We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed here for 14 nights in February, what a beautiful location. Lovely pool with a swim up bar.

Friendly staff, service was good, but not stunning.

Kata has a much more relaxed feel, and is less seedy than the surrounding beaches.

I would recommend upgrading to a beach or pool view room.

Room Tip: Spend the extra to upgrade to a pool/beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mooner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    527
    242
    115
    69
See reviews for
368
593
49
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed 5 nights this hotel, and it really wasn`t in our taste
Breakfast poor, no choice of cheese, every morning I had to ask for it , staff was unpolite or didnt care . Every other hotels we stayd this trip breakfast was really good.

It was on the beach, yes but very crowded one, but it was nice to walk to eat those local restaurants there. I have to say that food was not good in any on them, on Surin Beach and Bangtao they were marvellous.

But Outside in the evenings, there were plenty of choice and good restaurants, I have to mention also a Swedish place Cafe Opera, nice music every night.

room was big and wiew was to see, that was great!

Pool area VERY small, not beds to everyone, and when some people, from east, took several beds to one person, one in sun, one in shadow, it really was irritating.

Are we going back, NO

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Kata Beach Resort and Spa was more than we were expecting, the location couldn't have been any better.

The beach was beautiful, clean & good waves for us surfers!

Everything about the hotel was great, pool, pool bar, beach access & was also hidden away from the street for privacy. There were plenty of activities on hand & nightly functions with themed buffet dinners if that is your thing.

The open air lobby, restaurant & atrium really made a difference to the feeling of the hotel.
All the facilities were n great condition & all the staff were friendly & helpful.

Breakfast selection was very good & general meal choices were all quality. I had the best fried rice meal i have ever had at the restaurant near the street & by private pool, was served up in a pineapple!

The WIFI wasn't the best, but we weren't really there for surfing the web.

Great options nearby for dining out at the location restaurants, all within walking distance. Tuktuk service at the front door or road made it easy for getting to other villages.

We would definitely go back to stay here.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade to a seaview room unless you are going to spend time in your room, standard rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alfi-in-dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Kata Beach resort for our honeymoon in early February. Our agent had advised the resort we were honeymooners so we received our names on the welcome board, a honeymoon cake and bottle of wine as well as a free dinner and spa treatments which was a lovely surprise.

The rooms are clean and tidy however they could do with a spruce. The furniture is quite old with water ring stains on the wood and the bathroom needs a serious upgrade. We also woke up one morning to find out air conditioning had created a pool on the floor - however, after complaining it was very quickly fixed.

The pool area is lovely however the bar staff (and reception staff come to think of it) could use a few lessons in congeniality. The security guard however is just lovely and greeted us with a happy hello every time we walked past.

As mentioned by other reviewers it is very annoying that guests 'bags' sun loungers by waking up very early to put their towels on them - even though this is not allowed and says so in the room's welcome pack.

The view of the beach is gorgeous and we loved having lunch every day at the @ Beach bar. The only downside to the beach is the jellyfish and the people selling fireworks at night which can keep you awake.

The language barrier is quite a big problem - very few of the staff spoke a good amount of English so we struggled quite a bit with that but it was no big drama and was expected.

I found the breakfast to be fine and did not experience the hotel's dinner so can not comment on that however they always had a variety of different themed evenings and we enjoyed the music.

All in all we had a lovely time at Kata Beach resort and would return.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe sea view room. The pool access rooms are nice but on the bottom floor so there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nepean
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for five nights in February and enjoyed our stay. We had been here a couple of years ago and decided to back for the beach. The beach was just as nice, clean and the water is warm. The hotel grounds are very nice and a refuge from the street outside. We enjoyed sitting around the pool and enjoyed the fact that there were lots of umbrellas for shade. The room was ok but we were on the ground floor and it was very dark inside the room as the back was completely blocked in with a balcony above. I would try for a room on a higher floor next time. The breakfast is ok but not up to the standard of the resort. A little more care and variety would be good. I ate dinner on the Thai buffet night and it was very good and the service was good. We also ate at the beach restaurant and the food was good. We enjoyed coffee and drinks at the pool bar but were a little surprised that some of the lunch spicy Thai dishes didn't include rice. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and loved the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NepeanCanteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Boathouse by Montara
Boathouse by Montara
#5 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.3 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#16 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.2 km away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#24 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.5 km away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.0 km away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,214 - ₹ 27,493
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing