We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveller rating
441
292
84
36
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
292
84
36
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfoto hotelocean hallrooftop poolsteep hillteddy bearfree mini barbig bearoutdoor bathtubthe ocean view roommodern hotelmassive bedday bedwalk upair conkata noirent a scootertuk tuk
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 890 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Good points first. I like being out of town as technically it should be quieter and having a moped made it easier to get about.
The room was big, modern and the aircon was fantastic as were the views. Jury still out on the balcony bath. Far too hot to use!

The little touches in the room are great. Love the idea of the mobile phone but we didn’t need it. Mini bar was great too. Not many places supply free beer!
Walk in shower was great, good power and nice cosmetics.

Pool area nice and modern.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice although the coffee machine was tediously slow!

Staff all very friendly and polite.

Bad points. No storage in the rooms for clothes other than hangers so looks messy.
Day bed pretty pointless and surplus to requirements although looks good.
If you start to look closely at the paintwork etc everything is very shoddy and badly finished. Looks like I painted the room, which is not a compliment!!
My travel Companions would like me to mention the lack of wash cloths (flannels) and reception had no idea what they were talking about when they enquired.

The pool area was full of posers taking ENDLESS selfies. Where do these people come from. So much self love just made me uncomfortable! We stayed at the pool area for about an hour the entire time, too loud and posey.

Tips. Use Grabtaxi App as it’s cheaper than the hotel fares.
The bar next to the hotel is lovely to start or finish your evening.

Generally I’m not that keen on Kata, it’s too busy. Much prefer the more Northern Phuket resorts. All in all I quite enjoyed my stay but four days was long enough.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank andi_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfie S, General Manager at The Galleri, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear andi_wilson,

Thank you so much for having chosen to stay with us at Foto Hotel when you were in Phuket. I'm glad you like the hotel concept, design, a complimentary in room mini bar and our service from our lovely staff members. I truly understand your feeling about almost every guests here love taking photo around the pool. It's quite hard to control. In regards to the lack of wash clothes that our reception wouldn't be able to assist you, I'm truly sorry for this. I personally had a meeting with them and make sure all of us at front desk should be able to assist every guests. If not, they will have to call for a senior manager to help. By the way I'm truly appreciate all your comments and will take them on board. We would love to bring a standard to all our guests and make them feel good staying with us.

Regards,
Golfie Suwanbodee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Before I start my review I would just like to say the issues with discounts where resolved by the hotel

Room- they have an amazing ocean views, the one we had was spacious, and well decorated. The Bathroom was nice and well laid out. Lack of storage space could be an issue and a few of the fixtures could do with a refresh, example would be door to safe or fridge hinges need tightened to ensure that the doors do not fall off.

Day passes this surprised us as we did not see this in any reviews or advertised on the hotels web site but the pool area is also used by non hotel guests who pay to use the pool facilities, this can result in all the beds being taken, one day there was 9 day guests in which took up a lot of the pool area facilities.

Outside functions - we where asked twice to leave the area next to the pool first time was that the area is booked for a wedding and the second time we where asked to leave at 12:00 even though we had been there from 9am as the area was being set up for evening meals for non hotel guests, we escalated to the hotel and they assured us that they would inform guests, this spoiled our holiday as if we had known we could have booked our trips around this, hotel advised that they would work on communication.

Drones - as you are lying beside the pool other guest will be using drones to take pictures this gets a bit annoying with them flying overhead, the staff seen these but said nothing so I assume that the hotel allows this.

Noise at night, the hotel does not seem to have a policy for noise at night they would be better informing guests who come in late that people are sleeping and can they keep the noise down.

Discounts, we where entitled to discounts for food and the spa, it took to the second week to resolve after I had to get Agoda involved but the hotel resolved and gave us a free meal and drink

Long stay guests will also get a free evening meal

Food - Breakfast plenty of choice which was varied over the length of our stay, evening meals where nice as well, there is a wee restaurant next to the hotel Chom Ley food is just as nice, cheaper and the beer is also cheaper.

Location— yes it is on a hill, walk down is ok or use the free beach bus but get a taxi back which is 200 bhatt

Overall I would not stay at this hotel for any longer than 3 or 4 days they seem set up to cater for short term guests and don’t seem to understand the requirements of guests that are there for a few weeks

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfie S, General Manager at The Galleri, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Michael M,

Thank you for having to stay with us at Foto Hotel. We are happy to know that you love the room with ocean view. I'm again truly sorry about the mistake of discount which cause you to contact the travel agency before we rectify it. We had a meeting amongst our F&B team to avoid the same kind of problem occurring again. Foto Hotel is quite popular for hotel guests taking some photos or vdo. We still allow the guests to do so. However I truly appreciate your comments and take them all to account to make sure that we lift up standard to our guests.

Regards,
Golfie Suwanbodee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Staff are fabulous and really do a great job. However while view is excellent the food was below expectations and the pool was over crowded - insufficient lounge chairs and shade options.
Price point of this hotel is a good indicator. We will not stay again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfie S, General Manager at The Galleri, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Allison B,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us at Foto Hotel. We appreciated your comments and will move forward to improve our standard.

Regards,
Golfie Suwanbodee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

As artists, we were attracted to the concept of a hotel designed by photographers. The entire infrastructure is a work of art, designed down the tiniest detail and promotes an ambiance that was at once structuring and relaxing, while retaining a certain neutrality enabling the guest to enliven their own space.
The staff was friendly. We made use of the restaurant when too lazy to go out and it was fine enough. Our room was on the quiet side, as requested.
If we had one beef, it was the Internet connection. We specifically requested a room with good wifi in advance, as we read that other guests had connection issues, and as we run two business, needed to stay in touch, particularly since we stayed for two weeks. But as it was, the connection was spotty and weak, when it worked at all. During peak usage times, not at all. We spoke to management and they did send someone down twice, but really, nothing improved much and stayed poor for the length of our stay. The infrastructure is clearly insufficient and needs investment. It was not enough to spoil our vacation, but it was an unnecessary stress factor.
Not the worst of complaints, so we score the Foto Hotel highly with a four and rate it an overall pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Be aware there are plenty of stairs in this hotel... go for the ocean view rooms, worth the money and quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank arboy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfie S, General Manager at The Galleri, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear arboy28,

We always appreciate our guests taking time writing review on TripAdvisor and thank you very much for having chosen Foto Hotel for your recent trip to Phuket. We are delighted that overall you had a good time and thank you for your comments and suggestions for improvements. We are aware and will continue to improve our overall service. We love to have you return again in the future. Hopefully Foto Hotel will be your hotel choice again when your retuning trip to Phuket.

Regards,
Golfie Suwanbodee

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

The staff are super friendly and helpful.. the hotel is amazingly presented. Beautiful big rooms.
Steep hills in the area so hiring a scooter is a great idea.. plus lots of things to explore nearby with it.
The hotel put on a NYE event on the rooftop which was 10/10.. it did rain unfortunately at times, but they made the most of it. The view of the fireworks was INCREDIBLE! Had a great evening.

A few minor things (if being really picky).. the gym isn't too great, if that is something you focus on while away.
Also while the food was immaculately presented, it was at times a let down in taste/flavour.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Kyle_ButIer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfie S, General Manager at The Galleri, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Kyle_ButIer,

Thank you so much for having chosen Foto Hotel for your recent trip to celebrate NYE in Phuket. We are delighted that overall you had a good time and thank you for your comments and suggestions for improvements. Our team is aware and we will continue to improve based on customer feed back. Hopefully Foto Hotel will be your choice again when you are returning back to Phuket.

Regards,
Golfie Suwanbodee
General Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews