We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Close getaway!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Beach Casino and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Beach Casino and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Close getaway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My boyfriend and I take the 45 minute drive from Winnipeg to take a short break from our hectic lives, which I don't think we could stand any longer than that. Check-in is usually fast and friendly. Casino is great. Rooms are clean. Bed is comfortable. The only thing lacking I guess is making it more "kid friendly". Maybe a waterslide and a HOT TUB!!!! Also, the food and service is lacking in the Mango Restaurant. Don't know what type of conditions you have to be working in to be rude ALL THE TIME. Need some training and revisions to the menu.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wpggirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    63
    29
    12
    5
See reviews for
49
85
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I booked a room for my husband's birthday and it was our first stay at South Beach. I was disappointed in booking only because all of their Luxury Kings rooms were taken so I booked a Deluxe King with a stay and play package. Very shortly after booking I recieved confirmation and they required information on 2nd guest for the Ocean Club Cards. In this response I requested to be put on a "cancellation list" if they happened to have a Luxury King become available so it would be a step up for my husband's birthday.
Well we arrived to a really nice clean open lobby, friendly staff at desk and I asked as I couldn't remember if I had booked a King bed or double and then I was told they upgraded us to the Grand Suite!!! Well not only was that very gracious but then in the room was a birthday card and a few chocolate kisses on the bed. It started our day and evening off great and it only got better. The room was fantastic I would recommend it to everyone it is well worth the price and we would book again for sure. The casino staff was incredible, very friendly and accomodating and the food and drinks were just as good. Pool was a nice size and clean and very spacious. (No hot tub though) Oh and the bed.... slept so well it was crazy comfy!

Overall..... you have to try South Beach it is well worth the trip we had a wonderful experience and will be going back very soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiLeeWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This casino rocks! Wonderful staff excellent buffet and who cares if you win or lose at the slots, you go out of there with a smile on you face!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank check-in-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

i visited this casino this week. there was a promotion for a free buffet if you played in t he casino for 4 hours. We were hungry so just ate after 3!! With our club card ,which any visitor can get at no charge , you can receive 25% discount in the store - very unique gifts there too! The casino itself is very clean & spacious. The Blue Dolphin lounge sells bar food as well as liquor. Mango's restaurant has a great buffet & included free soda pop or coffee or tea. There were all sorts of salads, soup, pizza, roasted chicken, pasta & meat sauce, very tasty breaded fish, & all sorts of vegetables. There were also cakes & ice cream for dessert. The price was reasonable - $11.95 & much less with the card discount. The service was excellent. There is also a menu with different fare if you do not want the buffet. The Casino & the Hotel is decorated In Art Deco style & is very interesting. The hotel adjoins the Casino & look s very interesting. I have never stayed there - only wandered through The lobby & used the washrooms - which were beautiful!! This is well worth a visit - just an hour from Winnipeg.

Room Tip: I did not stay at the hotel. From the bit of it that I have seen it is very airy, & clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank growlysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manitoba
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We've been to South Beach a few times, but this time as a little get away over the long weekend and booked the Grand Suite. Now that's a beautiful suite, it's huge! Has a small kitchen area with a fridge and sink, (a microwave would be handy though) and a jetted tub to relax in. They have recently done some renovations as well and have newer games. The rooms, casino area, bathrooms etc are all very clean and the staff are all helpful and friendly. We loved the atmosphere and had a great stay! Will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h&jManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scanterbury
39.6 km away
Lakeview Resort & Conference Centre
30.1 km away
Canalta Selkirk
Canalta Selkirk
#1 of 2 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
29.1 km away
Bear Country Cottage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Spirit Rock Inn
Spirit Rock Inn
#1 of 1 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
33.3 km away
Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Casino and Resort

Property: South Beach Casino and Resort
Address: One Ocean Drive | Box 777, Scanterbury, Manitoba R0E 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Scanterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,705 - ₹ 5,713
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Beach Casino and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 30 minutes north of Winnipeg on Highway 59, South Beach Casino & Resort is the perfect location for a getaway. We have a variety of stay packages and great rates. Committed to providing “Affordable Luxury,” our 95 room art-deco hotel offers opulent Deluxe Guestrooms, Junior Suites and Grand Suite accommodations. Enjoy our tropical style pool, Mango's Restaurant, and the gaming excitement at our South Beach Casino, featuring 600 slot machines, table games and live poker room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your South Beach Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Scanterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing