We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Save yourselves - it's too late for us!!! Don't stay here ever!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun City Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun City Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Saunta Vaddo
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Save yourselves - it's too late for us!!! Don't stay here ever!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We are your typical, unassuming, happy-go-lucky couple, who, having visited Goa before, expected very little by way of our accommodation. When we arrived at Sun City at 1.30am, tired and weary after our 10-hour flight and 1-hour taxi ride, we were given keys to what can only be described as an outbuilding, a shack, or maybe more accurately a stable reminiscent of Mary and Joseph's ultimate destination having trekked the desert plains on a donkey. It was separate from the main hotel buildings and was right next to the main road, which, with tooting horns literally every five seconds, was a massive blow to our de-stressing, relaxing holiday. Entering the room tentatively, we were greeted by three large black pubic hairs on our uncleaned toilet (maybe a customary complimentary welcome gift?), the last guest's dirty towels, what appeared to be a large dark red hand-print dragging along the wall, some unexplained dark brown (blood?!?!) stains on the moth-eaten curtains and a mysterious door; behind which was a bricked-up plasterboard wall. The bed sheets were dirty, the bed was at best a wooden frame with a blanket on it and the bathroom was not fit to wash a dog in. Stupidly, being English, we accepted our lot, thinking that all the rooms were all the same (they weren't - some people were enjoying the rooms as shown in the brochure, whilst we were squatting in the secret hovel). Our room was not cleaned once during our stay; we were provided with no towels or clean bedding and despite asking for something to be done, our requests fell on deaf ears.We ended up cleaning our own room with baby wipes, finding our own towels and changing our own bed, as well as having to clean the toilet (whilst physically retching) after the previous guests. We were really gutted, but stiffened our British upper lip, in a bid to focus optimistically on the gorgeous weather.

Unfortunately, the food was also distinctly below par and we ate out pretty much all the time. We ordered drinks from the bar and waiters would take our order only to never bring anything - in the end we took to buying our water elsewhere too (there was none provided).

The photo of the gym attracted us (sad, I know), but when we got there, the room was literally a concrete outbuilding with loose electrical wires hanging all over the joint, a single bench with a bar and an old table tennis table. It was, frankly, like someone's disused garage with a load of old junk in it.

I could go on, but suffice to say - stay in Candolim instead. Don't stay here unless you are Bear Grylls and like using survival skills best reserved for extreme secret forces missions...

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    37
    32
    16
    40
See reviews for
44
56
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Please dont stay at this hotel, we had a terrible experience staying there and it spoiled our vacation.
The staff is so unfriendly and there is no hospitality at the hotel.
There are no towels in the room and if you ask for cleaning of the room they say it will done only once a day. The rooms are so dirty and the fridge of mini bar never works. The tea coffee sachets are not there in the room and if you dare to ask the staff you'll get a horrifying reply. It seems like we are beggars in the hotel, if we are late for buffet dine by 10-15 mins we were not offered dinner and we had to buy on our own.

Please dont stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ami1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saunta Vaddo hotels

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Please don't waste your money staying here! It's sad because the property has so much potential but the owners don't seem to care about maintaining it as I believe they are going to try to sell it. We stayed there from December 22, 2011 to December 28, 2011. We had six rooms altogether as we were a large family travelling to Goa for the first time together, but paid 129780 for 4 rooms - approximately $2800 Canadian - we had expected 4-star. The "economy" rooms were uninhabitable. The sheets were dirty and stained. The towels were brown, there were bed buds and cockroaches in the rooms. The stairs to access these rooms were steep and covered in water overflowing from the water tank. We were told that we could not switch rooms until the next day - not fun after travellling 12 hours in a van to get to Goa in the first place. The next morning we fought to have our rooms changed. They finally got our rooms sorted but we had to pay an additional $445 for the 4 rooms - that would have been okay except that then we didn't have any water for 3 days and then when we got water there was no hot water. We were boiling water in a kettle to fill a bucket to give our 2 year old son a bath. We also got "upgraded" to a room above their disco which runs from 9pm to 6am daily - so sleep wasn't easy to come by. When my husband tried to have the water troubles fixed by maintenance there was no luck - they don't get paid enough to work so they put their feet up in the back areas and watch tv. On our last day my husband had the General Manager & Owner come up to our room to see the water situation - there was never a full solution and no offer for any compensation.
Only one of the two pools was filled; the swim up bar is not in working order; the tennis courts had no nets; the complusory Christmas dinner was horrible and very expensive - most of the guests in the hotel chose not to attend - smart!
On the plus side, the front desk staff were more than sympathetic, but their hands were tied and they were not able to do anything to help fix the water problem.
On the plus side, if you tipped the housekeeping staff in the upgraded rooms you got clean sheets and towels every day and the rooms were cleaned.

Room Tip: The rooms above the disco are NOT quiet The economy rooms are not livable Rooms on the right side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mehrotra2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
430 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed here again after apx 3 years since last time we enjoyed a lot...The best thing about this hotel is its location...Within 5 minutes walk one can reach all happening places near Baga beach...we booked Maharani suite which had a jacuzi for a couple...They made special food for us light veg...The new addition was their Retro Pub where one could spend entire night...on the whole great value for money in North Goa.

Room Tip: Try to book Maharaja/Maharani suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BalkrishnaShroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We were 3 friends and a child and we booked the hotel via hotels.com, however, what was shown was very different from reality. Considering its superb location, it would have been perfect if the hotel was not kept in such a run down condition. Very badly maintained furniture, upholstery and bathrooms. The only thing that works for this place is their service which borders on excellent. We only wish that the property would do justice to that. We will never go back to stay there and I doubt if it would make any difference to them too. Pity!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radz_radia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saunta Vaddo
0.2 km away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#7 of 25 in Baga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
2.7 km away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#11 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.7 km away
The Baga Marina Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Resort Lagoa Azul
Resort Lagoa Azul
#6 of 25 in Baga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Riverside
Hotel Riverside
#20 of 25 in Baga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.5 km away
The Baga Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun City Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun City Resort

Property: Sun City Resort
Address: Saunta Vaddo, Saunta Vaddo 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > Saunta Vaddo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Saunta Vaddo
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,404 - ₹ 14,076
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun City Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 106 room 5 Star standard Resort, spread over 4 acres, overlooking lush green fields and only 5 minutes walk to the beach. Located right in the middle of Baga, the most vibrant location of Goa. The Resort boasts of amenities such as a large pool, a Retro and karaoke pub, 3 bars, 2 restaurants, conference halls, tennis court, mini golf, 2 pool tables etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Sun City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun City Hotel Saunta Vaddo
Sun City Resort Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing