We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
55
96
111
83
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
96
111
83
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful view of the lake boat tour highlight of our trip rooms are clean playa del carmen cenote balcony swim species fan turquoise yucatan insects jetty fort
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 432 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights here. The hotel has a beautiful view but it needs a lot of TLC. It also does not have much atmosphere. The bar had no place to sit and the restaurant was boring but good and inexpensive. We took a boat tour right from the hotel which was supposed to have three stops for snorkeling but we ended up only having time for two. I’m glad we came here but don’t feel the need to come back. Having said all this, the staff could not been nicer or friendlier.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cange333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a place where to stay with a beautiful view, this is a correct hotel.
The price is not bad, isn't The most luxury place but it's good enough.
The rooms are clean and the food at the restaurant it's very basic.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Miriix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel has a super nice location however it's poorly cleaned and has terrible service. The bathroom had plenty of dead insects in the walls, disgusting. We requested a hand towel and they didn't want to let us borrow it. It appears they are so focused to generate cost savings that they don't care to make your stay enjoyable. The restaurant in ok with very slow service. Sad to see how the great potential they have completely goes to waste.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank claudiabergna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

BACALAR LAGOON HOTEL, IN BACALAR, Q. ROO, MÉXICO

Discovering Bacalar, we stayed at this hotel that is more than 30 years old, the rooms are simple, old furniture and front desk with outdated administration.

At night the view is exquisite from the balcony, a great silence that allows you to listen to insects, birds and the noise of boats moving with the small waves, the lights in the garden further embellish the place, and the sky full of stars is really amazing!

It is possible to have breakfast or dine on your private terrace overlooking the lagoon or around the pool. We coincided with a group of about 30 German tourists and shared the boat tour to the cenotes, Pirates channel and Kayak tours

This bright hotel is located on the Costera de Bacalar road, besides the Bacalar lagoon, 3 km from Bacalar Fort and 1.6 km from the Cenote Azul underground system.

zulma rodríguez
f playa del carmen cheap apartment

Room Tip: seleccionar terraza con vista a la laguna
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDCRYESWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

When we first arrived we were taken aback by the incredible views the hotel has to offer. Every single room (I believe) had a lagoon view and this is a real selling point for this hotel. However, the hotel is drastically outdated. The whole hotel really needs an overhaul with some fresh paint and just some modernising. It has so much potential. It has parking, it is very close to cenote azul, a short drive into Bacalar, there are kayaks, you have the gorgeous jetty and they have boat trips you can book at the hotel as well. These are all great positives for the hotel. I think, with a freshen up and some modernising as well as including breakfast in the price of your room, you could have a really great hotel. The staff are all friendly and happy to help and are a credit to the hotel. The pool is very nice and access to the lagoon is a massive plus.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TheCoopernator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews