We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in the Dales”

The Wensleydale Heifer Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated in the Yorkshire Dales National Park, The Wensleydale Heifer may be within easy reach of the A1 and M6 but it still feels totally rural. A traditional white-washed inn complete with leaded lights and swinging sign, The Wensleydale Heifer gives the visitor a real flavour of Britain meaning it���s popular not only with locals but with tourists searching for the real Yorkshire. From the lounge, with its comfortable leather settees, country pursuit paintings and imposing fireplace through to the wicker seating, beamed ceilings and eau de nil painted walls, the interior could have leapt from the pages of Country Homes magazine. The contemporary British menu includes seaood from across Britain plus locally sourced meat and veg, all prepared using the Wensleydale Heifer philosophy ��� keep it simple.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent food and service as always. Fully recommend to anyone who hasn't been before, well worth the cost.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatheifer, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and your continuing support of the Heifer.

I am delighted that you had a great time and that you will recommend us to your friends.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very clean and smart restaurant although be careful driving onto the rear carpark as access is a little narrow if you’re not anticipating it, we ate off the 2 course menu and with drinks cost us around £100 for the two of us, although we did have a lot to drink, the food was very good and we enjoyed our first visit, with friendly staff making it enjoyable. Expensive but well worth a visit!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatheifer, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your very kind review.

I am so pleased that you had a nice time and enjoyed the food.

I have passed your lovely feedback onto the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing menu and food quality and service are outstanding. So wonderful to have a chef who really loves the menu the food quality and the customer experience was amazing !! Highly worthy of recognition.

Thank Roving422885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatheifer, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow what a headline!

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent meal with us. All the chefs are so passionate about the food and our chefs take great pride in their work.

I have passed your kind words onto the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely restaurant on Main Street in West Witton. The deluxe fish pie was delicious. Enjoyed the squid and chilli starter. J had the tiger prawns with chilli (available also as a starter) as a main, aiming to leave room for dessert: unfortunately the menu didn't arrive - the one blemish on the evening - and we called for the bill. I am sure that the desserts would have been delicious, just wish the staff had been a bit more attentive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sennockian55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatheifer, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am delighted that you had a nice meal and enjoyed some of our most tried and trusted dishes.

I am so sorry that you didn't get a dessert menu, I will speak with our restaurant manager about this.

I have passed your kind words onto the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for an evening meal here and it was Beyond beautiful! The steak was cooked to perfection, the fish was delicate and delicious and the pudding was out of this world!
100% would come again and have already recommended to friends and family!

Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatheifer, Owner at The Wensleydale Heifer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow - what a lovely review!

I am delighted that you had a great meal with us, Craig and his team in the kitchen were so happy with your feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wensleydale Heifer Restaurant also viewed

Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Wensleydale Heifer Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing