We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel awful beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I spent 8 days here with my daughter and had a great time. Great views over the pool to the sea, nice rooms and they were serviced in the morning while we were away which was great. The food there was very good too. The beach is awful though, lots of rubbish and the red flags were out constantly. I went into the sea to join other crazies and came out in a minute. The current is really strong and I got pushed over all the time. Probably why the flag is out!! We sat on the beach sometimes because all the pool seats were gone (again!) but the tide comes right up so we were sitting there with sea at our feet. The pool is way too small and not enough chairs. I wanted a quiet paddle to cool off but there were people throwing balls all the time which whacked close to you. So hotel has its pros and cons!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chantal d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 793 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just returned from Phuket after staying in this hotel for 5 nights (28th June to 3rd July). I chose this hotel from Tripadvisor reviews. We are a couple stayed in this Hotel looking for some peace and calm environment. But we are not really satisfied with this hotel inspite of its good reviews.

First the good part:
1) Location stands out of all in terms of reachability. It is very close to Kata Beach and you have plenty of restaurants both Thai and Western foods, Massage centers and basic shopping places. Most of the tour operators have free pick-up from this Hotel.
2) Breakfast is above average. Not many variations everyday but you have all kind of choices like various breads, donuts, Thai foods and Egg station. We loved it.
3) Clean rooms with mini bar, LCD TVs and about 15 channels of all kinds of languages.
4) Apparently it is a Kids friendly Hotel with so many kids around and there are rooms with little private pools next to the rooms good for kids.

Then Bad:
1) It is over crowded with families, kids and many travellers everywhere. You can't find a good spot to set near a beach, pool area and at Breakfast unless until you get up early morning and reserve your seat. Surprisingly this is a low season and I can't imagine how it would be in High season.
2) It is a very old hotel and used. The interiors, hotel rooms, pool area etc., were seen worn out.
3) Service staff is not really friendly. They do not smile and all sorrow faces except when you are checking in.
4) I have asked for a 'Non-Smoking' room. But I got smoking room in 2nd floor at the 'road side'. When I have enquired about this after getting into the room they told me that rooms are fully booked and no change is possible. So finally ended up in smoky room and with vehicle noise from adjacent road. So suggest booking Deluxe or higher rooms without paying full amount in advance.

and Ugly:

The much anticipated Beach is so not good at all. We have stayed in Nai Yang for a day and the beach there was excellent. But Kata Beach is good only for 'Surf boarders' with very big waves. I can see all the red flags near the beach. The Beach is partly dirty. We haven't got into the water at all when we stayed in this Hotel.

Do I ever stay in this Hotel again? Never again. I will try to find a good another nice Hotel near Karon Beach or in Surin Beach if I ever travel again to Phuket.

But, Phuket is too commercial and expensive place compared to any other Places in Thailand like Pattaya, Koh Samui or Koh Chang. So it is most unlikely that I would visit Phuket again.

Room Tip: DON'T choose any room start with series 12* (except 1218) to avoid noise from adjacent road. Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veeranki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Kata Beach was a great place to stay. The Kata Beach Resort for the package deal was extremely good. Go for the delux room with ocean views. Not a 5 star hotel but due to the price and location is a stand out (5 star for location and value). Room was good, air conditioning good, balcony, nice pool, runs onto the beach, Kata shops outside the front door, reception and room service staff very friendly, buffet breakfast more than sufficient. My partner and I left very satisfied customers. Outside of breakfast did not eat in the hotel. Didn't use the bar fridge. Go to one of the seven eleven stores for beer and soft drink. Wine Connection has just opened best place for wine. We will be back.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the delux ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed here on my honeymoon and it was a pleasure. The hotel was good location to the beach and had a buffet breakfast included. The staff were helpful and polite.

There is a tour operator in the hotel who can help in arranging tours and excursions (highly recommend the Fantasea show).

There was a slight problem with the bathroom one day it was giving out yellow water. But we were moved straight away to another room.

Overall a very nice hotel and very close to the beach and restuarants outside of the hotel. Recommend to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

stayed 9 nights, deluxe room with sea views. Lovely big air-con room with private balcony. Good all round room amenities and room serviced each day. Close to plenty of resturants and shopping. If you are looking for a full on nite life then patong or phuket itself would be for you. We enjoyed the quietier pace of Kata Beach and did visit patong and phuket by bus and taxi. Breakfast each morning was ok with plenty available but you want to be there by 9.30am as we found that they started to clear everthing away and trays were slow to be refilled. We dined out most nights in town, plenty to choose from and all within a 10 minute walk. We used a local tour desk across the road from hotel and were able to pick up tours for up to 50% cheaper than the hotel was providing. All tours we booked included pick up from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannibal611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,145 reviews
1.3 km away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.4 km away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#22 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
773 reviews
0.9 km away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
0.7 km away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#16 of 56 in Kata Beach
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: ₹ 6,384 - ₹ 21,497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beach front resort with complete facilities and amenities for a 4 star resort. All rooms and food & beverage facilities cater to all types of guests whether honeymooners, families, business executives or conference delegates. Ideally located in arguably the best beach of Phuket, Kata. Behind the resort, an array of shops and convenience stores can be easily accessed. Staff Service is to provide all guests the best of Thai hospitality with a dash of genuine care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing