We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Save
Review Highlights
WARM FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE WITH GOOD FOOD

The Pointer is a welcoming pub lounge nice and warm but eating area was cold when we visited in... read more

Reviewed 24 February 2017
Bob-Rob-Dodgybob
,
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Decent Sunday roast, fantastic value for money

If you want a roast dinner like your nan used to make then go to The Pointer. The service is... read more

Reviewed 9 July 2016
Emily731
,
Colchester, United Kingdom
Read all 14 reviews
  
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
5
5
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
5
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had lunch here in a small but adequate dining room, ( we were the only customers!) The food was good and edible, and drinks from the bar available.
You need to check beforehand if the restaurant is open, our last attempt to eat there was unsuccessful as they only open on certain days!

Thank Lesley Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We popped in for lunch and chose a filled baguette from the limited (but acceptable) choice on offer to eat in the bar. The food was fine. Service was prompt.

There was only one Real Ale on offer despite the web site promising a choice of Real Ales in the plural. The beer on sale was an Adnams pint which was good but the lack of choice was disappointing.

This was an acceptable but unexceptional experience and not one conducive to enticing us to make a return visit anytime soon. There were very few other patrons. Maybe we just called in at a quiet time.

1  Thank 524grahamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Stopped for lunch opted for New York Steak Gourmet Burger and Veggie Burger, that the price, expected something other than off the shelf burgers. Assume in Alresford Gourmet means a Bamboo splint sticking out of it!

Decor stock tired English Pub with two radios playing,(why?) did get one turned down though thanks. Staff cheery enough just doing a job.

Had a meal here a few years back, wasn't bad, and reading the other reviews it looks as though they can make the effort. Just not for lunch mid week, not inclination to go back.

Thank faircop822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

always a great meal and wonderful beer - beer garden with inflatables and often live music and bbq. Monthly themed night and great sunday roasts. Neil and Sam really know how to run a country pub.

Thank robbutcher2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

The Pointer is a welcoming pub lounge nice and warm but eating area was cold when we visited in January 2017 for lunch. Asked about gluten free before booking was told options available on day but we found it to be limited on arrival. I recommend this establishment but could do much better with gluten free options.

Thank Bob-Rob-Dodgybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Excellent service from the staff and owners. The quality of food and cleanliness was of the highest standard. Would recommend this pub is well worth a visit. Call ahead for food times as restaurant not open every day and some days do get booked up.

1  Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Friendly warm welcome. Great facilities with welcoming bar and friendly locals - pool table and juke box. Outside facilities for smokers plentiful

Thank massytern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Called in for lunch. Very unwelcoming young lad behind the bar. The only other customer told us the menus were on the tables. We ordered some drinks then sat down to peruse the menu. The young lad was more interested in getting his hair from his eyes than talking to us. Perhaps I should drop of a hair grip for him! On ordering we had only a short wait for it to arrive. Food good but husband disappointed their were no potatoes with his chicken hot pot only 2 pieces of tomato & cucumber with a miniscule piece of lettuce. Mine was fine. Desserts OK. Food ok but recommend that the barman has his mobile taken away from him whilst on duty as he seemed more engrossed with that rather then customers. The food was good but no atmosphere whatsoever as the pair of us doubled the number of customers for the lunch hour. . We won't be returning.

2  Thank FrancesandStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

If you want a roast dinner like your nan used to make then go to The Pointer.
The service is always really quick and friendly, they bring over all the sauces and an extra jug of gravy to accompany your roast without you even having to ask.
It's not a rare meat and separate side dish of aldente veg sort of place but it's homely, comfy and worth a visit.

Thank Emily731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

A welcoming pub that has quick friendly service. The varied menu was standard " pub grub " but very reasonably priced.

Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews