We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveller rating
481
102
34
18
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
102
34
18
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spice traders woo bar kitchen table kids club asian restaurant special thanks main pool public beach w insider rock bar spectacular room mr gautam special mention amazing property in room dining vagator beach his team
Filter
Updating list...
641 - 646 of 677 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Jus visited W Goa , inspite of being a new property no teething issues were faced!! Hospitality was commendable couldn't have chosen a better destination for a short get away and to top it all the staff made sure we had the best and most comfortable stay ever . Want to make a special mention of Mr Arjun Manohar , Mr Gautam Handa and Ms Roshila Lobo without whom this anniversary celebration wouldn't be the way it was !! Thank u guys and thanks to the entire staff for the best start to 2017 for us
Shikha and Sunny Hemdev

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ShikhaH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGOA, General Manager at W Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear Shikha H,

Thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to have you as our guests at the W Goa and it is truly rewarding to hear that we succeeded in providing you a holiday that left you truly satisfied.

Your kind words will be shared with the team and we hope to see you again soon for an even better experience.

Kind regards,

TAiEB TJ JOULAK
General Manager
W Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

W Goa has marvelous architecture and wide natural landscape with one side is hill and fort and on the other side is sea beach. Very Pleasant place to stay in the hotel & villas with beautiful scenic views of natural majesty of GOA. It has international standard amenities like pool, gym, dining & lounge. One of the unique place in this resort is the Rockpool - A perfect place for leisure & spend your vacation with family or couple.

Room tip: Room with wide balcony or Villa
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santanuduttamca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGOA, General Manager at W Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi santanuduttamca,

Greetings from sunny Goa

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor

We were happy to read your feedback and glad we could provide you with an awesome experience during your stay and that our services were well appreciated by you!

As being the first W hotel in India, we strive to alter the very ethos of the hospitality industry by providing all our guests with exceptional quality service.

We'll share your comments with the W Goa family!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

TAiEB TJ JOULAK
General Manager
W Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I just returned from a weeks long holiday vacation, and I finally have a chance to sit down and write this review. No doubt that it will be a bit gushing, but deservedly so as we had an absolutely terrific five night stay at the brand-new W Goa. It was one that exceeded all of my expectations, and one that I can enthusiastically recommend .

The short:
• A beautiful, sprawling, and tranquil retreat set into the red cliffs above Goa's Vagator Beach and surrounded by verdant foliage
• Exceptional service. Unbelievably welcoming and attentive staff. Obliging, thoughtful, and thorough.
• Food = WOW
• The WiFi is amazing. For such a sprawling property, it offers a strong signal even in the most remote areas of the property.
• Rainbows and Unicorns because the W Goa didn't disappoint in any area. We enjoyed impossibly perfect conditions at a 3 day old property where everyone wore smiles, the food was memorably good, and the rooms provided a sanctuary within a retreat, surrounded by the resort's lush landscaping and the rock pool's sweeping views.

From the moment we arrived and were greeted it was as if we were returning to our home away from home. We felt truly looked after, and all of our requests were promptly addressed with care and attention. The W talent was always smiling and ready to cater to our every need. Attention to detail is faultless, and our preferences were learned and noted for the duration of our stay (who took coffee with cream, how much sun exposure we liked at the pool, etc). When we reluctantly left, it was like we were leaving family, as they all came to the lobby to wave goodbye and wish us safe travels. It was the perfect sendoff.

W Goa is a gem of a property and we hope to return soon.

The long :

The W Goa opened on 12-Dec-2016 and since we were arriving a mere 3 days later on the 15th, we went with the anticipation that there would be more than a few rough edges at this nascent property. Hardly. Apart from some areas not yet fully completed (i.e. spa), it was a delightful stay. The service was flawless, and the staff executed with polish and professionalism. It's an impressive accomplishment.

There are countless 5 star hotels that have been open well over 3 years that don't come close to providing anything close to the level of accommodation, food, and service that the W Goa provides after being open for only 3 days. It was remarkable, and it speaks volumes about the genuinely caring and well trained staff, not to mention a very present and hands-on management team. They should all be very proud of what they've contributed to and created, because not only was everyone courteous and eager to make our stay enjoyable, but they were present on the periphery and anticipated our needs perfectly. Quite simply, everyone there demonstrates with action and deed just how passionate they are to achieve perfect guest satisfaction. It's as rare as finding a unicorn.

The W Goa sets a remarkable standard despite being such a new property. It has the WOW factor. The open air lobby makes a welcoming impression, and the hotel itself is gorgeous. Even though areas of the property are yet to be completed (I'd guess another phase or two), the most important pieces are there, and the potential is apparent. Tucked away on red cliffs dramatically overlooking a relatively quiet Vagator Beach and the Arabian sea, when fully built-out the resort will be quite something. This is especially true as Goa expands past its image as only a dance & trance and backpacker haven, on its way to becoming a desirable leisure destination.

The staff was there to greet us upon our arrival and check-in was a quick and efficient, allowing us to explore the property. At it's core the W Goa is a W, the first to open in India, and you can feel its energy from the moment you arrive. The trendy decor, good-looking staff, and pulsing music in the lounge set the ambiance for a younger clientele and those young at heart. With its use of vibrant colors and design, it's a dynamic resort that harmonizes with its tranquil backdrop. At night DJs commandeer the concierge desk and the WooBar and open lobby area come alive, providing a great soundtrack to a remarkably talented bar staff and their signature cocktail - if you don't mind a coffee drink get it - it's good ... really good (also order some food, you will not be disappointed). During the day, serenity rules and there are a remarkably large number of areas where you can tuck in and let the day slip on by.

While it overlooks Vagator Beach, I would hesitate to call it a beach resort. There is beach and sea access, but after walking it and the beach, I didn't feel I was missing much by staying on property with its serene and natural landscapes. This may well change as the property further develops. Although I was tempted to never leave, the property is a short, inexpensive, taxi ride into various parts of Goa if you're there to explore and sightsee.

The grounds are well-maintained and groomed, and the gardeners (of which there are many) are constantly racking, planting and generally maintaining the lush gardens.

Safety and security are well addressed. All vehicles entering the property are screened and security guards are positioned along the perimeter of the property.

THINGS I LIKED:

Staff

It deserves to be listed first. What sets the W Goa apart is the impeccable service they cheerfully offer. It is very clear that the GM and management spent considerable time and effort recruiting and training a high quality, English-speaking international staff, and then allowed their personalities to shine. It's rare that a resort surrounded by natural beauty is equalled by a staff looking to please guests at the highest level. Each one is empowered to do whatever it takes to elevate a guest's experience. Everyone, from management on down should be very proud because what they offer is beyond the normal service you would expect from a five star resort. TJ and the team of talent he's assembled are certainly deserving of many thanks for making this a most enjoyable stay. I'm appreciative for all the attention we received and the care given us. Not only were they operating in the first days of the property, but also at the start of the holiday season. I know they were busy and worked long hours, but they never faltered and were unflappable as they took care of us and prepared for the wave of guests. Remarkable poise and professionalism.

Fabiana (Welcome Desk Manager) is amazing! You can't train personality and she epitomizes why the W is the W. She has caring, drive, enthusiasm, and a wonderful passion for being there. We miss her good morning smile and greetings. I'm still not convinced she doesn't have an identical twin lurking on property because I'd see her actively working at 9pm and again at 8am day after day. Always cheerful, always hustling around. I think she's a star. Whatever. Whenever.

Rashila (W Insider) is rightfully the face of the W Insider. Knowledgeable, proficient, and attentive, she is a remarkable Insider who knows Goa as intimately as anyone. She offers personalized recommendations and is delightful to talk to. Overall she is just a sweet and thoughtful person.

During our stay, we also celebrated my sister and brother-in-law's wedding anniversary and the staff surprised us one morning with the most beautiful heart-shaped cake. When I say the staff, I mean everyone as our table was surrounded by well-wishers. It was very considerate, endearing, and a highly appreciated gesture.

Food

In a word, impressive. The breakfast buffet at Kitchen Table is an amazing and lavish display of cold and hot items - it's a can't miss and has something for everyone. There are various cooking and prep stations serving up Indian dishes, fruit, omelettes and eggs - basically everything you could ever want for breakfast. Do not skip the pastry and bread table - it was stunning. Cheeses were paired with relishes and the blue cheese is a must. It's unlike any that I've had - creamy and pungent. The perfectly buttery and flaky croissants rivaled any that I've eaten anywhere. The donuts tasted like donuts (unlike many places in Asia where they taste more like a chewy soft pretzel), and the fruit tarts were incredible. Over the course of our stay we had the chance to meet several of the behind-the-scenes food team including Rajdeep who consistently maintains a quality standard other places can only dream of achieving. Again, how they are able to do this after only a few days of being open is a remarkable feat. Thanks also to Manicha.

Ryan attended to us most mornings and he was terrific. With an infectious energy and ever-present smile he introduced us to local Goan dishes we would have probably skipped over. They were fantastic! Not only that, but he enthusiastically showed how to eat each dish, helping prepare small plates.

The signature restaurant on property is Spice Traders. I could eat there every night and be happy. The menu is a seemingly odd melange of foods from around Asia - but it works. Anjum waited on us (several days and nights) and offered excellent dish suggestions based on our input. One night we had sushi along with Indian and Chinese dishes and it was superb. It's a must, and Sonam, the hostess, is thoroughly invested in making your experience a delightfully memorable one. To have someone so young be so aware of her guests is impressive.

Rooms

As for the rooms, I had booked two, and each was upgraded, I believe, in part because we were celebrating an anniversary and in part because I'm a Platinum SPG Starwood member (thanks Gautam, Nadir, and the entire reservation team!). I gave our anniversary couple the villa, and I enjoyed a very nice room with secluded garden views. If you've ever stayed in a W hotel you know what to expect. The rooms were modernly stylish and nicely appointed in an understated elegant & chic way. If you're expecting sumptuous opulence you're going to be a bit disappointed as a contemporary and airy style pervade. There are two wash basins, a large bathtub, enclosed toilet, tinted glass shower stall, expansive wardrobe closet, and an accordion glass window/wall that opens up to the balcony. The bed was very comfortable with great linens and pillows. While the room was perfectly comfortable, the villa provides a lovely sanctuary on a much grander scale. With high sweeping ceilings and a floor-to-ceiling glass wall the bedroom looks out on a private (semi-private until the foliage grows in a little more) yard with a detached veranda. The bathroom is a centerpiece with its glass chandelier - that is until the rumored private plunge pools are revealed.

Pool

There are two pool areas. The main pool has limited seating but easily one of the most active and vigilant pool attendants I have ever seen. Offering sunglass cleaning, suntan lotion, iced water and towels, Tukuna is somehow able to be everywhere at once and is always cheerful. How he is able to get all of the lounge chairs set up for each guest according to their sun preference (moving them around as needed) while catering to their every need as well as every other guest there is exceptional. It will remain one of life's pleasant mysteries.

The Rock Pool occupies it's own secluded area on property and is one of the few spots to offer unobstructed sea views. It is an area carved into the cliff with multiple seating areas on various levels. Although they were putting finishing landscaping and service touches on it, it still was a very cool spot to relax. I'm hopeful that it's temporary during the construction, but, in my opinion, the fake black molded rocks that surround the inside of the rock pool don't work if it's supposed to be a functional pool. Aside from that, the Rock Pool area is quite nice. During our stay a gala party was hosted there. Perched high over the sand and sea, with a DJ booth, the pool bar up and running, hundreds of the young and beautiful partying - the potential was obvious and no question that this will be a very popular spot for parties.

TIP:

Airport transfer to/from W Goa - The hotel will arrange for transportation for a nominal fee. You'll be greeted as you exit the airport terminal and it's about a 45min ride to the hotel depending on traffic and livestock walking the road. IMHO well worth it.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank austinsc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGOA, General Manager at W Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Dear austinsc0tt,

Greetings from W Goa

What a wonderful review to start the week with.

Thank you so much for the time you took the time to convey your kind words! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our W Experience was nothing but awesome.

It will be my pleasure to pass on your comments to all our talents and let them know that their efforts and services were highly appreciated by you.

We wish you and your family a wonderful New Year and look forward to welcoming you back in in the near Future.

Sincerely,

TAiEB TJ JOULAK
General Manager
W Go

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Amazing property with amazing food, beautiful and comfortable room, wonderful hospitality and perfect ambience. I stayed there for 2 nights and very much satisfied. W Pool was not operational so really missed it. Spice traders and kitchen table restaurant both are really good. Please visit Kitchen table for Indian food as Spice traders has other options. Special thanks to Mr. Mohan, Akshay and Chef Rajveer.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JKSinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGOA, General Manager at W Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi JKSinghal,

Greetings from sunny Goa

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor

We were happy to read your feedback and glad we could provide you with an awesome experience during your stay and that our services were well appreciated by you!

As being the first W hotel in India, we strive to alter the very ethos of the hospitality industry by providing all our guests with exceptional quality service.

We'll share your comments with the W Goa family!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

TAiEB TJ JOULAK
General Manager
W Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Start with a positive , superb bed .

Now the negatives

Just opened not finished, staff still learning , but room did not match marketing , no sea view ,
No mini bar , no munchies box , no coffee machine , as promised ,
Service slow , but apart from the wonderful light fittings which are great , the floors are scratched the furniture old , tables scratched , and this should be brand new it looks like 2 be hand furniture has been used ,
One day it may be ready but not for 6 months , stay away

Date of stay: January 2017
5  Thank koshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGOA, General Manager at W Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear koshouse,

Greetings from W Goa.

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We apologies for the untoward experience you faced.

We will be sure to share your review with our management as we value your comments in accordance to improving our selves to further in order for us to enhance our customers experience.

We at the W Goa hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,

TAiEB TJ JOULAK
General Manager
W Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews