We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you like the country you'll love Emcot...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Preston-under-Scar, Leyburn, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bogieinn
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you like the country you'll love Emcot cottage, luxury in an unforgettable setting.”
Reviewed 31 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Located in lower Wensleydale, its namesake preservation railway runs to the south of the property midway between Leyburn and Redmire. Beyond the line which can be viewed from the rear garden and upstairs rooms lies the outline of Penhill, a perfect backdrop to a scene of green fields and farm animals. The hill itself is easily accessible by car from West Witton with only a short mile and a bit scramble to the summit. If you manage to drag yourself away from the cosey kitchen diner, upstairs veranda or garden patio do pay a visit to the Blue Lion at East Witton. Bolton Castle is well worth a visit as is a trip to Grassington via Kettlewell over Park Rash for a hair-raising drive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stos1
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Short winter walking break ”
Reviewed 24 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Emcot is the perfect walker's (plus dog) location with great routes straight from the door, incredible views and amazing facilities.

Not only this, but the owner of the property took the time to meet us and show us around, with log burner lit and kettle on. We were made to feel very welcome as was the dog!

The boot room is an excellent feature for walkers enabling us to change out of walking gear and dry off the hound before entering. The kitchen was ideal - high quality cookware and spacious, even stocked with above basic store cupboard so we didn't need to bring/buy too much.

The view from the back bedroom (and of course the balcony on the second floor!) is stunning. Also, the wifi actually worked, which must be a first in all our short breaks.

Priced fairly with generous living space and homely feel, would recommend to anyone, especially walkers and those who love the outdoors and being cosy when you're indoors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlfiesMum...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not really dog friendly”
Reviewed 20 January 2018 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Emcot was a lovely place to stay, ideally located in a quiet village yet close to Leyburn where you can get all your shopping. The cottage was very well equipped and the owners had obviously put a great deal of thought into this. The views at the back were gorgeous and the garden was a lovely place to sit in the sunshine, garden was ideal for our nearly blind dog as it was fully enclosed. We decided to use the back bedroom to take advantage of the view each morning when we woke up, the bed was very comfy and the bed linen felt luxurious.
Sadly we rarely used the stunning first floor living room, as we were disappointed to find that the owners stated that dogs were not allowed in there in the welcome pack notes. Had we known this we WOULDN'T have booked this cottage! As responsible dog owners we always bring blankets for our dog to use when we rent a holiday cottage - the same way we use blankets for him at home, we don't want carpets and soft furnishings spoiled either. We think if people bring their dog to an apparently dog-friendly cottage then their dog is usually part of the family and wants to be with it's owners - this wasn't possible at Emcot so a lot of the cottage's facilities were wasted on us. Our pet is nearly blind and gets very anxious if not with us so having him 2 floors down from us at night also caused issues - we had to take it in turns for a few hours each every night to stay downstairs with him on the lower ground floor, again not an ideal situation if wanting a relaxing holiday. Having said that I'd recommend this cottage in a heartbeat if you don't have a dog.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2018
Dear Guest,

Whilst your feedback is much appreciated, dogs are most welcome at Emcot. I ask guests to refrain from taking the dogs upstairs into bedrooms, however this does not apply to the lounge, once dry and mud free. As dog owners ourselves we actively encourage dogs to visit with their owners, we are sorry this was misinterpreted on this occasion.

Kind regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beebee992
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had a wonderful 3 nights stay with friends of ours in Bruce and Jenny's beautiful cottage. They went well out of their way to make arrival timings suit and even offered to come and collect us in their 4x4 if the taxi couldn't get up the road in the snow. The house is very cosy and comfortable with good size bedrooms, fantastic views and a wonderful warm kitchen with log burning stove...we spent hours by the fire reading and chatting. The village is small and quiet and a great starting point for lots of pretty walks. We were able to get a supermarket delivery to the house for most things and found Leyburn very well serviced for extra bits and pieces. The whole house is fantastically well equipped, especially the kitchen. Glorious place to spend new year, so glad we booked Emcot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn A
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cosy Christmas Getaway”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived we felt at home, Jenny has made a beautiful cottage a fabulous home, quirky, cosy and intimate, we couldn't have asked for anything better. The kitchen living area was our go to place, with its log burning stove and cosy design, you can feel how much this home is loved. We were lucky enough to spend a very peaceful, reflective Christmas here with our two dogs, enjoying the local countryside, fabulous views and all the the comforts of Emcot. The decor throughout is delightful, over three floors with great views and stylish home comforts. The shower on the first floor is simply magic! The living room has an elegant yet intimate appeal and the bedrooms are beautiful, with very comfortable beds and great views to the surrounding dale. The village is lovely, quiet and rural and perfect for local walks. Jenny and Bruce made us feel so welcome and I can only thank them for sharing their home with us. Jenny had decorated the house for Christmas and we slotted straight in. I can't think of a nicer place to getaway from it all. You are great hosts, and have a lovely home, and we are looking forward to visiting again. Many thanks, Carolyn and David.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing