We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Old Vicarage(West Witton)
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Lion(East Witton)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 171
US$ 165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 138
US$ 134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Capple Bank Farm(West Witton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,898)
Filter reviews
1,898 results
Traveller rating
1,531
242
90
26
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,531
242
90
26
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate roomwensleydale heiferchocolate heavenlobsterbirthday treatthe black sheepthemed roomsjames bondheifer roommain coursefish and chipsevening mealon arrivalamazing foodhandmade chocolatesspecial occasionattention to detail
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 1,898 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Fabulous stay in the champagne room and the food was outstanding. All staff were extremely friendly. Our dog was also very welcomed in the room and joined us for dinner and breakfast he even got his own sausage for breakfast.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bren07England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatheifer, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for coming to visit us for your special celebration.

I am so pleased that you had a nice time and you dog enjoyed it too!

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We loved our stay in The Chocolate Room at the Wensleydale Heifer. Lovely hospitality, very friendly and accommodating staff. The evening meal was delicious and excellent value for money, and full breakfast kept us going on our long walk in he Dales the following day. Our only point to make was although the room was lovely with loads of chocolate to find, it was a little pricey for what it was. Would highly r commend despite this, a lovely treat.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Maya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatheifer, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback.

I am so happy that you had a nice time and I have passed your lovely words onto the whole team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Wonderfully relaxing mini-break. Fabulous food - amazing Chateaubriand for dinner. Unusual and excellent breakfast choices Staff members so efficient and courteous . Night at the Movies room - so good. Location excellent for exploring this beautiful part of the world

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BridlingtonSweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatheifer, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words.

I am delighted that you had a great time and the team looked after you.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

From the moment you step through the door the service and atmosphere is fantastic, everyone is so very helpful and very welcoming. We were shown to our room - James Bond Room, which was amazing, what a treat! We decided to have a walk out, in the reception there is a folder with maps that you can take for local walks, which was great. We were greeted back from our walk with delicious nibbles which were very welcome and enjoyed a couple of drinks and felt very comfortable.
Dinner in the evening was incredible, both being vegetarian, it was such a novelty to have a full vegetarian menu to pick from, it was hard to choose, they all looked so tasty.
We had such a great nights sleep, we enjoyed Alexa in the room and watching some of the many to choose from James Bond DVD’s with popcorn.
So much to choose from again at breakfast in the morning, the homemade Granola was delicious!

Absolutely loved our one night stay and felt very much re-charged after it, we can’t wait to come again and try one of the different themed rooms!
We cannot reccomend enough!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Peps2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatheifer, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

What a great headline!

Thank you so much for your kind comments.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the vegetarian menu, my wife follows a vegan diet and we always have issues when visiting restaurants so we have tried very hard to create a good vegetarian and vegan menu and I will pass your feedback onto Craig and his team in the kitchen.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Just returning from yet another visit to the Heifer and it just gets better. From the moment you walk through the door it feels like home. The usual warm welcome and friendly, attentive staff. Night at the Movies room is so indulgent and luxurious. Dinner was ham fritters which were so light and fluffy with the most exquisite pineapple and chilli dressing. The lobster Thermidor was meaty but melted in the mouth, with a delicate sauce that enhances the dish without swamping the flavour. The amazing Chrissy once more worked miracles with the assiete of desserts to drive us to the recover room (lounge) for coffee and more guidance from Vince, Yorkshire’s most knowledgeable bar manager. As always the enthusiasm of the staff shines through. Julie and her team understand and appreciate David’s amazing culinary creations. And Lewis is always around, still excited after all this time about every aspect of his wonderful hotel/restaurant. The luxury and indulgence is not stuffy, making this the most relaxing place we know. A perfect place to recharge the batteries.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Yorkshirecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatheifer, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you so much for your very kind words and your continuing support of the Heifer.

It was great to see you both again and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the lobster, after dinner when i saw you sitting by the fire you did look like a very contented man!

I have passed your great feedback onto the team and they are also delighted that you had a nice time.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews