We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy dirty and full of travellers”

Wetherspoons The Swan Hotel
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 18
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Come and join us for a few drinks or a meal, we have a full menu available from 6am to 11pm Tuesday to Friday and from 7am to 11pm Saturday to Monday. We serve breakfast until noon daily. We have a range of Club's: Monday is Mexican Monday - try our Burritos Tuesday is Steak Club - our 14oz Angus is tremendous Wednesday is Chicken Club - come try our hot and spicy wings 30 for £10! Thursday is our Curry Club - take it easy with a Korma or treat your friend to a Vindaloo Friday is Fish Friday - Our hand battered cod is delicious. Our drinks range is excellent with at least 6 real ales on at all times, a great Craft Beer range and a wide range of spirits with high end Gin's and Vodka's. We also raise funds regularly for CLIC and have raffles, bake sales, bonus balls etc
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Awful place, dirty, dark and dingy, tables overflowing with dirty plates and glasses. Your feet stick to the carpet when you walk round there, chewing gum stuck underneath the tables....nice.. Staff are worse than useless at the best of times, totally uninterested and spend most of their time in the corridor playing on their phones. Traveling community and their kids allowed to run riot round the pub, pinching cutlery and napkins off the table while you trying to eat. Lots of unsavoury characters, it's more like a drop in centre than a pub/restaurant. The food is rubbish, either lukewarm or stone cold, that's if they get your order right. Avoid like the plague there are far nicer places to eat and have a drink in the town.

    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Evonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Wetherspoons The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your review I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us, if you can provide me with the date of your poor visit I will look in to this further.
swanhotel@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

meet up with 4 friends for sat lunch and drinks all ways good value very good food nice and hot and good quality good priced drinks staff are all ways friendly and helpful and very good value

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Riginald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Wetherspoons The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Good Evening Thank for your super review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

This was our second stay at the swan. The first visit we stayed in a family room this time it was just me and my other half. The room was small but had everything we needed for an overnight stay. The bed was comfy and the room was warm. The view was of a wall but again that didn't bother us. We didn't notice any noise from the bat when we came back in the evening. The ensuite was functional and it was nice to have the option of a bath as well as a shower. The room had plenty of tea and coffee and top ups were available at reception. The biscuits were a bonus! Breccy was the usual Weatherspoon fare but made good hangover medicine! If visiting family will stay again.

Thank Sarahbird33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Wetherspoons The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Good Evening Thank for your super review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Had arranged to meet friends at the advertised JDWetherspoons Real Ale & Cider festival with plans of a meal as the afternoon progressed. The festival turned out to be 3 of the advertised 30 Real Ales being offered, with only two of them connected! After walking through a food littered floor to try and find a clean table, we then found ourselves among some rather unsavoury characters. Needless to say we made alternate plans! (This was all in the afternoon of Wednesday 14th March)!

Thank Double T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Wetherspoons The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your review, I am sorry you did not find the ales we had on to your liking.
That day we had on 2 Adnams ales Old Ale and Ghostship, we also had the festival ale Gunhill and 2 additional festival ales as well as our regular 3 ales Ruddles, Abbot and Doom Bar.
We have blackboards which show the available ales at the time and I can assure you all 8 of those were on sale on that day.
With regards to the tables being dirty I have investigated on cctv and cannot find the areas you mention, should you wish to discuss this further please email me on swanhotel@jdwetherspoon.co.uk
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

You cannot fault Wetherspoons on their value for money, and reasonable quality of both food and drinks. On a Monday night a perfectly good 16oz rump steak with chips, peas, tomato, mushroom and a drink was under £14 quid along with an Empire State Burger c/w cheese and bacon served up with chips and onion rings with a pint for £8.75, so you really can’t go wrong.
The service was reasonable too, with the food rocking up after about 15/ 20 minutes and all being perfectly warm and ready to go.

The slight problem with this formula of cheap alcohol is it also attracts some unsavoury characters such as the Leighton Buzzard Gangsta’s “innit” that were sounding off in one of the corners. I am sure the staff must have enough grief from these types, and it certainly doesn’t endear itself to many of the punters who just want to go out for the evening and have a bit of a chat and something to eat and drink.

Obviously, the Spoons brand works like this and is very successful for them, but they need to be careful that they don’t lose sight of the majority that are filling the coffers!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jpcheshire2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Wetherspoons The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Good Evening Thank for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you enjoyed your meal with us. Thank you for your comments, We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wetherspoons The Swan Hotel also viewed

Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Wingfield, Leighton Buzzard
 
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Wetherspoons The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing