We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small rooms but nice property”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of ibis Phuket Kata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Phuket Kata
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“small rooms but nice property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

A decent hotel in quiet corner of Kata beach. Very quiet indeed for people who want to be close to happening place which is patong.
Few eateries around the hotel, no market nearby, a convenience store nearby. As for hotel room, it was way too small for the hotel you see from outside.
The bathroom gives u a feel of being in a train. Though cramped, the rooms are adequately equipped. Nice pool & a decent restaurant downstairs.
Not a bad option for the price u pay.

Room Tip: choose rooms on pool side, at least they have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Roaming_Soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback on our TripAdvisor!

ibis Phuket Kata is a perfect choice for a getaway trip in a private location. However for people who prefer a more dynamic nightlife of Phuket, ibis Phuket Patong could be a recommended place for you:)

Please note that the size of room is designed to provide the necessary service and facilities to the guests at best value for money.

Thank you for your compliments on our swimming pool, restaurant and the great value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at ibis Phuket Kata!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    266
    111
    41
    32
See reviews for
154
240
59
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have been to Kata Beach many times but this is the first time staying at the Ibis. I stayed 11 nights at this hotel during May 2012. I was travelling with daughter and granddaughter and wanted to show them as much of Phuket as possible so did not spend much time in the room. Room was small but ok for us as we were not there very much. The restaurant was quite satisfactory. Breakfast was without much variety but it was all we needed. Dinner at night was tasty. The pizzas are particulary good. The only real criticism I would have of the restaurant was that it was that the inside restaurant was closed to guest when a large group was in the hotel. Guests then needed to eat outside which did not suit us as we wanted air conditioning when we ate dinner. Most staff at reception were friendly and helpful. House keeping - I do find it annoying when rooms are not made up until very late in the day and this did happen to us. This hotel is only 2 or 3 years old so I was very surprised to find bed linen with holes in it and also surfaces that needed a re- paint or a jolly good scrub. The staff on the travel desk were very helpful and friendly. We could walk to Kata Beach shops and also Kata town shops from hotel. There is an ATM outside hotel and a shop that takes in laundry next door. There is a nice restaurant next door and also a good bakery. The hotel has a taxi service that cost 450 baht to get to Patong, 50 baht more than a tuk tuk but worth it for comfort and convenience. The very good news is that free wireless is now available in all the rooms.
If you want somewhere fairly clean and inexpensive to sleep then this hotel may be a good choice but if you want to spend time relaxing at the hotel in you room then there are many choices of nicer resort like hotels available.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cressida_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for choosing ibis Phuket Kata for your wonderful family trip!

We are glad that your liked our room, food, friendly staff, services and cleanliness. At ibis, we aim at providing the best service at the great value for money!

We apologise for any unpexpected experience you met and we will discuss with the hotel management for the improvement!

We hope to welcome you back again at ibis Phuket Kata!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
478 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed at ibis Phuket Kata for Three nights when we were on our honeymoon.

We found the hotel staff to be very kind, courteous and helpful. Their English is bad but you can work around that as this is a problem across Thailand.

The breakfast menu was very good and had a good spread. However, I prefer the IBIS Patong spread. We found it value for money as food is a problem for Indians in Thailand.

The location is very near to the beach. There is spa just opposite to the hotel where we used the services after one hectic trip to Phi Phi and loved it.

I would recommend this hotel for someone who is looking for a hotel in this price range.

We loved the pool.

This is a budget hotel, so if you are expecting wonders to happen, take my word, do not try this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room on the 4th floor. They are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumbaiPradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your staying experience at ibis Phuket Kata on our TripAdvisor profile!

We appreciate that you liked our friendly staff, breakfast, location and our swimming pool. At ibis, we aim at providing the best service at the great value for money!

We apologise for our staff's English speaking proficiency and the inconvenience this might have caused during your trip. We will provide more training to them for better quality of service to our guest!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Good location and clean environtment, 7 minute to the beach. For moslem, you need to prepare for the food since there is difficult to find restaurant thwt provide halal food.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback on our TripAdvisor!

We are glad that you liked our prime location, ibis Phuket Kata is a good place for relaxation against the beautiful surroundings and beach atmosphere :)

We look forward to hearing from you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.3 km away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 km away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.4 km away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
Kata Silver Sand Hotel
#93 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 km away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.5 km away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#23 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Phuket Kata? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Phuket Kata

Property: ibis Phuket Kata
Address: 88/8 Kata Road | Karon, Mueang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,734 - ₹ 5,650
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Phuket Kata 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for top value Phuket accommodation Bright, light filled and modern. Trendy, fresh and fun. Ibis Phuket Kata sits fiveminutes from the clear waters of Kata Beach. The hotel is ideal for families and couples alike with shopping, dining and nightlife just moments away. 258 rooms, 24 hour service, snacks and drinks. Surf, swim or soak up the sun in this friendly oasis - the perfect hideaway when relaxation is at the top of your list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your ibis Phuket Kata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Phuket Kata Hotel Kata Beach
Ibis Phuket Kata Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing