We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cottage that makes you enjoy even the rainiest...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Rostrevor, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kleinert...
Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cottage that makes you enjoy even the rainiest day”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were surprised to see what can be done to an real old shepherd's cottage to make it a great place to stay in for people of the 21st century, and we were impressed by how thoughtfully it has been equipped. And by the friendly welcome we received; we loved it and would like to be back another year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the weather
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to have you stay again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin l
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“stunning !!!!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

from the friendly greeting by the owner to the breakfast barbeque on the final day, this 2 night stay was fantastic from start to finish, this property is fully equiped to cater for all needs, including a full day of fog !! the comfy suites with the wood burning stove were just too good to move from
thanks Eamon, we will be back soon and can only imagine the cottage with a full gale and winter rain!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: isolation
Liked least: fog!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thanks for your nice comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
420root
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant cosy cottage in the beautiful Mournes”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This cottage was a great base for walking, climbing and exploring the Mournes. The cottage itself was beautifully restored with all mod-cons but also lots of traditional charm. The beds were really comfortable, the fire lovely, kitchen well equipped, everything spotless and the surroundings bliss. The hosts were really helpful and friendly throughout the booking process. I highly recommend this cottage and hope to return soon too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming cottage, great location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2015
Thank You - We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We aim to please.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASH2015
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage, idyllic location, the warmest Irish welcome, a perfect first Christmas!!”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived at this amazing cottage for our one week stay, we couldn't have been happier! Travelling with my husband and our two little ones (3 years and 3 months), we were warmly greated by the owners who took us through the run of the property and made sure we could settle in easily. We were spending Christmas at the cottage and were so delighted that the owners had put up a Christmas tree and had beautiful decorations in place that made this cottage truly feel like our home from home. We settled in immediately tucking into our very generous welcome basket of goodies ! The owners were also brilliant with checking in with us to ensure that all was fine during our stay.

In terms of the cottage itself we were delighted with the very high standard of modern amenities and level of comfort for all the family. This is a rural retreat with the full benefits of contemporary living. The views from the cottage are spectacular and it is a perfect base for exploring the stunning surrounding area of the Mournes.

We had hired an SUV for our stay which was perfect for accessing the cottage and exploring the surrounding area.

We look forward to our next stay in this fantastic cottage and have already highly recommended it to our friends as the perfect rural retreat from city life in London !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High level of comfort set in a truly rural location
Liked least: We loved everything about this cottage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shabbychi...
Newry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing amest in Mourne Mountains”
Reviewed 5 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Located in the middle of nowhere, arriving at this cottage is like waking up outside the gates of heaven. We had a fantastic 3 night stay at this cottage with our two small children. It was like home from home. everything was provided for us - cot, baby carrier and all the necessities to get us started on our adventure, to explore the neighbouring Knockshee and Slieve Martin Mountains. The cottage has everything you could ask for, character, all the mod cons including wifi, a stove fire which just adds comfort after a long day. The views from this cottage are outstanding and breath-taking, you can have breakfast and gaze out the little half door. A short walk away there are streams and rivers. The cottage is located close to The village of Rostrevor, a charming little village which the Kilbroney River flows through, a forest park, perfect for waking and exploring the trails, and the little enchanted forest, Narnia. Close to Newcastle, Were the Mountains meet the sea, is a great seaside town, the children loved this town, here we explored Slieve Donard and had a stroll along promenade - this seaside town has a lot to offer. We are already planning our next trip to Dan Whites Cottage, the children have memories that will last a lifetime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcolming you again soon. Eamonn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing