We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Malvanua Island from the air Free use of kayaks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Malvanua Island from the air
Free use of kayaks
Bedrooms have ceiling fans and plenty of screened louvre windows for maximum ventilation.
Your own private beach.
Hammocks, gas BBQ and outside dining table on the deck.
Outside shower so you can rinse off when you come out of the sea.
En suite shower rooms
Turtles nest on the island Nov to Dec, babies hatch mid-late Jan and Feb
We can't guarantee you will see turtles as they nest and hatch at night but they are very cute
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Luganville, Espiritu Santo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charlie L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here over the new year and had an amazing time. We'd just come from Malekula, so the comfortable bed and warm showers, combined with the icy cold beer prestocked in the fridge made it feel like heaven. The owners looked after us tremendously well and they could not have been more welcoming - whilst at the same time ensuring we had all the privacy we wanted. We used the provided sea kayaks to paddle across the nearby blue hole one afternoon which was a blast. Will be recommending the island to both family and friends and hope to be back soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maren375
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heavenly solitude”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We (a couple) stayed a week in May at Malvanua Island Beach House and absolutely loved it. We stayed at Port Vila prior to our holiday and were pleasantly surprised that Santo is quite different from Port Vila with much less traffic and air pollution from ancient cars. We were picked up from the airport by Torquil who took us to the shops and market before going to the beach house so we could do all the food shopping there and then. The beach house is on a small private island not far from the main island Santo with no other house on the island except for the owners. Their house is on the other side of the island (which you don't see or hear). The beach house is spacious and very clean and functional with 2 bedrooms (with en-suite bathrooms) separated by a good sized lounge/kitchen/open space living area. That makes it ideal for a family with kids or 2 couples and plenty of space for just one couple. The owners are absolutely lovely and did everything they could to make our stay so wonderful. We were even given freshly (home) baked bread which was delicious and when the bread was finished Marianne would bake us another fresh one. The owners also have some animals, fruit trees and a herbal garden, so we were provided with fresh eggs, fruits and herbs also, resulting in fresh and delicious food throughout our stay. If we needed to go for food shopping, Torquil would take us to Luganville to go to the shops and market. Choices are limited, but there is usually beef which is absolutely delicious.
The best thing about Malvanua Island Beach house is the absence of neighbours which makes this house absolutely peaceful and quiet. It is the ideal place to unwind and recharge your batteries. There is only the beach, the sea and the house and no one to disturb your solitude. The beach is fantastic for swimming as there are no corals. You can also go snorkeling to the other side of the island where there are plenty of corals. There are also 2 kayaks for free usage. If the weather is bad, there is a DVD player in the house and plenty of books. We spent most days just relaxing and only went swimming 2-3 times a day despite the fact we are usually quite active people. However, this place was so inviting just to stay put and do nothing else but relax in the sun and watch the beautiful sunset that we did just that for most days. There were hardly any mosquitoes which made relaxing with a book on the veranda a real pleasure. We would have loved to stay another week. For us this was true paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peace and quietness
Liked least: To leave the place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
We really enjoyed meeting you both and glad you enjoyed Malvanua - many thanks for taking the time to do a review as I know you have been busy since you got back. Time for another holiday?????!
Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gekelly
Adelaide Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Such an island paradise”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

WOW, this is the place to stay on Santo Island. We stayed for 3 nights with our two children (aged 7 and 9) and wished we had booked a week! All enquiries and bookings were quickly administered by Marianne via email and no questions were unanswered. We were collected at the airport by Torq and driven in "the Beast" (his ute) to his landing where we were loaded onto the barge for our trip onto our "own" private island. Even though Marianne and Torq live on the other side of the island, only 200 metres away through a thick rainforest, you felt as though you are all alone and isolated. However, they were only a quick phone call away if needed and responded very quickly to our calls.

We were very interested to hear how 2 Scots ended up buying their own island in Vanuatu and how they managed to build their own home and then the holiday house in a foreign country. Torq was happy to chat about his story and how he got there. he interacted beautifully with our girls, answering their questions and showing them their ducks and chooks one afternoon.

They arranged a pantry shop before we arrived as we came on a Sunday. There was delicious Santo beef steaks for the BBQ, salad ingredients, fresh eggs from their chooks, a fresh loaf of homemade bread baked by Marianne, butter, milk and lovely tropical fruit. We enjoyed a great BBQ the first night.

Instead of us spending time the next day going into Luganville to get more supplies we passed on our shopping list to Torq and he did the shop for us, we paid him when he returned. Don't forget to ask him to get some banana chips from the market, they are seriously good. We requested some fish for the BBQ for another night and they gave us some great wahoo fillets from their own freezer. Torq goes out fishing once a month to stock up the supplies!

The house had all you could need for a relaxing time. One Queen bedroom on one side of the living area and a twin room on the other. Each had it's own large ensuite bathroom with quality fittings and a great shower. It was lovely to shower with the louvres open looking into the surrounding forest. And don't worry about privacy, Torq and Marianne never arrived unannounced!! The beds were comfy and the morning view looking out of the beach was lovely.

Prior to us arriving Marianne had arranged a few activities for us at our request. We did horse riding at Santo Horse Adventures at the nearby Lope Lope Lodge and the Mount Hope Waterfall Tour from the next door Oyster Island. Both are highly recommended. Torq and Marianne arranged all the transfers and time tables and would let us know what time they would be around to take us on the "barge" across to the mainland. We felt like they were our own tour operators!!!

The atmosphere was so relaxing, sitting on your own little beach looking out over the lagoon, kayaking around the island and to the mainland, walking the forest trail around the island, exploring for hermit crabs, enjoying a coffee on the deck looking for sting rays or turtles seen occasionally across the water, listening to the sounds of the forest, exploring the reef at low tide for crabs, fish and eels.

The only problem we had with the house was that we could not turn the TV on, remembering that there is no TV reception but it can be used to watch DVD's. The first night a quick call to Torq had him walking over and getting it working. The next time even he couldn't get it on, so we said don't worry, we didn't really need to watch a movie but a few minutes later he was back again with another TV he had found in his back cupboard that he had carried in the dark through the forest for us!! Nothing was too much trouble for them.

We ate out at 2 locations all within close distance. One night we kayaked to Turtle Bay resort which was on the mainland not far away. We took a change of pants so what we didn't have to sit in our wet boardies! Kayaking back in the dark with our head lamps on added to the adventure. We also had lunch at Oyster Island after our Mount Hope tour and then one of their ferrymen brought us back in his "speedboat" which our girls loved.

All in all, it was a fantastic experience and one we would not hesitate to do again and recommend to all that will listen to us! Torq and Marianne are fantastic hosts, their island is a little piece of South Pacific paradise that you should all visit.

We hope to be back again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet and the wonderful hosts, Torq and Marianne
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
So glad you enjoyed your holiday here and thanks for lovely review. Hope you can all come back for another visit some time.(Still waiting for the ducklings to hatch but will send photo to the girls when they do!)
Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
304Helen
Gympie, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcome Home!!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We are a party of 5; Dad, Mum and 3 Adult Children and have just(reluctantly) returned after spending 12 nights at our own private beach HOME... I say Home, as even though our very accommodating hosts and rightful owners: Torquil & Maryanne shared their Island with our Family, their house was on the opposite side. Far enough away to feel secluded, but as close as a phone call when we needed a short 10 minute lift across the azure water of our private beach to the mainland!
The two roomy bedrooms each have their own bathroom, so no queuing necessary... Designed to capture the sea breeze, both bedrooms and bathrooms had screened louvers which assisted in a constant airflow, without the bugs! Ceiling fans, which were only needed on the hottest evenings could be found in both bedrooms and in the large central Lounge/Dining room. Each bedroom had adequate shelving/hanging wardrobe space with coat hangers supplied. Screened, sliding doors from both bedrooms allowed maximum freedom to the outdoors!
On previous visits to beautiful Espiritu Santo, only 2hrs 35 mins direct flight from Brisbane, we have stayed at resorts, have eaten too much on set meal plans at set meal times. Whilst this has always been enjoyable, Malvanua Island Beach House's well equipted kitchen allowed us to self cater on this holiday. An experience that saw us make a couple of shopping trips to Luganville, guided by Torquil & Maryanne's best shopping spots which allowed us to make good use of the BBQ to cook everything from delicious Santo Eye Fillet steaks to tasty sausages, accompanied by fresh, homemade wholemeal bread (Thank you again, Maryanne) and fresh produce and the sweetest fruit for dessert, purchased at the local market! It felt that we were preparing a no fuss tropical feast at each meal which were enjoyed on our large front deck at the table and benches, made by the talented Torquil and large enough to host us all! Time spent together preparing meals and cleaning up after, hardly felt like a chore, instead it allowed a family bonding. After Tea, sun loungers beckoned on our beach to soak up the serenity and beauty of the evenings, whilst a movie was being watched by others in the Lounge room... So, the house allowed contact or space and having found our own Private NIRVANA, I did consider NOT posting this review, so as we may never have to play the Tourist again!
Also supplied were the Kayaks. The option to exercise and visit Oyster Island or the blue hole, near Oyster Island or Turtle Bay Resort all a short paddle away.
Thank you, again Torquil & Maryanne... We had a most memorable FAMILY holiday and we will be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like a Home away from Home
Liked least: Saying Goodbye
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary O
Luganville, Vanuatu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway for two! ... or more.”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed on this beautiful private island for two days and wish it could have been for more.

The house is really well designed and will easily cater for either two couples or a family with children. The kitchen is equipped with all you need to cook up a storm, the bedrooms either side of the main living area, both have en suites and are spacious with views across the bay.

There are several 'spaces' within the indoor living area for you to spread out and enjoy and the deck with it's large picnic bench is great spot for watching the sunset. During the day the warm tropical waters only meters away are great for swimming, snorkelling and kayaking.

The owners, Torquil and Maryanne live on the other side of the island and are happy to provide as much or as little assistance as you may need.

We'll definitely be back, but for longer next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being on out own little island!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing