trip to Phuket although our 8th in Thailand. Phuket's reputation never really attracted us, but thought we would try.
Kata beach seemed like the best option, a lovely bay still relatively low-key. Kata Country House had some good reviews and looked lovely on the pictures.
Well, I have to say it was EVEN BETTER IN REAL LIFE. The grounds and setting are simply stunning with well maintained gardens and beautiful little touches, like the thatched shower by the pool.
There are 2 pool areas, all surrounded by trees and lots of sun loungers, so no fighting for beds. There is a little restaurant/bar next to the pool, and the swim-up bar is a real treat for sipping your Singhas!
Ours was a ground-floor deluxe room, right in front of the pool (10 steps away!!!). I'm not really sure what the difference between Deluxe or Standard, they looked pretty similar from outside.
The rooms all come with a terrace space equipped with table and chairs to chill out on or chat to your neighbours, as well as a clothes/towel dryer (very important but often overlooked!). A nice additional touch was the umbrella they provide outside each room and the beach towels they lend.
The room itself was very big, spotlessly clean. They cleaned it efficiently every day by the time we finised breakfast and it smelt gorgeous, not sure what product they used! Good water pressure in the shower and efficient hot water system.
Location wise, it is slap bang in the middle of Kata beach. It's a 7 minute leasurely walk to the beach, but right next to all the restaurants. The breakfast was ok, buffet style, quite a lot of choice. I am not a breakfast fan anyway, and it is included in the price, so can't complain.
The food at the hotel was the nicest I had in Phuket, which is in general a watered-down version of Thai food to cater for the Russians.
I honestly cannot fault the place, it was just so peaceful and relaxing amongst the madness and crudeness of Phuket.
Definitely worth it for a more chilled out experience rather than staying in a run of mill type, souless hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room in front of the pool or as far back as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BarcelonaBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed here for a week leading up to New Years 2012. We got upgraded to a cute little villa overlooking their lake- the hotel wraps around little paved paths and greenery and gives a sense of privacy to each of the villas. Very clean, included breakfast buffet which was all right your standard Asian/Western brekkie buffet. But could walk to the beach, all the restaurants, markets- just what you want. Staff were extremely helpful in organising and recommending the best tours. Very good quality for very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue-soliaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

stayed here in january last year 2011, found it quiet and friendly, excelent bfast, and walking distance to most every thing, only down is the wall of club med bit off putting but you get used to it. would reccomend staying here.

Room Tip: we stayed in the rooms at the front but all looked great , pool rooms definetly worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilocoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed at the Kata Country House in January 2012 and found it to be great. Our "room" was a complex of two very comfortable bedrooms that shared extremely well laid facilites. The comfortable and hot shower, large sink set in a large shelf, and toilet, were each in a separate room, making sharing the two bedroom one bath complex with our adult children not only easy but also wonderful. We also enjoyed a private porch with table and chairs that was very comfortable for the four of us, and even a picnic table outback. The beds were very comfortable. I am surprised to read other tourists comments about tattered sheets and towels, as that was not our experience at all. The room was kept very clean and fully serviced everyday. The restaurant was good and a very pleasant place to have breakfast in particular. The wireless service in the restuarant was excellent. In fact we streamed a sporting event we couldn't miss live in the restaurant and didn't miss a play! Note wireless service is not available in the rooms. The environment of the hotel is really nice. The plants and pools are really nice, and there is so much interesting stuff to look at everywhere you look. There is substantial variety in the plants, buildings and natural environment as you walk around the hotel, which makes it feel a little less hotelly and more homey. We enjoyed the location, as it was quiet and really a very pleasant environment when you want to be quiet (sleeping, eating, taking a break) and within walking distance of everything in Kata when you want to be out and about. This combination was perfect for us. The hotel staff arranged a car rental for us for part of the time so that we could explore the rest of the island a bit on our own. The staff gave us good advice on where to go. The car was afforadable - especially as an option for a family of four - and good. The staff were great! Everyone we interacted with was cheerful, professional, and very helpful. All spoke English well, and some very well. We would definitely stay here again if we are ever lucky enough to get back to Thailand! And I would recommend the place to my friends.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank 573Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.5 km away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 km away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#28 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.3 km away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#41 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
#95 of 131 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 km away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#42 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.6 km away
Natalie Resort
Natalie Resort
#37 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Country House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Country House

Property: Kata Country House
Address: 82 Kata Road | Tambon Karon, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kata Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,075 - ₹ 4,906
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Kata Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Country House Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Country Hotel
Kata Country House Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing