We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unrecommendable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unrecommendable”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I cant understand all the other recommendations for this hotel. From arrival to departure I was shocked at the poor service and facilities and attitude from this hotel.

Let me look at the positives first. The beach is beautiful and the grounds are nice and there is plenty of choice for swimming in the different pools. That's as good as it gets.

The staff are mostly unfriendly with many not making eye contact or smiling when passing you--very unlike the Thailand I have seen in many previous trips. There seemed to be no interest in guests, no attempt to engage or even say hello.

The hotel is old, has not been maintained well and the rooms are dark, dingy, and for all the rooms I saw, unclean.

We had problems in every restaurant we went to, either with poor service, unfriendly staff, or food that was not up to standard.

I can find no reason to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Sgtraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,238
    1,228
    376
    141
    99
See reviews for
1,312
1,882
68
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My family and I were looking for a nice relaxing holiday and we enjoyed our stay in this hotel. We chose this hotel because we were looking for a hotel with the beach right in front of it. It´s a lovely white sand beach, very clean. Most of the beach is occupied by the hotel (it´s a public beach) but it´s really well taken care of and not a lot people. Note: The sea can be quite rough at times so if you have small kids, keep a close eye on them. My younger son got a bit scared when a big wave came suddenly and roughed him up a bit. The elder one loved the waves.
We stayed at the Thani Suites which were huge and fantastic! We had a good view of the sea. When we stayed there, there were mostly elderly couples and the hotel was not so full so we really enjoyed the relaxing ambience. We had a nice foot massage by the poolside. The only (small) complaint was the food. It was just OK for a hotel of this category. We used to go out in the evenings for dinner to Kata and the taxis charge up to 200 baht for a short distance. You can always walk but since it´s mostly road I though it was a bit dangerous for the kids. And taxis in Kata tend to overcharge up to 250 baht to take you back to the hotel. But... in the end it´s still not that expensive. The activities in the hotel are plenty. Our kids enjoyed renting movies to watch in the evening (our room had DVD player, I think most do). The hotel can take you to Patong beach in the evening for a certain price but it is only for a couple of hours. It takes about 25 minutes to get there from the hotel. You can always arrange coming back on your own. The experience was quite nice.

Room Tip: Stay at the Thani wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beepages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

After spending 3 days in Bangkok I flew down to Phuket to stay at the Katahani (Bhuri wing) for 10 days on bed/breakfast basis. The location proved to be perfect for me.....it is literally at the end of the road and in complete contrast (noise and population) to the much busier areas of Kata, Karon and Patong. A great place to relax in but for somebody seeking a more livelier nightlife then they should consider the other places mentioned above.
Rooms in the Bhuri wing tend to be a little dated and tired .....however the daily maid kept the place immaculately clean. The beach was literally a two min walk from the front of the hotel and as with an earlier reviewer I was expecting to see very treacherous water conditions....the swimming was some of the best I have experienced...crystal clear water, almost too hot and lots of waves to play in. Hotel pools and gardens were very well maintained
The buffet breakfast was of a very good standard....I can't comment any further re hotel food as we ate out every night at the small restaurants close to the hotel or those in Kata (15 min walk).
Generally the hotel staff were both friendly and efficient and good fun to deal with.
Although not a person to go back to holiday venues I wouldn't have a problem returning to the Katahani......thoroughly enjoyed the holiday there.
Altho not part of the hotel as such but the local dive shop (Sea Fun Divers) were excellent....very professional and again great people to deal with

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDKCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We met up with our family from Australia, including our 4 year old grandson and had a really lovely holiday at this hotel. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful and made this holiday special. The Bhuri wing is a bit dated but really clean with a lovely pool, beautiful gardens and such helpful staff. We were moved to the Thani wing due to a leak in a room above us and although the rooms were an upgrade we missed the staff that we had got to know. I have been to Thailand on three previous occasions but never stayed in such a friendly hotel. Special mention for the gardeners, the gardens were immaculate and one particular gardener in the Bhuri wing made a point of speaking to us everday when we passed.
It is a bit of a trek to go into nearby Kata, the road is a bit dangerous to walk, but lots of lovely restaurants so worth the effort.

Room Tip: Thani wing more modern than bhuri wing but I think Bhuri wing more character
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel after a trip in nord thailand. This was a excellent resting time after one week of discovering.
The hotel is well located on a beautiful beach, and at this season not so many sunbed were occupied.
The weather was excellent, hot but a littlle bit wet, and the smooth wind on the beach was a good refresh.
Good service, in reception, restaurant or room service, and also good massage proposed in the gardens.
The price in restaurant I had nothing to tell because we always took our lunch or dinner outside, more cheaper and easy to find.
For more comfort we rent a scooter, very cheap, and it was a good opportunity to visit the coast, up to Patong beach at cheapest price ( taxi have excessive price ).
The breakfast is excellent and with all the thaï and continental food you can imagine.
The gardens are very relaxing and the swimming pool very attractive.
We spent there a very good time for rest and entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudygvb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
2.2 km away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
38.8 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.7 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,033 reviews
9.0 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,537 reviews
0.5 km away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,041 - ₹ 26,034
Hotel Class:5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing