We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!,,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shore at Katathani
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We have just returned from 13 nights at the Shore and are trying to come to terms with the real world. For the last 13 days we have lived in heaven, so much has been said on this site about the Shore and how wonderful it is and it is all true. So instead of repeating this I will highlight why we think this resort is the best we have ever stayed at.
The staff are amazing, not in a in your face, forced high levels of service way, but rather it all seems to come naturally to them and you get the feeling that they are there to also enjoy your holiday with you. This goes for front of house staff all the way through to the room staff, buggy drivers, security an so on.

Whilst we were there we experienced the Tsunami warning, a truly terrorfying experience for all especially those who sadly experienced the 2004 Tsunami. However not only did I see all staff putting priority on getting the guests to a safe high point, once there they constantly delivered, water, food, cold towels, sheets, mosqito spays, with the purpose of ensuring that all guests were looked after. To think that most of these staff had families whom they were worried about, it was truly well above and beyond any level of service I have experienced and thankfully Phuket was spared the disaster which had gone before. Long may this continue!!

I had read a lot about the sea view rooms and unfortunately by the time we tried to book, there wasn't any available. However we were in room 8857 which was a garden view and to be honest I preferred this as we had a very private but very pretty spot.

Some restaurants to try whilst you are there are Bann rim pa in Patong, which is a lovely restaurant great views and great food, not the cheapest but good for a special meal. Also the red snapper in kata beach, great sushi and pasta, quite simple but excellent service and Lucky Toms in Kata beach, very simple but excellent Thai food and service.

I would also highly recommend for any divers amongst you to use Sea fun divers, they are 5 minutes from the hotel and are definitely a cut above the other diving companies in Phuket.
Very professional and definitely not over priced.

So in summary my only negative for The Shore is that I am now going to spend my holidays comparing all other hotels to their standard which is a very high expectation.
Would we return there? Definitely, couldn't see us staying anywhere else if we return to Phuket. Our thanks to all of the staff for making our excellent holiday!

Room Tip: Would highly recommend 8857, for a sea view you have the wonderful bar and restaurant so why not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bettyb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 900 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed in December 2011, and absolutely loved the hotel. Rooms are enormous and immaculately furnished, views are to die for. We has had a pool villa, didn't really use the plunge pool but it looked lovely! Not the cheapest of locations but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Nothing nothing nothing....There was nothing wrong at this hotel!!! From the moment we arrived to the welcoming smiles and the personal welcome from the resort manager,Sabina, to the end.Absolutely amazing.We were buggied up to our villa accompanied by the beautiful Kathy and as soon as we walked in we knew this was heaven on earth.The rooms are everything you see on the net and so much more to actually experience.Its enough to bring you to tears.We had breakfast in our room and the detail and service for that whole experience was simply incredible.Even the eggs and banana pancakes were in a heart shape.The buggy boys were a sheer delight and were always happy to take you at a moments notice.A couple had their own cheeky sense of humour and had us laughing at every opportunity.The lovely Sylvia on the front desk,along with Pitta attended to our every need and always with the beautiful smiles that you come to expect in Thailand. I wanted to sneak them into my suitcase and smuggle them home.The breakfast in the restaurant by the beach was superb with the most flavoursome mango i have ever tasted.The staff there were of the same wonderful standard and were calling us by our first names on the second day.Hello to Praphet and the other waiter whose name we didnt get.We will be back as this is burnt into our memories and staying anywhere else would be lowering your standards.

Room Tip: A high room for the view and you are then able to swim nude in privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThreeAussieChops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Who said Phuket is passé? This resort felt like a dream. Get the private pool villa facing the ocean. Unblocked view of the azure sea, Kata Noi beach and the height on a cliff meant the activities on the beach could be observed as we pleased, but didn't disturb our peace.

This place has soul. The resort encourages guests to be eco friendly and provides turtle figurines with various distinguishing features for guests to indicate their preferences as to when sheets / towels should be changed, when housekeeping is required, when one would prefer not to be disturbed. E.g. a Turtle wearing a shower cap indicates a preference for towels not to be changed that day.

Villa furnishings were classy and tasteful, and one of the best I've had. Eye pillows were a great touch, as with the animal-legged tub, lavazza coffee machine, bath salts all add to the experience. I also love the outdoor pavilion where one can enjoy the view and a glass of wine, and at sun set, sleep under a canopy of stars, open to the world's elements.

One thing we will point out is that our stay was marred by construction noise next to our villa. This was however remedied by the service staff. We informed the resort staff, but the noise continue for 3 days. When we registered our discontent again, the noise finally stopped, and the manager of the resort wrote a personal apology, offering a complimentary dinner at the resort's restaurant to make up for the noise. The meal was sumptuous, variety of wine world class, service was splendid, and paved the way for yet another night to remember, never mind that the music was on repeat.

We didn't manage to take advantage of the cooking classes / yoga / batik painting activities that the resort has on its calendar as most of these classes take place on weekdays. However, our stay was delightful. Service from housekeeping to front desk, to buggy drivers, wait staff, spa staff, to manager was all top class.

Well done, Sabina, Sylvia and everyone else.

We hope to return to this excellent resort soon.

Room Tip: Get one with the view. You wouldn't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank junoesque24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

After lots of research we decided on the shore for our 10 day holiday. From the moment we stepped into reception and was greeted with jasmine flowers and cold drink I knew we had made the right choice. Our room was stunning and exceeded expectations. Stunning view, pool, lounge area and bathroom. All in cool creams.
We loved the beach, cold changs at " on the rocks" and cocktails at the harbour for sunset.
The service was outstanding and you just couldn't fault it. But for me, I have never enjoyed a more relaxing holiday. I am going home totally chilled and that is some achievement which I totally put down to the hotel, stunning location and amazing staff


On the only downside, good restaurants outside resort were hard to find. It was either high end expensive ma tri kitchen with stunning views and mediocre food or great food in lucky toms but ok surroundings. The harbour in the hotel did have a candle lit evening which we never got around to doing but will the next time.

If your looking for pure class hotel to relax and unwind then this is paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raylorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
1.2 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,198 reviews
0.9 km away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 55 in Kata Beach
937 reviews
39.2 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,332 reviews
1.5 km away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#32 of 55 in Kata Beach
831 reviews
2.8 km away
Fullmoon Beach Resort
Fullmoon Beach Resort
#13 of 65 in Kata Beach
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Address: 14 Kata Noi Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: ₹ 30,323 - ₹ 98,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing