We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great accommodation & food & the best staff ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cartwright Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cartwright Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aynho
Certificate of Excellence
Uttoxeter, Staffs
1 review
“Great accommodation & food & the best staff ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Came on Travelzoo offer with 3 other girls, we had a fantastic time. The rooms were lovely, spacious & clean. Food was great, lots of choice & there was no skimping on the portion size! 3 courses both evenings & as much as you could want for breakfast. Real value for money. The staff were great, very helpful, always around & really friendly. Special mention to Gary who made our evenings so much fun! We had some great banter with him & he even remembered our fave drinks from the night before! As Gillian M say's in her review 'he's such sweetie.' Hope you read these Gary, there's a lot of praise for you here! Ha!

All in all one of the best places I've stayed, would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    100
    35
    19
    7
See reviews for
59
192
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed at the Cartwright Hotek for 2 nights in February through an online deal. The hotel exceeded expectations- it is a lovely old inn and stables converted into a modern and very comfortable hotel. The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful on arrival. Our room was upstairs in the main building - initially we were a bit concerned as it was above the archway to the carpark (and the weather was very cold) but this wasn't an issue at all, the room was really warm and quiet.
The bar staff were very friendly and welcoming. We had a champagne cream tea included in the offer, and they allowed us to save the glass of champagne to have with dinner instead. The deal also included dinner on both nights- we were really impressed with the food & service. Breakfasts were lovely- we chose to have it in our room on the 2nd day for a small charge, and it was delivered hot and on time.
Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel- welcoming, comfortable, good food, and good location for exploring the Cotswolds and oxford.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariogriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends over a weekend. Found it via a Travel Zoo offer and cannot fault. The Rooms were spacious - telly in both lounge and bedroom. Bed was MASSIVE and comfortable. Bathroom ample and shower good.

Our deal included 3 course eve meal on first night from a la carte menu (everyone cleared their plates) and 3 course meal from the table d-hote menu on the second night (again all plates cleared). We also each got free entry to Blenheim Palace which we took up and had a great day.

Drinks were reasonable price and staff very friendly and helpful.

Beautiful area - would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Our room was spacious and bathroom was enormous, well suited to wheelchair access. The food was very good, well presented and served with care. Breakfast was very good using local produce and there was lots of choice. The staff were helpful, friendly and working long hours. Altogether a very repeatable experience, would certainly go back to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbak17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed for a weekend break with friends on a Travelzoo deal.The hotel and staff were all very friendly and helpful,nothing was too much trouble.The room was warm and comfortable with a very comfy bed.The food was impressive with 3 courses each evening.Would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clionettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aynho
5.0 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
18.0 km away
Villiers Hotel
Villiers Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buckingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
39.4 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
13.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
9.6 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartwright Hotel

Property: Cartwright Hotel
Address: 1-5 Croughton Road, Aynho OX17 3BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Aynho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aynho
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,622 - ₹ 13,448
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cartwright Hotel has 21 fully re-furbished en-suite bedrooms - each individually designed, beautifully furnished, with flat screen digital TV, hospitality trays, and free WIFI. The restaurant is popular with local diners as well as hotel residents and offers a delightful a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. The Apricot Room is ideal for functions, hosting up to 60 people, fully air-conditioned and able to host wedding receptions, private dining, and conferencing. The Cartwright is ideally situated for visits to Bicester Village Designer Shopping Village, Silverstone, Blenheim Palace, many other Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing