We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love sunsets, you'll like this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puesto del Sol Private Villa Resort
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We scouted the area before deciding to go with this resort. Beach swimming and activities were not a priority for us as we just wanted to lounge around and relax on a weekday. We went ahead with this resort because 1.) Reviews was quite good and says it has a great view of the coastline. 2.) That sunset view.

This resort is perched above a hill and is quite secluded (a plus for me). It was in the middle of a weekday when we went there so we were the only guest of the resort for that day. Upon inquiring, we were quite dismayed thought that they were only currently accepting cash. As we have already chosen this resort, we had to go back to Calatagan town proper to withdraw money for our stay. Nevertheless, no biggie for us as we used that opportunity to buy a few items and snacks at the town grocery store. Room was ok, we occupied the Cecilia villa. Food was ok as well with good serving portions. But the highlighted of our stay is definitely the sunset view. We just stayed around the pool area while watching the sunset. We had dinner after and capped off the day with some drinks on the high view deck overlooking the coastline and the islands of Mindoro and Lubang. There a few things they can improve with regards to the service and facilities but overall we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Better to reserve via a travel website, else you'll end up paying in cash when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Really worth a visit. Very nice and great staff... great location. Nice rooms. Food was good too. We will come back again on our next trip to the Philiippines. Maybe in 2018. Thank you for the accomondation. Have a great day

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Had a great time at Puesto del Sol. Resort is clean and food is Great. What amazes me is the way people assisted us. Trina from the Sales team is the BEST. She was the one who arranged everything. She gave us a royal treatment from check in to check out.She made sure our stay was perfect by always asking us what our needs and wants and she exceeded all our expectation. Truly a great asset to this best resort in Batangas. Also like to commend Nemmie from the Reception who gave us a good first impression as she is the one who handled check in and gave us warmth hospitality the entire stay. I would definitely come back and recommend to Family and Friends. Great place.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank henry_pagsi1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

kind of far but the place is beautiful.good for family outing. the room is big to accommodate each members. the view is breathtaking. you can see the vast ocean. you can still bring food, you just have to add additional fee for it.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank renrose0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Roads are kind of sketchy especially to people who are only new to driving or to those who do not have that much experience in driving. When we got there at around 1:30 (Check in time is at 2), it was freaking hot, like sunburn hot and we were expecting our room to be clean and ready - the receptionist told us that we would be checking in late because apparently they haven't readied the room yet. This was a bit annoying because they could've told us in advance through email, text or call - but this was still understandable. The resort on it's own is beautiful, especially the view. Beach is 5-10 mins away, we had a bad experience here with the staff. We asked the staff if they could get us a trike to take us to the beach because we didn't have a car at that moment. We were asking for recommendations for beaches also because we weren't familiar with the place at all, the recep told us to go to Caisip beach so the trike took us to a beach (bit dirty, magulo etc) and we paid the trike 200 pesos (50 bucks per head) tapos a person from the beach said that the beach was closed for outsiders pala. Sayang money and time :( So we waited for an hour for another trike (called the resort for this), got to the trike and looked for other beaches and of course paid more for it. We wasted about almost 2 hours of the day because of that, wish we were informed about the beaches, fees etc more. Also, the food is a bit disappointing. We ordered the all day bfast for lunch on our first day. We were ordering different things tapos wala na pala, like the food wasn't available. If they informed us early on that certain food weren't available, it would've been easier for everyone para hindi na pabalik balik. Plus, the food portion was small. See picture for longganisa breakfast - they gave us 2 small pieces lang and egg for 150 bucks. When ordering coffee, when you ask for ice (para iced coffee) you have to add 15 pesos.

All in all, stay here for the nice view, nice pool and great for pictures but don't expect much from everything else. Staff were nice naman but need training - this could easily be done, I think.

Tips:
- If possible, bring your own car talaga and make sure that your car is available at all times (driver and car left us kasi for the day), super hassle to get tricycles and to walk
- Remember that the food is average lang, 75 pesos yung iced tea nila so ganun prices, corkage for food and drinks is 2000 bucks though pwede naman daw magdala ng chips and water
- If you want to go drinking or if you have your own food and drinks, I recommend go to the beach na lang and eat/drink there so hindi na kayo magbabayad ng corkage cause that's what we did for some parts of our stay

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kimberlyongf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calatagan
20.2 km away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Lian
198 reviews
24.6 km away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
296 reviews
19.3 km away
Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 km away
Sea's Spring Resort Hotel
Sea's Spring Resort Hotel
#9 of 10 in Batangas City
77 reviews
17.4 km away
White Castle Resort & Hotel
0.0 km away
Villa Del Faro
Villa Del Faro
#3 of 5 in Calatagan
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puesto del Sol Private Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puesto del Sol Private Villa Resort

Address: Bagong Silang, Calatagan, Luzon 4215, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Calatagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Calatagan
Price Range: ₹ 6,059 - ₹ 6,124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the Calatagan Hills, Puesto del Sol is an exclusive resort a few minutes away from the beaches of Batangas. With lush greenery and fresh air, the resort offers its guest a return to nature feel with the most basic of modern conveniences available upon request. Rejuvinative and meditative, Puesto del Sol is a serene place under the sun. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Puesto Del Sol Private Villa Resort Calatagan, Batangas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing