We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
113
129
43
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
129
43
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai restaurant a family run hotel penshaw monument good size dual carriageway bar meals real ale breakfast is served bed and breakfast visiting family busy road twin room easy access business trip couldn't fault one night stay full english
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Great location on main bus route and A1 access,agree with other comments and would use again .The Hotel was full with a combination of workers and holidaying people some going to the Miners Gala at Durham which we were not aware of but went and had a look and it was very busy.We used the Day rover bus service to go to Durham and the Tall ships as the bus stop is out side the hotel and all the roads were closed off in Sunderland and Durham.We could have used the park and ride but it seemed daft to drive miles away when the frequent bus was door to door and no hassle with the traffic.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ArnieHudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we could not have felt more welcome. The hotel is well situated and easy to find. The bar is well stocked and spacious and the Thai restaurant is worth a visit. An excellent base for exploring the region.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RedRobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Always get a friendly greeting and homely atmosphere. The food in the restraunt is second to none and after going there for many years will continue to visit. Everything is authentic Thai with atmospheric surroundings throughout. They cater for every occasion from bed and breakfast to wedding receptions.
I recommend Highfield Hotel/Star of Siam with confidence.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Premium room has balcony with a great view for miles . Room absolutely lovely clean and spacious . Thai restaurant food gorgeous , prawn curry to die for . Set meal in with our reservation booking - starter , main (4dishes) rive & desert . Bar nice and traditional and the locals are really inclusive . Overall a fab stay and we will be coming back

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JueKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here along with a few other friends for a funeral, hotel was accommodating and helpful. I had forgotten a few key items which family left at reception for me and they bought up an iron very quickly.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Saffron1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews