We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marion on Nicol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marion on Nicol
Ranked #142 of 227 Hotels in Greater Johannesburg
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed at The Marion during a week log business trip, arrived early on the Monday morning and was picked up by the hotel shuttle, from the moment the guy picked me up to the moment he took me back to the airport on the Thursday night the service, attention to detail and quality of food, furnishing and facilities was first class. Our company as now made The Marion our corporate hotel of choice for stays in Jo'Burg and would recommend it to anyone for a business or vacation stay, its close to the Airport, Sandton and all of the places you'd want to go to within the city and you wont be looked after better than here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    6
    8
    2
See reviews for
4
6
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Me and my husband enjoyed a wonderful easter lunch. The food was amazing!! All the staff was very friendly and helpful. The decor in the hotel was breathtaking!! I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yohanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

First let me say that this is a very beautiful property - small but with everything for a comfortable stay. The room was very nice with a huge bathroom. Unfortunately it had a solid glass wall which meant no privacy when you used the facilities. Not cool. There was a very nice balcony with J-burg off in the distance. The airconditioning was woefully inadequate. The elevator did not work on the day of checkout and we had to carry the bags down some significant stairs. The meals were quite nice - ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner on the property. The staff seemed very nice. However I made the mistake of leaving my camera in my bag as it was taken out to the curb. Somewhere between the lobby and the bus - with me standing not 30 feet away - the camera was lifted from the bag. Without going into all of the details the only person(s) who had access to the bag were employees of the hotel. The unfortunate thing was that this was the start of the trip and we were headed next to Safari. In general you should expect theft at every corner in the Johannesburg area (sadly). I am a very experienced traveler and was shocked that this happened to me. My problem was that I trusted the staff within the confines of the hotel grounds (and please understand that these properties are all walled off, barbed wire tops, with electrified fences and strong gates. No one was around but staff and my group. Enjoy the hotel - but hold on to anything of value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reichen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

It was truly wonderful and we will treasure our stay.

The hotel is magnificent and the room are gorgeous. The staff is so attentive and amazing, We had the most magnificent meal on Saturday night and a spectacular breakfast. The spa treatements were decadent too.

Wow - what an experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatJHB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greater Johannesburg hotels
5.1 km away
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
6.7 km away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Raphael Penthouse Suites
Raphael Penthouse Suites
#33 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
5.3 km away
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.1 km away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#14 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marion on Nicol? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marion on Nicol

Property: The Marion on Nicol
Address: Corner Stirling & Hamilton | Hurlingham, 2132, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Greater Johannesburg
#92 Luxury Hotel in Greater Johannesburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,213 - ₹ 13,572
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marion on Nicol 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marion on Nicol is a Boutique Hotel of Distinction that offers a tranquil and lavish retreat from the bustle of nearby Sandton and Johannesburg. The hotel prides itself in offering a unique brand of South African hospitality. Our discreet attention to detail will ensure that your experience is one of memorable elegance and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Marion on Nicol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marion On Nicol Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing