We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Walk in the front door and you're at home - it's...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kilbroney Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen Dining Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Kitchen Dining
Hall
Lounge
Kitchen
Living Room
Lounge
Hall
Kitchen
Main Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Power Shower
View From Front
Fairy Glen
Carlingford Lough
View from Cloughmore Stone, Kilbroney Forest Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rostrevor, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
NorthWest...
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Walk in the front door and you're at home - it's magic.”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just spent nine weeks in Kilbroney Cottage - and we really don't know how to put in words how much we've enjoyed it. It wasn't a nine week holiday, but it could have been. Living along the road in Warrenpoint we had to move out of our house while we had some remedial works done - and we just could not have chosen a better place to stay. It's not exactly down to any one aspect - it can only be the sum of the parts that makes it so magical, dare I say so romantic!
There's the beautiful views from the front, with a tantalising glimpse of Carlingford Lough. There's real old-fashioned fields with hedges and an interesting assortment of sheep and cows out the back - and stay in the Spring, and you'll be rewarded with the sight of the newly born calves and lambs. Plus the rabbits bounding up the hill when you get up in the morning! Get a sunny afternoon and you won't want to go any further than the back garden - it's that relaxing. We could go on - two cosy lounges, an easy to live with kitchen, a lovely walk in shower to refresh - and the most comfortable bed to end the day in. Rostrevor town is an easy drive, or for the energetic - a great downhill walk out and a stiff uphill walk back. There's all you need down there - we particularly recommend Paula's Fish & Chips; freshly cooked, piping hot and great value for money.
Thank you Kilbroney Cottage.
We'd love to be back - any day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of a bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Themoorec...
1 review
“Perfect place for a family holiday”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Had a really lovely stay here, beautiful scenery. Kids loved the rabbits in the mornings. Really clean and well maintained inside the house feels like home with everything you need and more. Excellent shower comfy memory foam beds and a great owner who had the essentials in the fridge and the heat on to warm the house. Also was nice that the owner put up some Christmas decorations to make our stay even more memorable as we went to santa's cottage not far from it. Will definatly be back as we all really enjoyed it and didn't want to leave.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harris_d1...
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A smashing place to stay!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Only a short walk (uphill) from the centre of Rostrevor; Kilbroney Cottage is an ideal location for a stay in the Mourne area.

The Cottage itself has 3 Bedrooms; only 1 is a double. The only slight downside for those whose Children prefer a Bath; there isn't one! The Walk in Shower in the Bathroom is excellent though!

The Kitchen is well equipped, including a Dishwasher; with the Washing Machine in a small 'Utility Room'.

There are two very comfortable Sitting Rooms; one with a TV and DVD Player.

The rear of the Cottage has an outlook onto Fields; the Front to the start of The Mountains of Mourne.

The Owner, Aidan, made us very welcome and had supplied Tea / Coffee / Milk / Fresh Orange / Bread / Butter so that we had the means for Breakfast; as were arriving in the late Evening.

Aidan also, very thoughtfully, supplied a Bottle of Sauvignon Blanc, which was nicely Chilled; and very welcome after our journey!!

We, (my Wife, Brother in Law and I) had a very comfortable 4 Night stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2013
Thank you very much for the review and delighted you had an enjoyable stay in Kilbroney Cottage and Rostrevor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda D
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great welcome in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Warm welcome in a comfortable home from home environment. Wheaten bread milk & wine lovely Northern Irish welcome gesture. Great location with mountain views close to village with great pub entertainment. Spacious accommodation with lots of bed linen towels & kitchen accessories. We were here with our family to celebrate my parents diamond wedding anniversary. Highly recommendable. Many thanks Aidan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2013
Thank you for this review and I am so pleased that staying in Kilbroney Cottage made a difference to your holiday. It is rewarding to help make such a special occasion as a Diamond wedding anniversary memorable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillstree...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“home from home just lovely.”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

we arrived early in the morning which was lovely because we could go straight to the cottage, the owner had left butter milk weaten bread and a bottle of wine and other things which was a lovely gesture. the beds are all memory foam and are the most comfy beds we have ever slept on. it was lovely and peacefull with views to to sit and look at back and front. the cottage its self was really comfy and all the things like the shower ect were top quality,there were plenty of towels and bed linen was very nice thankyou kilbroney cottage we will be back. ( didnt want to leave )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beds ( excellent )
Liked least: nothing, but the only thing was there wasnt a freezer or freezer box on the fridge but that didnt bother us
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2013
Thank you, it was a privilege to have you stay at Kilbroney Cottage and to know that it made a difference to your holiday in Rostrevor. You will be very welcome at any time you wish to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing