We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

Upon arriving at the hotel the service was so poor, then we decided to upgrade our room to a pool access, do not waste your moneynon an upgrade, I was soooo disappointed with this room that we down graded back to a sea view room which was much brighter.
This hotel needs some major upgrades to match the price, bathroom is horrible and dated, the bed is hard and there are not enough pillows. Now comes the fun part, if you actually want to get to sleep before 3am don't choose this resort, people party in their rooms until very late and then you get prank phone calls on the room phone from about 5am, I was so de aster at all this that we went to the holiday inn in Patong to finish our stay even though we had paid for 6 nights at Kata but could only stand 1 night.

The staff are unpolite. Had to wait for about 10 mins for service at the bar and then Staff seamed angry that they had to serve us. The reception staff were unfriendly and the porter hung around expecting a tip. Breakfast was unappealing and resort staff were stuffing their faces with the food.

The only nice person was the guard.

Don't ruin your holiday by staying here!!!!!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank KazDave143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    561
    267
    130
    75
See reviews for
402
644
53
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silkeborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our first time in Thailand, and Kata Beach Resort was a very good choise, as the ages in our family group was streching from 22 - 75. The location was ideal; we had the lovely beach on our doorstep, very good restaurants in walking distance and overall beautiful surroundings. We found the service very good; everybody was kind, polite and very helpful. Breakfast was very good with lots to choose from. The one negative, I will have to mention, is the usual nightmare with the towels and sunbeds at the pool area. I find it impossible to understand why people see the need to get up before sunrise to reserve "their special spot", many of these guests would return many hours later, some even in the afternoon, whilst others had difficulty even to find a space. I know it must be hard to imply rules for this, but something should be done - it is annoying and unnecessary. We solved the problem by spending most days at the neighbour hotel, where you at a fee could use their fantastic facilities and it was much less crowded. We had dinner several times at The Horn Grill just across the road, and it was a joy every time. We were all absolutely in awe of the polite and friendly attitude of the Thai people.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mycrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Kata Beach Resort has a great position right on the beach which was what I enjoyed. Breakfasts were great. Found out later that were not not upgraded in terms of our travel reservation which was disappointing. Porter who took our bags hung around for a tip and after giving him 100 bhat (had nothing smaller) seemed disgruntled and never smiled even when we saw him at reception later. People on reception didn't seem friendly, though staff at breakfast were. Went there for the location, however came back later and stayed at Metadee which while away from the beach is a wonderful resort for couples.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RACR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Kata Beach Resort and Spa was amazing over any immagination, as we say in Italy. Location (in front of the beach, and iti is rare for a resort in Phuket, we didn’t need to across the street at all) is great, and compared to many others beaches in Phuket, Kata is very good (warm, not wet, large and quiet).
The hotel was really good, clean, silent, quiet, large and never crowded. Pool were good, but the sea was better!!!
Also massages inside pool garden were cheap and good, better than the others on the sandy beach, at the same price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RensRens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed 1 week at this hotel. Went mainly because of the location - on Kata Beach which is supposed to have the best snorkeling. We have not been to Phuket since 1995, so we were anxious to return! Not sure if it was because of the Tsunami or bad time of year, but the visibility for snorkeling was not good. BUT the beach was great! There are MANY umbrellas and chairs that you can rent - just need to work out the system! Each vendor has a group he takes charge of - it cost 100 Baht each for the day. You can arrange with the vendor to have a lounge for the week (or how long), and he will reserve it for you. We found it difficult to get the rows in the front (closest to water) - but as people leave during the week, they become available. We did find that if you are late getting down to the beach - he does rent your lounge to someone else! BUT the system works!
The hotel pool lounge chairs appeared to be full by breakfast. Not a big deal to us because we preferred the beach but if you wanted to use the pool lounges, get there early and put things on chairs! The pool is nice with swim up bar. Happy hour from 5:30-6:30PM. We found the water in the pool a little too warm - because it is so shallow, the sun keeps it warm! It did have a very nice area for little children - shallow and netted in to keep them out of deeper water.
Breakfast was good, although it was the same thing every day. Just like any buffet breakfast, you have to choose differently everyday to get your own variety. The hotel features dinner buffets every night. They are themed. We ate two nights at the hotel because the food looked so good and although expensive for Thailand (999 Baht), was great tasting food - and plenty! We ate the two nights of BBQ - first being seafood night, where you picked your fresh seafood: prawns, shrimp, fish, scallops, lobster - and they BBQ over open fire. It was delicious! The second one was meat BBQ - all kinds of beef, lamb, chicken, pork - pick your own and they grill it for you. Many side dishes to accompany.
We did find a good massage place across the street called, PHU. It was inexpensive and provided salon services as well. My husband got a haircut there. It was frequented by many expat travelers - everyday. They were open until midnight, so we went right before closing to get a aroma message before bed!
The hotel is right on the main street so just walk outside to do shopping and there are many other restaurants available! The hotel is in a great location. We did take taxis to Patong, Kalim, Karon - to shop and eat. The taxi fee does add up - but if you go with several people, you can save a little. The hotel offered their taxis but found better prices just outside the hotel.
Our biggest complaint would be that although the rooms have been renovated and are large, the bed was very hard! Also, could use more pillows!
Overall, great & relaxing vacation. We would go back again!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have great view of sea - worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Expat_Traveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
1.3 km away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 km away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.3 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#23 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.7 km away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.9 km away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,877 - ₹ 15,962
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beach front resort with complete facilities and amenities for a 4 star resort. All rooms and food & beverage facilities cater to all types of guests whether honeymooners, families, business executives or conference delegates. Ideally located in arguably the best beach of Phuket, Kata. Behind the resort, an array of shops and convenience stores can be easily accessed. Staff Service is to provide all guests the best of Thai hospitality with a dash of genuine care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing