We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great views, great villa but overpriced for Phuket and needs work” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shore at Katathani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great views, great villa but overpriced for Phuket and needs work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We splurged for a special occasion (30th Wedding Anniversary) and stayed at The Shore for 4 nights. The most we had every paid to stay in hotels or resorts was US$300 per night so this was a real splurge for which we felt we did not get our monies worth. Unfortunately for us, even though we explained it was a special occasion and we asked for a room with a great view, we got one with a tree in front of us that obscured our view (see photos added to TA). They were fully booked so we could not move. I think they should offer the villas behind trees at a cheaper rate. At around US$800 per night it is not the average cost of a hotel and puts it in the luxury bracket so for that price we wanted a unobstructed view and a bit more service. The resort was opened in April last year and it is already showing signs of needing repairs.

Positives: Freestanding Villa, large rooms and spaces, infinity pool, alfresco outdoor area, great bathroom, good water pressure in shower, separate toilet, good facilities in the villa, great clean white sandy beach, good restaurants and facilities at Katathani (sister resort next door), Spa treatments great but highly priced for Phuket, electric car transport anywhere around the resort and down to Katathani, Wi Fi in the room.

Negatives: More attention to detail required in cleaning - our tiled toilet still had the grout film all over the tiles and needed cleaning properly, black mould in shower and toilet, sliding glass door tracks from bathroom to alfresco area rusty making doors hard to slide, arm chairs in villa were uncomfortable, ants and bugs in villa for which it would have been nice to have a can of insect spray, balustrades around villa rusting. Restaurant - only one restaurant and it is all open air, would be nice to have an air-conditioned choice in the very humid weather. Buffet breakfast laid out in open air restaurant with flies on the food. At one breakfast we saw a bird fly in and peck at the bread which a staff member saw and shooed the bird away. The staff member did not remove the piece of bread from the display that the bird had pecked at. YUK.

It is a shame that in 12 months that things are deteriorating at this resort and I believe at US$800 per night it is overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not behind a tree but good luck with it as we asked and did not get it. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    149
    41
    7
    6
See reviews for
61
916
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

As so many say this is not the cheapest around but the villas are very well laid out and you feel welcome and relaxed.I suggest a sea view room to take full advantage of the beautiful bay,which helps to feel the beauty of the resort.

The weather was disappointing monsoon rains earthquakes .....the worlds weather is certain of change.

The service was ok but not as friendly as some mention the staff appear tired but we were there over the new year.having stayed in other 5 star hotels the breakfast was limited in comparison but had a good selection.we didn t eat dinner but many said the food was excellent .the chief was trained in Switzerland so a good combo was on offer.

Nice. Relaxes gardens and pool quiet maybe as the policy was no kids under the age of 12!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were lucky enough to be able to spend 8 nights at The Shore for our honeymoon in April... this resort is heaven on earth! We have stayed in beautiful resorts and hotels around the world but this one takes the cake because of it's service, location, room layout & finishings, cleanliness and overall quality of the resort.

The layout of the entire resort is nothing short of perfect. You can tell that so much thought was put into the early stages of planning because everything has been considered. 

Villa 8821 (sea view pool villa) was our home for the 8 nights. It felt like a perfect spot because it was down low enough so we could walk up the stairs yet high enough to still be able to enjoy jaw dropping views of the Andaman Sea. 

The villa's infinity pool looks open when standing on the beach looking up but is completely private when you are actually in the pool and you cannot see other guests when you are in your own villa. The views are what postcards are made of!! 

Everyone at The Shore has a natural kindness about them, their service doesn't feel at all forced - it's as if they get pleasure by making you smile.  It feels like they are one big happy group of friends.

We would like to send a special thank you to Silvia who was our exceptional "host" - she attended to our every request with such grace and friendliness. 

Also Praphet who is a supervisor of "The Harbour/Lighthouse"- he has the warmest heart but a hilarious sense of humor!! He also does a fabulous wine tasting in "The Cove"which is enjoyable and personal.

It would be remiss of us not to acknowledge the phenomenal service provided by the buggy drivers for their humor and kindness on each drive, housekeeping for their world class attention to detail and thoughtful "surprises", front of house for their prompt and friendly service and the restauranteurs for keeping our glasses topped up with tasty cocktails and our bellies full of delicious meals... even the gardeners do a fantastic job with the upkeep of the stunning gardens!! 

From the moment we arrived to the second we left we were trapped in a perfect dream that we didn't want to wake from... As we were packing our bags on our final day I was so sad to be leaving that I cried my eyes out... We will always remember the amazing time we had at The Shore.

It was a privilege to stay at The Shore and we would highly recommend it for anyone, but especially honeymooners like us.

The Shore should be named in Trip Advisors "Best Of"!!!! 

Room Tip: 1) Be sure to fill out "Stay as You Wish" before you arrive to select your pillows, games...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bren&Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Booked into villa 8825, garden view. Althogh it is garden view, it also has a partial see view.

I was a little dubious about booking after reading some of the reviews, but changed our mind after arriving at the Katathani resort and taking a stroll up to 'The Shore' section.

Extra large King sized bed. VERY comfortable. Lovely decor. Loads of space. Clean! Outstanding service.

Infinity style plunge pool, crystal clear water, beside sun deck. Alfresco nook with lounge as well offers plenty of outdoor options for relaxing outdoors.

Whilst it is not 100% obscured from view of others it is still quite private.

We loved it and would not hesitate to recommend or stay again.

It is a little walk from the centre of the resort, but not an issue if you don't mind a little stroll. We quite liked this fact as it is what gives it a sense of privacy. It's set on a bit of a hill, but nothing dramatic and they offer a buggy service at times ehen you're not interested in the walk. Easy access to the beach and facilities.

Not for children under 12 and they actually prohibit this from a safety point of view. Making it a perfect option for a nice couples getaway.

Great security. Excellent facilities attached to the resort.

Room Tip: If staying in a garden view, we were really happy with villa 8825.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
823 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I wasn’t too sure about going to Phuket as a destination – we’d had a lovely holiday last year in some astounding overwater accommodation, snorkelling over coral reefs off our back deck, in a resort on an isolated Fijian island, and I just wasn’t convinced that Phuket could match this experience. I did the research and was somewhat reassured by the good reviews of The Shore on Tripadvisor, so made the booking. As all the other reviews attest, this was exquisite accommodation. We had an absolutely brilliant stay, and I couldn’t recommend The Shore more highly.
It is expensive – it cost around AUD$5,800 for the 7 nights. But this included the accommodation, return airport transfers (quality vehicles, both ways), drinks, meals and massages charged back to the room. But you get what you pay for, and I was searching for something above average - The Shore ticks all the boxes.
Our room – a Seaview Pool Villa set high up the cliff – was simply stunning. It was huge, with a huge bed, a huge bathroom and its own huge horizon plunge pool (in fact, it’s not really a “plunge” pool at all!). You just step out of your room into the pool with a view over the beach. The bathroom featured a large shower, a lovely bath with a view over the deck to the sea, separate toilet and twin vanity basins. There were toiletries, robes and slippers, numerous towels, and even a shaving mirror. The air-conditioned room had a wall-mounted flat screen TV, dual wardrobes and drawers, dressing table, electric safe, Bose iPod dock, a scented oil burner, bar fridge (alcohol and soft drinks charged to the room, complimentary bottled water), electric jug, wine & champagne glasses, easy-to-use coffee machine, coffee table and chairs. There’s a large sofa and coffee table on the deck, and two comfy day-beds. Plus, there are nice little touches like an umbrella, thongs (flip-flops) and a beach bag. You can get up to the higher villas by buggy all the time, but we didn’t mind the walk.
We bought milk and some mixers from a near-by shop and kept them in the fridge (thought the mixers were only marginally more expensive through the mini-bar - less than 5 cents). When asking for a bucket of ice from room service, it was always there within 5 minutes.
The maid service was terrific, and it was fun to see what animals they had created with the towels (eg, a pair of swans, a crab and an elephant). On one occasion, we returned to the room to find that they had made up our room with flowers and candles. They’d even spelt out the word “surprise” in flower petals in the foyer.
There is brilliant Wi-Fi in the room; in fact throughout the resort. At least some of the power-points in the room were universal – able to take Australian, English, European and US plugs without adapters – very clever.
There is a laundry service, not that we used it; a library with computer access and a small boutique.
The gym is the best that I have used in a hotel/resort, bar none. It’s relatively small, with a couple of benches, a set of various sized dumb-bells, 2 cable machines, a Swiss ball and some abdominal mats, a treadmill, a cross-trainer and 2 different stationary bikes. But it’s all new; it all works, and it’s all the latest gear (the dumb-bells are rubber coated; the machines have in-built fans). There’s no rust or damage to anything – extraordinary! When you arrive, you are given a towel and a cold bottle of water. When you leave – a cold, eucalyptus scented face-washer and another cold bottle of water. There’s a flat screen TV, but they usually play upbeat music tracks. I used it 4 times and was very impressed.
The horizon pool and surrounding area is delightful, and you can have cheap cocktails (2 for 1 happy hour) and watch the sun set over the sea from here. It’s also the venue for breakfast and it operates as a restaurant (The Harbour) at night. They do private romantic dinners here too.
The beach is terrific. They charge for loungers, as it’s a public beach, but you can stay by the pool and just swim in the ocean if you like. The sand is fine, the beach is cleaned every morning, and the water is crystal clear, warm and azure blue. You can Jet Ski (1600 baht for half an hour), parasail (as I did, at 1500 baht [about AUD$48.00] per go), and the boat will also drag you around on various floating devices.
The Shore staff are all delightful – reception, restaurants, security – everyone said hello with a big smile. And nothing seemed too much trouble.
We ate a few times in the hotel; a few times in the adjoining resort; and even had a really tasty Pad Thai at an out-of-the-way “food court” for about AUD$2.00. We ran out of nights to try some of the other swanky restaurants nearby. Breakfast was standard buffet style, with fruit, cereals, yoghurts, Asian, and bacon/eggs/tomatoes, etc. Try the omelette bar – yes the eggs are cooked in front of you, but look out for the meats there. It often had different things – like ham-off-the-bone, roast beef (not bad with eggs for breakfast!) and the most mouth-watering steak cut and cooked in front of you.
One tip given to us that was sooo helpful was to go to the sister resort (as you’re entitled to) just next door and sit around the pool there. There are lots of families and kids at that resort, so it’s not as quiet as around The Shore’s horizon pool, but they have ladies who come around offering pedicures and foot massages through to full body massages. It is much, much cheaper than the spa at either resort, and also cheaper than those on the beach. Plus you can charge it back to your room, so you don’t need to carry cash (though we tipped them). We had it 3 times it was so good (how does about AUD$30 for 2 hours of massage sound?).
All-in-all, The Shore and its location are simply superb. We certainly hope to be back.

Room Tip: If you can make the climb, the higher villas give a terrific view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank seagullrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.0 km away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
24.3 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
19.6 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
26.1 km away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 93 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Property: The Shore at Katathani
Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 25,607 - ₹ 51,146
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing