We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Ultimate Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Malvanua Island from the air Free use of kayaks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Malvanua Island from the air
Free use of kayaks
Bedrooms have ceiling fans and plenty of screened louvre windows for maximum ventilation.
Your own private beach.
Hammocks, gas BBQ and outside dining table on the deck.
Outside shower so you can rinse off when you come out of the sea.
En suite shower rooms
Turtles nest on the island Nov to Dec, babies hatch mid-late Jan and Feb
We can't guarantee you will see turtles as they nest and hatch at night but they are very cute
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Luganville, Espiritu Santo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pod610
Ipswich, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Ultimate Getaway”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It is hard what to talk about first, the island offered the most tranquil and beautiful surroundings for a holiday like no other.

Relaxation was easy to achieve with the sounds of the water lapping only meters from the house making it easy to forget that the rest of the world was still operating

The unbelievably clear water was great for kayaking and watching the fish and sting rays underneath.

The Blue Hole was a must do and provided the ultimate peaceful kayak and photo opportunities

Turtle island was a short kayak away and to wander on this deserted island and snorkel in the calm water was a highlight.

Torquil and Marianne were the “ultimate hosts”. They ensured that there was food and other essentials in the fridge and cupboard upon our arrival so that we didnt have to tackle the shops after our travel day, and were available to assist where needed, whilst ensuring that the isolation of being on their (or should I say OUR) island was guaranteed. They were more than willing to take us to town as required and Torquils knowledge of the local layout and places to shop made getting supplies an educational experience and not a chore.

We thought taking two teenage boys to a place with little internet access was going to be a challenge, however the beautiful location, several islands to explore and the kayaks helped to ensure that they did not get bored.

The selection of DVDs gave us something to do at night and the boardgames were well utilised sitting on the front porch/verandah gave us something to do when we wanted to stay out of the sun.

This is a highly recommended spot to holiday especially if you want to enjoy a relaxing and scenic location and escape the world.

This was our first time to Malvanua Island, but will definitely not be our last.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and Tranquility
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenross20...
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant - a tropical haven that exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had an outstanding 10 day stay on Malvanua. Marianne and Torq were wonderful hosts that went 110% in terms of making our stay enjoyable. It was like being on your own island, and in contrast to other accommodation providers, at Malvanua one enjoys total privacy and freedom from the background noise of resorts/hotels. Getting to and from the mainland wasn't a problem (it's easily crossed in a kayak over sheltered water) and Torq was more than happy to act as aqua taxi, ran us to the market, and facilitated our day trips out and around Santo. From the morning we arrived we settled into a relaxed pace, listening to Kingfishers and the shifting tide. It was just what we needed after a busy period of work - we still feel relaxed two weeks after our return home. Malvanua's location between Oyster island and Turtle bay resorts meant eating out and cocktails was a short paddle by kayak - no problem even at night. For us self-catering was a real advantage. It gave us the chance to utilise the amazing local produce purchased at the market, and was much less expensive that eating out.
It's likely we will go back and stay at Malvanua in the near future. My fear is that once it becomes well known, we'll have trouble finding a time when it's not already booked by someone else!
Many thanks Torq and Marianne.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had the absolute holiday of a lifetime when we stayed at Malvanua Island for two weeks in July. Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor, we were reluctant about booking as we thought it can't be as great as it sounds - turns out, it was.
From pickup at Luganville airport to drop off two weeks later, we relaxed, explored, ate, fished, swam, slept, sunbathed, read and generally had the most amazing family holiday.
There was NOTHING that was too much trouble for Torq (host) to organise. We arrived as strangers and left feeling like we were saying goodbye to a favourite uncle.
Trips to the market, town, post office, banks, the local pub, even a Torq Tour to Port Olry,another blue hole and the rodeo were highlights of our trip, where Torq's willingness to include us and our 5 & 7 year old children were unbelievable.
Torq was ever helpful, but entirely respectful of our privacy and time and would prearrange times to drop off fresh made bread, trips and general visits, so as not to disturb us. As well as fresh made bread we were treated to homegrown fruit and veges, eggs, oysters and fish. He even produced fishing rods and tackle for our mad keen 7 year old son to fish off the beach - then lifted the bench mark even higher by organising fishing off the barge with himself, our family and his Ni-Van gardener - complete with spearing bait fish (Master 7 year olds eyes nearly popped out at that, and this became a much talked about holiday memory).
We made use of the kayaks and paddled over to the small island alongside Malvanua as well as over to the blue hole on Santo - a spectacular thing to do.
There was NOTHING we had to really think about on this holiday - true to their offer, they went shopping prior to our arrival for supplies and then took us regularly to town - or offered to get things for us while they were in town!! Pick up from the airport was easy and the first trip over to the island in the dark was exciting and very manageable.
We have every intention of returning in 2016 and expect that this wonderful island, beautifully appointed house and AMAZING hosts will be well patronised by returning guests.

Miss you Torq :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and host
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coaching1...
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent and Quality stay for the family”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My family stayed at this excellent place for a short stay. The quality of the facilities and services was brilliant on this island. We had a great time relaxing, kayaking and visiting the close by resorts and tourist spots. The owner was a helpful and respectful, refreshing delight of anecdotal information to enhance our stay. We enjoyed the rest and relaxation and the time on an Island to ourselves. It is a peaceful and great fun place to stay with a family. Also, I am sure a great place for a romantic holiday as privacy is assured.

I wished I could have stayed their forever as the place has a wonderful atmosphere as a getaway destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniTasma...
Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Malvanua was the perfect getaway for our family. From our first enquiry and booking confirmation, pick up from the airport and throughout the too-short four night stay, the care and attention to detail was faultless.
What we loved: the location; the comfortable, modern and spotlessly clean beach house; the kayaks; the reasonable paddling distance to Turtle Bay and to Oyster Ilsand when we didn't feel like cooking; the lovely fresh eggs and home-baked bread that Torquil brought us and also the fruit that Frederick brought us; the efficient and friendly way that Marianne handled our booking and our many questions; and most importantly, the peace and quiet.
I've undersold this amazing place. Just go and discover it yourself.
Thank you Marianne, Torquil, Frederick (and Rusty) for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way we were made to feel welcome
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing