We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely casino & interesting looking hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Beach Casino and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Beach Casino and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely casino & interesting looking hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

i visited this casino this week. there was a promotion for a free buffet if you played in t he casino for 4 hours. We were hungry so just ate after 3!! With our club card ,which any visitor can get at no charge , you can receive 25% discount in the store - very unique gifts there too! The casino itself is very clean & spacious. The Blue Dolphin lounge sells bar food as well as liquor. Mango's restaurant has a great buffet & included free soda pop or coffee or tea. There were all sorts of salads, soup, pizza, roasted chicken, pasta & meat sauce, very tasty breaded fish, & all sorts of vegetables. There were also cakes & ice cream for dessert. The price was reasonable - $11.95 & much less with the card discount. The service was excellent. There is also a menu with different fare if you do not want the buffet. The Casino & the Hotel is decorated In Art Deco style & is very interesting. The hotel adjoins the Casino & look s very interesting. I have never stayed there - only wandered through The lobby & used the washrooms - which were beautiful!! This is well worth a visit - just an hour from Winnipeg.

Room Tip: I did not stay at the hotel. From the bit of it that I have seen it is very airy, & clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank growlysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    61
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
49
83
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
manitoba
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We've been to South Beach a few times, but this time as a little get away over the long weekend and booked the Grand Suite. Now that's a beautiful suite, it's huge! Has a small kitchen area with a fridge and sink, (a microwave would be handy though) and a jetted tub to relax in. They have recently done some renovations as well and have newer games. The rooms, casino area, bathrooms etc are all very clean and the staff are all helpful and friendly. We loved the atmosphere and had a great stay! Will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h&jManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went out to South Beach Casino & Resort just for a one-night getaway. The rooms were very nice and big. Although not clear from the website, some of the rooms have little fridges, which was convenient. We booked the Stay & Play Package, which was a great deal.

Our air conditioning unit was very loud - we should have actually have mentioned it when we checked out just so they would have a chance to look at it before others checked in.

The Stay & Play Package gives you a daily BOGO buffet coupon for Mango's Grill. There is not a great selection at the buffet unless you are a huge meat eater. Although set up for it, there really isn't a salad bar - just some lettuce and a small selection of creamy side dishes. A nice salad bar with fresh, healthy toppings would be great. There was only one vegetable dish, plain baby carrots, and one tasty potato dish. There was no rice or anything. There was a lot of meat dishes - beef skewers, chicken, prime rib, sausage and scallops. Although tasty, a more balanced selection would be better. There was also a variety of desserts.

One of the biggest disappointments was that there was no hot tub. The pool area was very nice and could certainly have been better had a hot tub or two been added.

Overall, a nice little getaway. Having the casino attached to the hotel and good entertainment in the lounge gives you a variety of things to do. We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: The two king rooms I was in on the 5th floor both had fridges. Our friends, who stayed in two diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Went with three other couples, and our kids for the weekend, and stayed two nights. The lobby is nicely decorated as are the rooms. The kids took advantage of the pool area and their only complaint was they wish there was a hot tub.
Everything at this hotel is clean and new looking. The staff are helpful, and friendly.
The price of this hotel is affordable, as are the meals at the restaurant.
I had also lost my cell phone at the hotel. The staff actually found it and are mailing it back to me, which I truly appreciate.
Set up of the hotel/restaurant/casino has been well thought out and is convient.
Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level Contributor
191 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We recently snowmobiled to South Beach casino from our place 50 miles away. We stayed on a Thursday so got the room rate of $59.99. We took the stay and play package for another $30. With this we got a buy one get one buffet coupon for each day, free buffet breakfast, 20% off coupon for the gift shop and $20 casino money. Great deal and the seafood buffet was very good. The room was clean and comfortable with a big closet for our gear. The doors sound very loud from the hallway into the room and seemed to shake the walls. Very nice staff in the hotel, restaraunt and casino.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scanterbury
39.6 km away
Lakeview Resort & Conference Centre
30.1 km away
Canalta Selkirk
Canalta Selkirk
#1 of 2 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
20.0 km away
Spirit Rock Inn
Spirit Rock Inn
#1 of 1 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 km away
Bear Country Cottage Resort
33.3 km away
Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Casino and Resort

Property: South Beach Casino and Resort
Address: One Ocean Drive | Box 777, Scanterbury, Manitoba R0E 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Scanterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,843 - ₹ 5,593
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Beach Casino and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 30 minutes north of Winnipeg on Highway 59, South Beach Casino & Resort is the perfect location for a getaway. We have a variety of stay packages and great rates. Committed to providing “Affordable Luxury,” our 95 room art-deco hotel offers opulent Deluxe Guestrooms, Junior Suites and Grand Suite accommodations. Enjoy our tropical style pool, Mango's Restaurant, and the gaming excitement at our South Beach Casino, featuring 600 slot machines, table games and live poker room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your South Beach Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Scanterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing