We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Getaway trip for both romantic lovers and adventurers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baray Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Baray Villa
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway trip for both romantic lovers and adventurers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

I must say that it "Wow" me all the time, from the first time I checked in until I checked out. Here are some of my comments, hope it helps

(+): pool villa suite is a must-try experience, very well-decorated and awesome facilities. The staffs is very friendly from the receptionists to restaurant staffs and securities, especially Amy - who impressed me with a very professional attitude. Can walk to Kata beach in 10 mins and also near the area of many delicious restaurants.
(-): breakfast buffet can be more diversified, location is a lil bit quite in comparison to other sides of Kata Beach, it takes more than 1 hour from the airport to the villa and it's very tired. Private pool should be bigger, actually what Baray villa offers now can not be considered as a private pool because we even can not take a dip.

Some ppl complained about the mosquitoes but I didnt see it as a threat because actually in the villa not much mosquitoes identified, maybe it just happened for hotel room outside near the garden area. And you should take a local trip to Phi Phi Islands for sightseeing and snorkeling, perfectttttt, nothing you can ask for.

Room Tip: They have 14 villas and they stand for 12 horoscopes, you can ask for your own horoscope, it's v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Value guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us in Trip Advisor. we are very appreciateed to hear that you have a wonderful stay during your holiday in our hotel Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa .
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    68
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
67
308
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Margaret River WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Sawasdee Village in Kata is PERFECT for a honeymoon or a family holiday. Get a Baray Villa.... Soooo romantic! The excellent service, seclusion, your own jacuzzi, private pool, the most beautiful grounds, swim up bar accessed only by those in the Baray section of the resort, THE best breakfast buffet I have ever experienced anywhere...anything you want (food, drinks, ice, towels) at any time of the day or night...I can't say enough. The decor and amenities in the Villa are the stuff of fantasies...the polished wood, lighting, beautiful cupolas, foot spa, awesome shower and bath set up, cheap mini bar, free wifi, i pod docking station down stairs, huge television on both floors...I could go on...! My husband and I have been married for twenty two years and went to Baray for two weeks with our two teenage children wanting a memorable family holiday before our son goes off to university. We aren't flush for cash, but were willing to spend a little more in the hope of a relaxed, memorable experience..and we got it in spades. After reading reviews in TA and looking at vids etc on You Tube.....I was worried that, as often happens, "it never looks as good as the photos"...this place is exactly what it looks like in the photos, and then some. We went in July...so probably a bit cheaper off season, but as we say in Oz, 'do yaself a favour'..treat yourselves. You can get anywhere you want to from Kata ...the folk at the hotel and/or the agent across the road will help you organise taxis, tours..whatever. If you want to have an 'out there' night in Patong (or anywhere on the island really), it's taxi ride away. Call Mr Ian MOB 089 723 4663 and tell him the short teacher from Australia and Mr John sent you. If you call the hotel direct they may give you a good rate if you mention our recommendation..just a thought! Trust me...you will have the best time. Thank you Nid, Aura, and Mardi..and all of your colleagues. We will never forget you, and hope to see you again. Give our best wishes to the girls next door. I think of you every day and wonder what you are doing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderful08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, we are very much appreciated to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.
Once again, Thank you very much for choosing us and we are looking forward for your next stay !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I with friends stayed at The Baray Villa from 5-16th August which was simply amazing. We were met at the airport by the Villa's driver as pre-arranged and transported to our accommodation. We were welcomed at reception and were ran through the facility and then taken to our Villa by our designated PA which is assigned for our entire stay. Upon opening the door it was 'WOW' factor, from the ground floor including the indoor cool water spa, swim out personal into the central Villa Pool, outdoor shower, deck with sunlounges, back inside... large lounge's, daily fruit, big screen TV, mini bar, then upstairs to a super king bed, big screen TV with apple computer, huge bath and shower, toilet, vanity.

Accommodation is amazing, friendly staff, private villa pool with poolbar which is really quiet and personal and then the Sawasdee combined pool with bar out the front.

The Sawasdee and 'The Baray Villa' is more a couples retreat than a family destination and highly recommended, staff very friendly (thanks Miss Aura :-)) and knowledgeable of things to do and see and can organize transport with the hotels drivers.

Do yourself a favor and pay the extra for the Villa's for an amazing stay

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Value guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us in Trip Advisor. we are very appreciateed to hear that you have a wonderful stay during your holiday in our hotel Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa .
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

This is my first review on Trip Advisor, but the second trip to Asia that I based on reviews from TA. The Baray Villas and Sawasdee Village is an amazing hotel/property in Kata. We checked into our room, in our room. M (our valet) took our information from our couch while we sipped on Lemongrass Tea and refresher cool towels.

We had our private villa... yes... our own 1100 sq ft space which included all the amenities you could even want. The staff is great, the food was excellent, the location was perfect (10 min from the beach, 15-20 if you walk slow), our own semi-private pool area and did I mention the awesome staff.

The grounds are lush, manicured and when you pass a member of staff they wai at you.

I take a large birthday trip every year and this year I woke up to breakfast in our living room and a cake that the staff had arranged. If you're on a budget check out the Sawasdee Village.

Thank you M, Nid and the entire staff. You made my birthday memorable, well worth the 20 hour flight and a great introduction to Thailand and I look forward to a second trip to Phuket!

Room Tip: I'm a Virgo and somehow they paired us up in room 210 (Virgo).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdivisor.That was very nice to hear that we are able to made your birthday memorable and that would be our honor to serve you our best service and you enjoy your time with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back next time !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempsey, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

WOW we have stayed in some really nice places around the world but this is the best, the furnishings just everything is amazing could not fault this place at all.The villa we stayed in was Northstar which was situated next to the waterfall of the pool also had its own courtyard it was all so beautiful.The grounds are gorgeous and those massive doors that you enter through make you feel so special even if it,s only for a few days.The staff are also very special nothing is a problem and always willing to help.If i have any negatives i think the pool might be a bit shady but that,s a minor thing.If you are considering the Baray Villa do it you will not be dissapointed this is truly an amazeing place. Kata Beach is a 15 minute walk to the beach but plenty of shops and stalls along the way.

Room Tip: Northstar Villa own courtyard and next to the waterfall of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikey112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. That would be our honor to serve you the best service and that would be very nice to hear that you enjoy your time here with us. We hope to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
1.3 km away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.8 km away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.8 km away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.1 km away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
1.6 km away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Property: The Baray Villa
Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,745 - ₹ 25,948
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing