We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very private and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We spent 6 days in February after 14 days in Bangkok and I'San and some 2000 kilometres we needed some peace and quiet and some rest and we did find them in Villa Royale, it was the ideal place for us, we loved the secret little terrasses, the possibilities of having just 2 sun loundgers, the lovely and scenic salt water pool. Breakfast was very good, lunch could have been a little bit more jazzy, and dinners were excellent both thai and international cuisine. After the first day we did not stay at the beach anymore, too crowded for our taste but we went down at least three times a day for walking and swimming, and the same applied for Kata town which is pretty horrible, we stayed in our golden ghetto and enjoyed it. Our room was in the Royale Wing Suite, it was very comfortable with a huge bed, nice bathroom and a large terrasse with two day beds. We had two wonderful paintings in the room I would not mind have at home ! The staff at Villa Royale is very good indeed and I hope that they are well taken care of because they are the ones who make the clients feel welcome and at home, We rented a taxi to go and see the Big Budha and Wat Chalong where there are some really special vibes, and three incredibly old monks who are in deep meditation and who are sending waves of love and gratitude. Phuket Town has some charming old houses and of course the Blue Elephant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank seasonedtraveller021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (919)
There are newer reviews for Mom Tri's Villa Royale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 498 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a wonderful 2 weeks there. The staff were excellent, we had a Kata Suite so had access to the pool from our patioo.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Normally, I don’t go online and recommend a hotel. However my wife and I, who has just passed 60, did visit the very best hotel, we have ever visit, worldwide. At Mom Tri's Villa Royale, Ocean Wing - there are 5 suites/bungalows with kingsize double beds and the staff of 5 people alone to those suites. The staff had been there for several years and especially Net, Say and Ton was so friendly and service minded. Thank you very much. We were here for one week in February at the Pinot Noir Suite (43), which is a high quality designed suite with a great ocean view and private areas at the ocean, where you can relax and sun bath, or you can use the cozy private swimming pool, if this is what you want. It is very quiet (children less than 12 years are not allowed) you could hear the birds and in the background the ocean (no other tourist etc.), even the hotel which is probably 3 levels above the ocean. Every day, well cleaned and the bed was every evening made ready for the night with cozy decoration with swans, elephants etc. done by Bank with towels and flowers. The garden and surroundings were like to be in the nature, but with beautiful sculptures around. The food was the very best you can get, with a full both Thai and International menu cards. You have to visit their wine cellar, they had I think, over 500 different wines, especially red wines. Hotel, service, staff, surrounding, restaurant etc., I will give them 5 stars, if this is the maximum and can only recommend this hotel to anyone, who want a relaxed vacation in luxsus. No wonder that the Danish Prins Henrik has stayed here recently at the Ocean Wing.

Room Tip: All suites have a great ocean view, but especially the suites at the Ocean Wing on the upper level...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorte29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

One of the nicest boutique resorts we have ever visited and we have been to the Phuket area every January the last 15-20 years.
The setting is beautiful in a well-kept garden, the rooms spacious and decorated with considerable taste. The restaurant is super, the service very good. The staff superb!
Only drawback is the lack of a beach at the resort area. Villa Royale has three small pools one of which is saltwater. From the top floor room and down to the beach are 9-10 floors, with no lift. Part of the decent – and climb – is a narrow path which takes you to the very nice but also very public Kata Noi beach.
We spent one week at Villa Royale without ever venturing out of the resort except for several daily walks down to and along the beach and one 10 minutes’ walk to “downtown” Kata; from where we hurried back, disgusted.
We might one day be back at Mom Tri Villa Royale (not Mom Tri Boathouse, which is a very different thing)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SwissFamily201107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Amazing, wonderful, immersive tropical gardens that let you feel "somewhere else".

Stayed 2 nights in a Beach Wing suite. It was very spacious, huge bed, nice sitting area.
Bathroom is also large, with maybe a proportionnally small shower that may also need to be renewed/fixed. Two little (delicious) cakes were delivered to our room during the two days of our stay - nice surprise.

Fantastic view over Kata Noi beach from our balcony (very large - with a daybed and a table with two chairs), through the trees.

The main restaurant is excellent: outstanding breakfast (with exceptional pastries) and great dinners. We had our New Year's eve dinner there: very expensive (with wine - about €100pp) but it was globally worth, considering the very romantic surroundings and well animated (discrete) atmosphere. Will post a separate review about the restaurant. Excellent service all along the dinner.

So what's the issue? No issue, but something to definitely consider: the beach and the overall daily experience. I would not suggest this hotel to spend hours during the day for the following reasons.
- there are 3 swimming pools, but they are all very (very) small, not even big enough for a swim. Nothing comparable to any of the resorts we have visited around the world. Although this is a small boutique hotel, we found the outdoor facilities, in particular the swimming pools and the deckchairs (with no mattresses) below usual 5 star standards.
- the beach (1 minute walk down the hill) not only is not private (this was clear to us) but does not even have an area reserved for Mom Tri's. It was peak season and the beach was packed with guests from the Kathathani resort, just steps away, and it was not possible to find a place to lay down. Even if we could find one, there were just too many people and too many deckchairs, too close to each other. If you want to spend some time on a beach relaxing in Phuket, there are other better choices.

The Ocean Wing part of the resort (5 min uphill walk) -newer- gives the opportunity to those who like this, to have some (interesting) secluded time for two on one of the several decks in the gardens; some of them really secluded and overlooking the ocean. No chance though to go for a swim from there. Some of those decks were not very clean, apparently not so many people use them. In my point of view, these are worth the try as the views and the privacy are pretty unusual. A (very) small swimming pool and - sadly - no shower also in this Ocean Wing area..

Very friendly and professional staff, well above expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Larry121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,116 reviews
38.5 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.1 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.8 km away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,248 reviews
0.4 km away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: ₹ 11,909 - ₹ 30,912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Prestigia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing