We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks Flavour”
Review of Relish

Relish
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Returning to Nottingham Road after about a year, and seeking out Relish for lunch, I was disappointed.
The Junction has a gorgeous play area with zip lining for the kids.
Milkshake was great.
Service was poor and food was tasteless.
Our order, Chicken Burger, Beef Burger and Spagetti with Meatballs.
The burgers were meat on a bun.
The chicken burger bun was sopping wet, apparently with hollandaise sauce.
The chicken was overcooked and dry.
We asked for chilli sauce, to which our waitron told us there was none. Only for us to see a fellow customer with sauce.
Utterly disappointed we asked for our bill and paid.
I complained to our waiter who called the owner.
Chris apologised gave me a refund on my meal however that doesn't change our bad experience.

Thank Lushe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There was hardly anything that we could eat on this menu. We decided on chicken
which they had run out of!!!! Planning??? All we had was a glass of water and moved on.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Owner at Relish, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Day
I am so sorry you had a bad experience at our restaurant. We are so Sorry we ran out of the baby Chicken. We did have everything else on our menu though: Ribs, Steak, Pizzas, Burgers, Seafood etc. I'm sure you would have been very happy if you had ordered something else on the Menu. So sorry we could not fulfill your needs during peek season, please try pop in next time you in the area.
Warm Regards
Relish Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

There is so much of simplicity about this place. The service was amazing and the pizzas come out blazing. Really really awesome flavours and fresh yummy style of doing pizza. You can read their books from a fairly expansive collection and opt to buy one if you fancy. The friendliness of the staff and quick turnaround with our hot drinks was noticeable. All round great experience.There is also so much to see at this village centre. With antique and curio shops, and kitchen shops with the most amazing items on offer, you will be spoiled for choice. Lovely day out!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank delaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

We first tried Relish in December last year when it first started up. Again we have gone back fairly recently.

Brilliant breakfasts, the Eggs Benedict is perfect! Great ribs, and really good coffee. Relish is a fairly new restaurant, we have only been twice but I have put an excellent rating as Chris is really a great chef, he's pleasant, enthusiastic, and he listens to what the customer wants.

- For those of you who don't know Chris i'm sure you have heard of his famous cheesecake! (Yes Its actually famous, people come far and wide for it) ! Even one of my BnB guests from Chile in December told me he had read up about it online before his holiday here in SA and went three times over Christmas! Although Chris said he won't be doing it at Relish, you can still order up at Blueberry Cafe i'm told. And if anything goes by what we know Chris can do, there will be some more stunning dish's on the horizon!

The Bookshop in the restaurant is really good, there are some real collectors books there and well worth a browse. Its also in a very child friendly setting and the shops in the Junction are all well worth a visit.

Good Luck for the future of Relish Chris! :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank slw3514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Owner at Relish, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

We tried the lunch menu in the middle of the Christmas holidays and unfortunately left feeling underwhelmed.

The restaurant has an ideal setting at the Junction and we were hopeful that the food would live up to our expectation but we were unfortunately let down.

Our waitress was very friendly but clearly was being run off her feet and the errors in our orders should be expected in those types of situations.

Food delivery was slow (due I suppose to the crowd size) and the noise level was pretty high.

Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Relish also viewed

Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal
Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal
Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal
Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Relish? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing