We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
15
11
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
11
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop sheetburner stoveday tripperscomplimentary breakfastbottled watervisiting portevery morninglonnoc beachport olrylobstermauricepigstoiletculturevillagefishingfridge
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We spent a lovely 3 nights at Little Paradise, Port Olry in July. Port Olry is a substantial French-speaking Catholic village with a church, school and medical clinic. Tarcisius manages the Little Paradise Bungalows, which are situated on the edge of the village, fronting the spectacularly beautiful beach.

The accommodation is fairly basic and very well priced – a leaf hut with shared toilet facilities. The plusses included a front verandah with a concrete slab (great for eating breakfast, playing cards, or taking shelter from the rain) and a gas ring so that we could make our own tea/coffee or 2-minute noodles. The only minus was a general sense that cleaning and maintenance had been let go a bit, eg. state of the shared toilet, periodic lack of toilet paper and faintly mildewy mattress and pillow.

However, the beautiful aqua coloured water made up for everything. The beach is simply stunning. We had read about the regular sightings of turtles – we were either unobservant or the turtles didn’t like the windy weather we experienced. We had lovely meals at the Little Paradise Restaurant – a lovely open-sided restaurant right on the beach. Peter cooked us some fabulous meals there, including a memorable fish and tapioca chips.

Tarcisius was not much in evidence during our stay. We were pretty well left to our own devices, and very happily mooched around for a couple of days – walking around the village, swimming in the aqua water, taking a “kenu” across to the offshore islands for snorkeling, and playing endless games of cards. Village activities went on around us, and we shared the beach with the cows, hens and roosters (a novelty for our boys!) The generator would go on for a few hours in the evening, but we found that we were bunking down before lights off. There is nothing better than drifting off to the sounds of the waves, the wind and roosters confused by a full moon!

Would definitely recommend a visit to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SampsonSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We were picked up from our accommodation by Tarcisius (the owner) and taken to Little Paradise for 5000V which was cheaper than going with a taxi (although a bus leaves the unity shell garage for a few hundred Vatu but only once a day) and also includes a mini tour along the way, stopping at Nanda's Blue Hole and a plantation as well as being shown the process of making coconut oil.
As soon as we arrived in Port Olry our jaws just dropped, the place is stunning and the beach was the best we had seen in Vanuatu. We didn't even bother going to Champagne beach or Lonnoc beach which we heard were nice because what is the point really when you have beautiful water, sand and scenery on your doorstep anyway. The snorkeling is good there as well and if you walk left out of the accommodation to the reef at the end of the beach, it is almost guarenteed you'll see some turtles popping up for air.
The restaurant at Little Paradise served really nice food although it was slightly on the pricey side. We went to a restaurant in the village and found it was just as pricey.
The room was really cool and we had complimentary breakfast consisting of bread and fruit waiting outside for us every morning.
If you get the weather, this place is just amazing!

The village has its own power supply and you can get electricity from around 6am-9am and 6pm-10pm every day apart from sunday when its on pretty much all day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed at Little Paradise Bungalows for three nights in April and absolutely loved it!! The bungalows are very rustic (think bare wood floors, thin mattresses) but the location is unbeatable. Port Olry is situated on the most beautiful beach in Santo and has great snorkelling opportunities around the nearby Dolphin Island.

Tarcisius, the manager, speaks French and English and is a great host. He has two or three main bungalows in the village itself, and two other bungalows a little further down the beach (but still an easy walk to ‘town’).

We stayed in the two bungalows a bit further away- we had a shared shower & flush toilet and a little verandah where breakfast was served every morning. There is a restaurant in the village that serves lunch & dinner (you have to let Jon, the owner, know in advance you are coming) and Jon will also invite you to see how lap-lap (traditional dish) is made at the house behind the restaurant.

If you are looking for five star luxury don’t come here….but if you’re looking for a very special, unique and beautiful place off the beaten track then Port Olry is definitely for you.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HPoppelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful time staying in one of Tarcisius Alget's bungalow's at Port Olry last month.

It was an amazing experience. We were greeted by his family on arrival with their pet parrot and fruit bat. Turtles were swimming in the shallows at the beach that was only footsteps away.

Each day we watched the locals go out fishing in their home made outriiggers . We were so thrilled when they returned with loads of fish, as we knew that would be our dinner.

In the afternoons we were joined by local musicians and we had jam sessions with the harmonicas we brought from home.

The local children loved practising their French and often came up to say 'hello'. The beach was delightful and teeming with life - little crabs of varying types, bright blue starfish. At low tide you could walk to other islands- but beware of stepping on live coral!!

We go tto try wonderful fruits and nuts, straight from the trees- even the fruit of the cacao, when Tarcisius took us for walks. '
The little restaurant was a delight and very inexpensive at 600Vt per meal ( some of which consisted of huge quantities of freach barbequed fish).

The people are very friendly and chatty and love to teach their national language- Bislama.

I highly recommend this place to anyone in search of an 'up close' Vanuatu experience.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Theamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews