We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“fantastic resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shore at Katathani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at The Shore end of June for a extended weekend getaway. It was a fantastic and relaxing stay. We stayed at the sea view room and it was simply stunning. Very spacious, great layout and extremely relaxing. We spent days just lying around the pool and sunbed! Room service was surprisingly tasty and very good quality.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The buffet breakfast was OK, we much preferred going to their 'sister hotel' and enjoy the ample and scrumptious breakky there instead.
We also visited the spa at The Shore, it wasn't anything out of the ordinary. Very average and pricey. I think you can get better spa services outside the hotel.
Overall, I do recommend The Shore. The views from the sea view room is picturesque!

Room Tip: Sea view room for sure! totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jadepoon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    143
    37
    7
    6
See reviews for
59
871
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wien
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Great place to stay with very nice staff. Professionally run 5 star hotel with good service and perfect rooms. Very recommendable! We enjoyed our stay very much there.

But the whole beach is more or less occupied by Kathathani management and I really do not understand how they cannot clean the beach. There are so many plastic bottles and other garbage on the beach, they really need to solve this problem otherwise the beach is not good enough for a 5 star hotel.
Besides that there is a little River running just in front of the hotel swimming pool right in the sea, which is very smelly. The hotel management should disallow neighbours to let their waste water run into the sea. Police should handle that matter.
We won't come back because there are better beaches in Thailand, cleaner and nicer ones. But the hotel and the management is GREAT!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank klingsor1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Shore at Katathani, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear klingsor1979,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us through
Trip Advisor.
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.
Regarding the Beach, please kindly be informed that we are still in the low season during which waves and strong currents sometimes push debris toward our public beach. However, we are implementing twice daily beach cleanings to ensure it remains clean as we can acheive.
We are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet expectations and that you choose not to come back anymore, however we will take your comments seriously and try our best to improve each area. We have noted your comments and I will be reviewing them with our management team .We hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely

Suwimon P.
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My sister Elaine was the lucky winner of Kuoni's Facebook competition last year to win a week's stay for two at the Shore @ Katathani, and had asked me if I'd like to come along...how could I refuse? I had been to Bangkok as part of my honeymoon over 20 years ago, and had always wanted to go back and visit another part of the country. Our Mum suffered a stroke in November, and we both had extended trips back and forth to Jamaica looking after both our parents and ensuring our Mum's recovery, so we felt that we needed some well-deserved "chillaxing" time.

We decided to go during the week of Elaine's birthday (10 July). It was a very long journey from Heathrow to Phuket via Bangkok and we arrived at the Shore on Monday night. Immediately we felt that we had arrived in heaven!

The welcome drink of cashew juice and cashew nuts and flower garlands were much appreciated after our long journey, but we were absolutely blown away when we entered our Sea View Villa with (Infinity) Pool. It was the little touches and attention to detail that impressed us: from the towels on the bed shaped as elephants, the complimentary bottles of water in the fridge (a godsend!) to the Bose SoundDock for our iPods, we felt that the Shore is a place where it wanted its guests to have a memorable experience...and boy, did we have one!!

All the recent reviews have gone into a lot of detail about the facilities etc, which I won't repeat here as they are as excellent and over and above what you would expect of a 5-star hotel. However, I want to give a big 'shout out' to some of the staff at The Shore who made our week's stay "magical": Arenee on Reception; Golf and Zara who served us breakfast in the Harbour Restaurant each day; Jame who gave us a cocktail lesson in making Mojitos and the bar's signature cocktail - Lighthouse; Smart and Nida plus a couple other bar staff who made my sister's birthday night one we'll never forget - see the pictures. It ended up with Nida's ukelele playing and all of us singing Thai pop songs and Jessie J's "Price Tag" and being served free cocktails by the staff....they didn't want us to leave! Must also mention the team of buggy drivers, in particular, Jim and Ya and the guy at the Security gate who saluted us everytime we went by and wished us a good day/evening. I can't remember everyone's names, but I apologise for those I've missed out.

Apart from breakfast and a couple of times when we enjoyed the Hotel's complimentary 'high tea' that was served for guests, we didn't dine in the hotel's restaurant, as we wanted to explore a bit of Phuket. If you want to eat great food whilst watching a beautiful sunset, you should go to the "After Beach" Bar & Restaurant - about 10mins taxi/tuk tuk ride from The Shore. The fish dishes are fantastic, and we loved the reggae vibe going on! Another must-do is Simon's Cabaret in Patong: forget about the ladyboys, one of male dancers made our evening by his enthusiastic hip-thrusting and playing up to the audience!

The management of The Shore have done themselves proud. This is a wonderful hotel, and I have already recommended it to a couple of work colleagues - one of whom is getting married next year. I'm hoping that she'll consider The Shore as a possible honeymoon destination.

This holiday was the perfect antidote for my sister and I after all that we've been through over the last 8 months. If I should ever win the Lottery, there's no doubt that The Shore at Katathani will be top of my list of places to (re)visit. It's truly HEAVEN ON EARTH!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamm165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Splash out and stay here! I cant't fault anything about The Shore. My sister and I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2012 and we were treated like absolute royalty. The staff here are beautiful people and genuinely interested in you and providing you with the best service possible.

The rooms are beyond fabulous. Stunning views of Kata Noi Beach, private infinity pool with a sunken day bed, gorgeous bathroom with giant shower and one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in while being in Thailand. The resort has thought of everything to satisfy your every need - from an iPod dock to eye pillows.

We even returned back to the resort after an evening in Patong to find a little midnight snack and note from the staff.

Breakfasts at the 'Harbour' restaurant ate wonderful. A wide selection of western and Thai style breakfasts, yummy cakes and pastries (baked by the chef each morning) and an expensive array of fresh fruits. Can't forget to mention the view from the restaurant....simply stunning.

Guests also have access to all the facilities at the Katathani Phuket Beach Resort which has 6 restaurants and 5 bars. And the staff drive you around in little buggies to anywhere in the resort!

We loved this resort and would definitely return...and stay longer! Highly recommend this beautiful resort!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrseyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

If you are after a quiet location with a beautiful pool and beautiful views, this is it! The rooms are spacious with amazing views. Breakfast was your typical buffet but in a beautiful setting. We had a lovely dinner at The Habour. We especially enjoyed the complementary 3.30 to 5.00 share plate and soft drink or coffee every day. Complementary chilled water (not in bottles) was available throughout the day at The Habour. Beach towels were readily available. We had dinner at Red Chair in kata beach, beautiful food and ultra cheap; it cost 200 baht by taxi to get there and we walked back. For 800 baht return we got a taxi to kata point lookout and nai harn beach. The taxi driver happily waited for us at the lookout and then waited for us for 45 min to have a swim at the beach. On the way back, he stopped at the elephant trekking. At the resort, we had a package which included a garden massage; this was thoroughly enjoyable. The staff were very friendly, despite their poor English. Just outside the katathani resort, there are a couple of minimarts, tailors, spas and optical shops. There are also a couple of restaurants, but if you are not eating at the resort, you should head into Kata. Overall an incredibly relaxing 4 days in total luxury.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miranda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
24.3 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.0 km away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
19.6 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 35 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
26.1 km away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#1 of 93 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.5 km away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Property: The Shore at Katathani
Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,291 - ₹ 78,804
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia and Ostrovok so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing